This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Natural Balance Ultra Premium Lamb Formula Canned Dog Food

Natural Balance Ultra Premium Lamb Formula Canned Dog Food
Company info
Company HQ
San Francisco, California
Parent company
J.M. Smucker Company
Product info
Age Range: Adult
Food Form Wet Dog Food
Cost per day: $0.25
Primary proteins
  • Lamb
  • Lamb Liver
  • Lamb Meal

Ingredients

Lamb Broth, Lamb, Lamb Liver, Brown Rice, Potatoes, Carrots, Canola Oil (Preserved with Mixed Tocopherols), Dehydrated Potatoes, Oat Bran, Lamb Meal, Vitamins(L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Vitamin E Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Niacin, D-Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin A Supplement,Riboflavin Supplement, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Folic Acid), Sodium Tripolyphosphate, Minerals(Zinc Proteinate, Zinc Sulfate, Ferrous Sulfate, Iron Proteinate, Copper Sulfate, Copper Proteinate, Manganese Sulfate, Manganese Proteinate, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Dried Kelp, Guar Gum, Salt, Potassium Chloride, Natural Smoke Flavor, Choline Chloride, Salmon Oil (Preserved with Mixed Tocopherols), Taurine, Carrageenan, Parsley Flakes, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Rosemary Extract.

Breed sizes

size-1 Toy
size-2 Small
size-3 Medium
size-4 Large
size-5 Giant

Overall Score

Loading
64%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 53%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 63%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 29%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 88%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 86%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 50%
? Based on the variety of sizes available. Size Variety 92%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 8%

Fat: 5%

Fiber: 1.5%

Moisture: 78%

Ash: 0%

Carb: 7.5%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 36.36%

Fat: 22.73%

Fiber: 6.82%

Ash: 8%

Carb: 34.09%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 28.94%

Fat: 43.93%

Carb: 27.13%

Our Review

Pros
  • High moisture content
  • Supplemented with chelated minerals for optimal nutrient absorption
  • Contains dried kelp as a natural source of essential nutrients
  • Doesn’t contain fillers, by-products, or artificial additives
  • Rich in species-appropriate animal protein
  • Affordable
  • A good source of omega-3 fatty acids
Cons
  • Low protein content
  • High in carbohydrates
  • Contains a small amount of plant-based proteins
  • Contains carrageenan – a potentially inflammatory additive
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years
  • Some dogs may be allergic to fish

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Natural Balance since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Natural Balance - Sweet Potato & Chicken Dry Dog Food (06/18/2010) -+
Date: 06/18/2010
Company Name: Natural Balance Pet Foods
Product Description: Sweet Potato & Chicken Dry Dog Food
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Natural Balance - Dog Food (05/04/2012) -+
Date: 05/04/2012
Company Name: Natural Balance Pet Foods
Product Description: Dog Food
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Natural Balance - Ultra Premium Chicken & Liver Paté Formula (07/03/2020) -+
Date: 07/03/2020
Company Name: Natural Balance Pet Foods
Product Description: Ultra Premium Chicken & Liver Paté Formula
Recall Reason: Due to elevated levels of choline chloride
Natural Balance - L.I.D. Green Pea & Chicken Dry Cat Formula (05/20/2021) -+
Date: 05/20/2021
Company Name: Natural Balance Pet Foods
Product Description: L.I.D. Green Pea & Chicken Dry Cat Formula
Recall Reason: Potential Salmonella Contamination

Ingredient Review

Our review of Natural Balance Ultra Premium Lamb Formula Canned Dog Food begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Lamb Broth. Lamb broth is made by boiling lamb meat and bones to obtain nutrients including fat, vitamins, and minerals. In pet food, lamb broth increases moisture and improves flavor.

The second ingredient is Lamb. Lamb is meat from a young sheep. In pet food, lamb may be a primary protein source as well as a source of animal fat, amino acids, and minerals.

The third ingredient is Lamb Liver. Lamb liver is liver from a young sheep. In pet food, lamb liver can be an excellent source of protein and iron, along with amino acids and many other essential nutrients that benefit your companion’s wellbeing.

The fourth ingredient is Brown Rice. Brown rice is a name for whole-grain rice with its outer hull removed. The brown rice in pet food can be a source of carbohydrates and fiber. Brown rice also contains omega-6 fatty acids, vitamins, and minerals

The fifth ingredient is Potatoes. Potatoes are versatile starchy root vegetables that provide carbohydrates, vitamins, minerals, and some fiber. In pet food, potatoes can add texture and flavor while replacing other starches. Many grain-free and gluten-free pet foods contain potatoes.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Natural Balance Ultra Premium Lamb Formula Canned Dog Food, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per oz

Product Price

$0.16

Market Price avg.

$0.35

% From the Avg

-54%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$0.42

Market Price avg.

$1.25

% From the Avg

-66%

Price per day

Product Price

$0.25

Market Price avg.

$0.75

% From the Avg

-66%

Natural Balance Ultra Premium Lamb Formula Canned Dog Food is priced well below the average market price for wet dog food.

Nutritional Analysis

Your adult dog needs a balance of macro and micronutrients to thrive. A food formulated for adult maintenance or all life stages is made to meet these needs. While there can be a lot of variation in actual calorie density, adult dog foods are generally intended to provide for basic calorie needs of the average active dog. In addition to satisfying their energy needs, these foods provide the protein, fat, carbohydrates, fiber, and other nutrients your adult dog needs to survive. Again, not all adult foods are the same, so you may have to search around for the right fit for your dog.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Natural Balance Ultra Premium Lamb Formula Canned Dog Food to the other 1212 wet dog food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

36.36%

All Products avg.

42.93%

% From the Avg

-15%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

22.73%

All Products avg.

22.91%

% From the Avg

-1%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

6.82%

All Products avg.

7.12%

% From the Avg

-4%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

34.09%

All Products avg.

26.28%

% From the Avg

+30%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s low in protein with moderate fat and high carbohydrate content relative to other wet dog foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review