This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Natural Balance Zen Life Turkey & Barley Formula Dry Dog Food

Natural Balance Zen Life Turkey & Barley Formula Dry Dog Food
Company info
Company HQ
San Francisco, California
Parent company
J.M. Smucker Company
Product info
Age Range: Adult
Food Form Dry Dog Food
Cost per day: $0.12
Primary proteins
  • Turkey
  • Turkey Meal

Ingredients

Turkey, Brown Rice, Pearled Barley, Cassava Flour, Turkey Meal, Grain Sorghum, Oats, Chicken Fat (Preserved With Mixed Tocopherols), Dried Plain Beet Pulp, Natural Flavor, Fish Oil (Preserved With Mixed Tocopherols), Marine Microalgae, Potassium Chloride, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Ascorbic Acid (Source Of Vitamin C), Niacin, Vitamin A Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, D-Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Folic Acid, Biotin, Vitamin D3 Supplement), L-Tryptophan, Choline Chloride,Minerals (Zinc Proteinate, Zinc Sulfate, Ferrous Sulfate, Iron Proteinate, Copper Sulfate, Copper Proteinate, Manganese Sulfate, Manganese Proteinate, Sodium Selenite, Calcium Iodate), Dried Chamomile, Green Tea Extract, Citric Acid (Preservative), Mixed Tocopherols (Preservative), Rosemary Extract

Breed sizes

size-1 Toy
size-2 Small
size-3 Medium
size-4 Large
size-5 Giant

Overall Score

Loading
53%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 25%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 68%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 29%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 51%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 58%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 40%
? Based on the variety of sizes available. Size Variety 100%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 19%

Fat: 12%

Fiber: 4%

Moisture: 10%

Ash: 0%

Carb: 55%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 21.11%

Fat: 13.33%

Fiber: 4.44%

Ash: 8%

Carb: 61.11%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 18.42%

Fat: 28.25%

Carb: 53.32%

Our Review

Pros
  • Supplemented with chelated minerals for optimal nutrient absorption
  • Doesn’t contain fillers, by-products, or artificial additives
  • A good source of omega-3 fatty acids
Cons
  • Low protein content
  • High in carbohydrates
  • Low in moisture
  • Contains plant-based proteins
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years
  • Some dogs may be allergic to fish

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Natural Balance since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Natural Balance - Sweet Potato & Chicken Dry Dog Food (06/18/2010) -+
Date: 06/18/2010
Company Name: Natural Balance Pet Foods
Product Description: Sweet Potato & Chicken Dry Dog Food
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Natural Balance - Dog Food (05/04/2012) -+
Date: 05/04/2012
Company Name: Natural Balance Pet Foods
Product Description: Dog Food
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Natural Balance - Ultra Premium Chicken & Liver Paté Formula (07/03/2020) -+
Date: 07/03/2020
Company Name: Natural Balance Pet Foods
Product Description: Ultra Premium Chicken & Liver Paté Formula
Recall Reason: Due to elevated levels of choline chloride
Natural Balance - L.I.D. Green Pea & Chicken Dry Cat Formula (05/20/2021) -+
Date: 05/20/2021
Company Name: Natural Balance Pet Foods
Product Description: L.I.D. Green Pea & Chicken Dry Cat Formula
Recall Reason: Potential Salmonella Contamination

Ingredient Review

Our review of Natural Balance Zen Life Turkey & Barley Formula Dry Dog Food begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Turkey. Turkey is an easily digested meat that’s relatively low in fat. In pet food, turkey might be the primary protein source or it may be part of a blend made with different proteins.

The second ingredient is Brown Rice. Brown rice is a name for whole-grain rice with its outer hull removed. The brown rice in pet food can be a source of carbohydrates and fiber. Brown rice also contains omega-6 fatty acids, vitamins, and minerals

The third ingredient is Pearled Barley. Pearled Barley is the cereal grain barley with its outer hull removed. In pet food, pearled barley serves as a source of carbohydrates. It is lower in nutrients than whole barley or barley groats.

The fourth ingredient is Cassava Flour. Cassava flour is a dried, ground flour made with the root of the cassava plant. In pet food, cassava flour serves as a grain-free, gluten-free source of carbohydrates for energy while adding texture to the finished product.

The fifth ingredient is Turkey Meal. The turkey meal in pet food is typically a byproduct of turkey meat production. Turkey meal is high in protein, and is easy for pets to digest. It is a good source of B vitamins and amino acids to support your pet’s overall well-being.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Natural Balance Zen Life Turkey & Barley Formula Dry Dog Food, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per lb

Product Price

$3.29

Market Price avg.

$3.25

% From the Avg

+1%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$0.20

Market Price avg.

$0.21

% From the Avg

-2%

Price per day

Product Price

$0.12

Market Price avg.

$0.12

% From the Avg

+2%

Natural Balance Zen Life Turkey & Barley Formula Dry Dog Food is priced within the average market price for dry dog food.

Nutritional Analysis

Your adult dog needs a balance of macro and micronutrients to thrive. A food formulated for adult maintenance or all life stages is made to meet these needs. While there can be a lot of variation in actual calorie density, adult dog foods are generally intended to provide for basic calorie needs of the average active dog. In addition to satisfying their energy needs, these foods provide the protein, fat, carbohydrates, fiber, and other nutrients your adult dog needs to survive. Again, not all adult foods are the same, so you may have to search around for the right fit for your dog.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Natural Balance Zen Life Turkey & Barley Formula Dry Dog Food to the other 1525 dry dog food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

21.11%

All Products avg.

30.04%

% From the Avg

-30%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

13.33%

All Products avg.

16.01%

% From the Avg

-17%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

4.44%

All Products avg.

5.36%

% From the Avg

-17%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

61.11%

All Products avg.

47.71%

% From the Avg

+28%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s low in protein with low fat and high carbohydrate content relative to other dry dog foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review