This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Duck & Potato Formula Grain-Free Canned Dog Food

Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Duck & Potato Formula Grain-Free Canned Dog Food
Company info
Company HQ
San Francisco, California
Parent company
J.M. Smucker Company
Product info
Age Range: Adult
Food Form Wet Dog Food
Cost per day: $0.42
Primary proteins
  • Duck
  • Potato Protein
  • Duck Meal

Ingredients

Duck, Duck Broth, Potatoes, Dehydrated Potatoes, Potato Protein, Vitamins (L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Vitamin E Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Niacin, D-Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin A Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Folic Acid), Dicalcium Phosphate, Calcium Carbonate, Potassium Chloride, Duck Meal, Canola Oil (Preserved with Mixed Tocopherols), Guar Gum, Minerals (Zinc Proteinate, Zinc Sulfate, Ferrous Sulfate, Iron Proteinate, Copper Sulfate, Copper Proteinate, Manganese Sulfate, Manganese Proteinate, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Salt, Natural Smoke Flavor, Carrageenan, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Taurine, Rosemary Extract.

Breed sizes

size-1 Toy
size-2 Small
size-3 Medium
size-4 Large
size-5 Giant

Overall Score

Loading
56%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 25%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 62%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 29%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 78%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 85%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 50%
? Based on the variety of sizes available. Size Variety 92%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 5%

Fat: 4%

Fiber: 2%

Moisture: 78%

Ash: 0%

Carb: 11%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 22.73%

Fat: 18.18%

Fiber: 9.09%

Ash: 8%

Carb: 50%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 19.44%

Fat: 37.78%

Carb: 42.78%

Our Review

Pros
  • High moisture content
  • Supplemented with chelated minerals for optimal nutrient absorption
  • Doesn’t contain fillers, by-products, or artificial additives
  • Affordable
Cons
  • Low protein content
  • High in carbohydrates
  • Contains plant-based proteins
  • Contains carrageenan – a potentially inflammatory additive
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Natural Balance since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Natural Balance - Sweet Potato & Chicken Dry Dog Food (06/18/2010) -+
Date: 06/18/2010
Company Name: Natural Balance Pet Foods
Product Description: Sweet Potato & Chicken Dry Dog Food
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Natural Balance - Dog Food (05/04/2012) -+
Date: 05/04/2012
Company Name: Natural Balance Pet Foods
Product Description: Dog Food
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Natural Balance - Ultra Premium Chicken & Liver Paté Formula (07/03/2020) -+
Date: 07/03/2020
Company Name: Natural Balance Pet Foods
Product Description: Ultra Premium Chicken & Liver Paté Formula
Recall Reason: Due to elevated levels of choline chloride
Natural Balance - L.I.D. Green Pea & Chicken Dry Cat Formula (05/20/2021) -+
Date: 05/20/2021
Company Name: Natural Balance Pet Foods
Product Description: L.I.D. Green Pea & Chicken Dry Cat Formula
Recall Reason: Potential Salmonella Contamination

Ingredient Review

Our review of Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Duck & Potato Formula Grain-Free Canned Dog Food begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Duck. Duck is meat from any member of the Anatidae waterfowl. In pet food, duck can serve as a primary protein source as well as a source of animal fat, minerals, and amino acids. It is sometimes used as a novel protein, and is often an ingredient in diets formulated specifically for pets with allergies.

The second ingredient is Duck Broth. Duck broth is made by boiling duck meat, skin, and bones to obtain nutrients including fat, vitamins, and minerals. When added to pet food, duck broth increases moisture and improves flavor.

The third ingredient is Potatoes. Potatoes are versatile starchy root vegetables that provide carbohydrates, vitamins, minerals, and some fiber. In pet food, potatoes can add texture and flavor while replacing other starches. Many grain-free and gluten-free pet foods contain potatoes.

The fourth ingredient is Dehydrated Potatoes. Dehydrated potatoes are dried potato tubers. Only the edible portion of the potato plant is used in production. In pet food, dedhydrated potatoes can be a source of carbohydrates for energy, along with small amounts of vitamins and minerals. Potatoes can also enhance the texture of your companion’s food.

The fifth ingredient is Potato Protein. Potato protein is an isolated protein that comes from potatoes. In pet food, potato protein is used as a low cost protein source as well as an emulsifier and texture-enhancing agent.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Duck & Potato Formula Grain-Free Canned Dog Food, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per oz

Product Price

$0.23

Market Price avg.

$0.35

% From the Avg

-34%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$0.70

Market Price avg.

$1.25

% From the Avg

-44%

Price per day

Product Price

$0.42

Market Price avg.

$0.75

% From the Avg

-44%

Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Duck & Potato Formula Grain-Free Canned Dog Food is priced well below the average market price for wet dog food.

Nutritional Analysis

Your adult dog needs a balance of macro and micronutrients to thrive. A food formulated for adult maintenance or all life stages is made to meet these needs. While there can be a lot of variation in actual calorie density, adult dog foods are generally intended to provide for basic calorie needs of the average active dog. In addition to satisfying their energy needs, these foods provide the protein, fat, carbohydrates, fiber, and other nutrients your adult dog needs to survive. Again, not all adult foods are the same, so you may have to search around for the right fit for your dog.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Duck & Potato Formula Grain-Free Canned Dog Food to the other 1212 wet dog food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

22.73%

All Products avg.

42.93%

% From the Avg

-47%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

18.18%

All Products avg.

22.91%

% From the Avg

-21%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

9.09%

All Products avg.

7.12%

% From the Avg

+28%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

50%

All Products avg.

26.28%

% From the Avg

+90%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s low in protein with low fat and high carbohydrate content relative to other wet dog foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review