This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Natural Balance Dog Food Review

Company HQ

LocationSan Francisco, California us-flag

Parent company

J.M. Smucker Company

Sourcing and Manufacturing

LocationUnited States us-flag

Type of food

Dry Dog Food, Dry Puppy Food, Wet Dog Food, Wet Puppy Food, Freeze-Dried Dog Food

Ratings

55%
? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 44%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 67%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 34%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 65%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 76%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 45%
Pros
  • Foods are nutritionally complete and balanced according to AAFCO standards
  • Natural Balance makes a diverse range of foods for various ages, sizes, and lifestyles
  • All recipes are free of artificial colors, flavors, and preservatives
Cons
  • Some recipes contain plant-based protein
  • Lower than average protein content
  • The brand has been previously recalled
  • Price is above market average

Brand Overview

Natural Balance formulates premium pet food and treats. The company offers a wide range of products for dogs and cats including wet and dry food in a variety of flavors. A few Natural Balance recipes are grain free.

How Much Does Natural Balance Dog Food Cost

We’ve compared Natural Balance dog food price to the other 197 dog food brands in our database.

Natural Balance Dry Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per lb$3.70$3.69+0%
Price per 100 kcal$0.23$0.38-39%
Price per day$0.14$0.23-39%

Natural Balance Dry Dog Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Natural Balance Dry Puppy Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per lb$4.12$3.85+7%
Price per 100 kcal$0.25$0.23+8%
Price per day$0.15$0.14+7%

Natural Balance Dry Puppy Food is priced above the average market price for dog food.

Natural Balance Wet Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per oz$0.41$0.410%
Price per 100 kcal$1.50$1.55-3%
Price per day$0.90$0.93-3%

Natural Balance Wet Dog Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Natural Balance Wet Puppy Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per oz$0.16$0.31-48%
Price per 100 kcal$0.42$1.00-58%
Price per day$0.25$0.60-58%

Natural Balance Wet Puppy Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Natural Balance Freeze-Dried Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per oz$2.54$2.64-4%
Price per 100 kcal$2.02$1.89+7%
Price per day$1.21$1.13+7%

Natural Balance Freeze-Dried Dog Food is priced above the average market price for dog food.

Natural Balance Nutrient Profile Comparison

We’ve compared Natural Balance dog food recipes nutrient profile to the other 197 dog food brands in our database.

Dry Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 27.27% 30.01% -9%
DM Fat 13.46% 15.84% -15%
DM Fiber 5.06% 5.49% -8%
DM Carb 54.22% 47.75% +14%

Dry Puppy Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 26.95% 32.35% -17%
DM Fat 13.47% 17.94% -25%
DM Fiber 4.72% 4.66% +1%
DM Carb 54.86% 44.25% +24%

Wet Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 38.52% 42.89% -10%
DM Fat 20.12% 22.28% -10%
DM Fiber 8.98% 7.40% +21%
DM Carb 32.37% 26.34% +23%

Wet Puppy Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 43.18% 42.84% +1%
DM Fat 36.36% 27.27% +33%
DM Fiber 6.82% 7.01% -3%
DM Carb 13.64% 22.55% -40%

Freeze-Dried Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 32.61% 44.23% -26%
DM Fat 30.43% 26.20% +16%
DM Fiber 5.43% 4.67% +16%
DM Carb 31.52% 24.63% +28%

All of Natural Balance dog food recipes meets AAFCO's minimum requirements.

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Natural Balance Dog Food Review since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Natural Balance - Sweet Potato & Chicken Dry Dog Food (06/18/2010) -+
Date:06/18/2010
Company Name:Natural Balance Pet Foods
Product Description:Sweet Potato & Chicken Dry Dog Food
Recall Reason:Salmonella
Natural Balance - Dog Food (05/04/2012) -+
Date:05/04/2012
Company Name:Natural Balance Pet Foods
Product Description:Dog Food
Recall Reason:Salmonella
Natural Balance - Ultra Premium Chicken & Liver Paté Formula (07/03/2020) -+
Date:07/03/2020
Company Name:Natural Balance Pet Foods
Product Description:Ultra Premium Chicken & Liver Paté Formula
Recall Reason:Due to elevated levels of choline chloride
Natural Balance - L.I.D. Green Pea & Chicken Dry Cat Formula (05/20/2021) -+
Date:05/20/2021
Company Name:Natural Balance Pet Foods
Product Description:L.I.D. Green Pea & Chicken Dry Cat Formula
Recall Reason:Potential Salmonella Contamination

Explore All Reviews of Natural Balance Dog Food Recipes

FAQ

faq-item-image Who owns Natural Balance dog food?

Natural Balance is owned by J.M. Smucker Company.

faq-item-image Where is Natural Balance dog food made?

Natural Balance is manufactured in the United States us-flag.

faq-item-image Is Natural Balance AAFCO approved?

Yes, all of Natural Balance recipes are AAFCO approved.

faq-item-image Has Natural Balance dog food been recalled?

Natural Balance has been recalled 4 times in the years 2010, 2012, 2020, and 2021.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review