This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Natural Balance Delectable Delights Fish ‘N Chicks Grain-Free Wet Dog Food

Natural Balance Delectable Delights Fish 'N Chicks Grain-Free Wet Dog Food
Company info
Company HQ
San Francisco, California
Parent company
J.M. Smucker Company
Product info
Age Range: Adult
Food Form Wet Dog Food
Cost per day: $1.78
Primary proteins
  • Chicken
  • Salmon

Ingredients

Chicken, Fish Broth, Salmon, Sweet Potatoes, Green Beans, Sunflower Oil, Tricalcium Phosphate, Guar Gum, Salt, Calcium Sulfate, Natural Flavor, Potassium Chloride, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Vitamin A Supplement, Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, D-Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid, Biotin, Beta-Carotene), Minerals (Zinc Amino Acid Complex, Ferrous Glycine Complex, Copper Amino Acid Complex, Manganese Amino Acid Complex, Potassium Iodide), Choline Chloride, Carrageenan, Beta-Carotene (Color).

Breed sizes

size-1 Toy
size-2 Small
size-3 Medium
size-4 Large
size-5 Giant

Compare Prices To Find The Lowest Price

Overall Score

Loading
67%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 100%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 66%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 29%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 25%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 77%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 50%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 11%

Fat: 2%

Fiber: 1%

Moisture: 83%

Ash: 0%

Carb: 3%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 64.71%

Fat: 11.76%

Fiber: 5.88%

Ash: 8%

Carb: 17.65%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 58.33%

Fat: 25.76%

Carb: 15.91%

Our Review

Pros
  • Rich in protein
  • Low carbohydrate content
  • High moisture content
  • Doesn’t contain fillers, by-products, or artificial additives
Cons
  • Expensive
  • Contains a small amount of plant-based proteins
  • Contains artificial food dyes
  • Contains carrageenan – a potentially inflammatory additive
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years
  • Some dogs may be allergic to fish

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Natural Balance since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Natural Balance - Sweet Potato & Chicken Dry Dog Food (06/18/2010) -+
Date: 06/18/2010
Company Name: Natural Balance Pet Foods
Product Description: Sweet Potato & Chicken Dry Dog Food
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Natural Balance - Dog Food (05/04/2012) -+
Date: 05/04/2012
Company Name: Natural Balance Pet Foods
Product Description: Dog Food
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Natural Balance - Ultra Premium Chicken & Liver Paté Formula (07/03/2020) -+
Date: 07/03/2020
Company Name: Natural Balance Pet Foods
Product Description: Ultra Premium Chicken & Liver Paté Formula
Recall Reason: Due to elevated levels of choline chloride
Natural Balance - L.I.D. Green Pea & Chicken Dry Cat Formula (05/20/2021) -+
Date: 05/20/2021
Company Name: Natural Balance Pet Foods
Product Description: L.I.D. Green Pea & Chicken Dry Cat Formula
Recall Reason: Potential Salmonella Contamination

Ingredient Review

Our review of Natural Balance Delectable Delights Fish 'N Chicks Grain-Free Wet Dog Food begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Chicken. Chicken is meat from the domesticated bird of the same name. In pet food, chicken is used as a primary protein source.

The second ingredient is Fish Broth. Fish broth is a byproduct of the seafood cooking process, and can contain fish of any kind. In pet food, fish broth adds flavor and aroma, along with some nutrients.

The third ingredient is Salmon. Salmon is meat from any fish in the salmon family, and in pet food, salmon might also refer to other parts of the fish including skin and organs. Salmon is an excellent source of protein, and it is a good source of Omega-3 fatty acids.

The fourth ingredient is Sweet Potatoes. Sweet potatoes are added to pet food as an easy-to-digest source of grain-free and gluten-free carbohydrates. They contain high levels of fiber, along with a number of important vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants.

The fifth ingredient is Green Beans. Green beans are the unripe fruit and pods of several different bean cultivars, usually enjoyed as a garden vegetable. In pet food, green beans offer fiber, vitamins, minerals, and a small amount of protein.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Natural Balance Delectable Delights Fish 'N Chicks Grain-Free Wet Dog Food, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per oz

Product Price

$0.76

Market Price avg.

$0.35

% From the Avg

+117%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$2.97

Market Price avg.

$1.25

% From the Avg

+137%

Price per day

Product Price

$1.78

Market Price avg.

$0.75

% From the Avg

+137%

Natural Balance Delectable Delights Fish 'N Chicks Grain-Free Wet Dog Food is priced well above the average market price for wet dog food.

Nutritional Analysis

Your adult dog needs a balance of macro and micronutrients to thrive. A food formulated for adult maintenance or all life stages is made to meet these needs. While there can be a lot of variation in actual calorie density, adult dog foods are generally intended to provide for basic calorie needs of the average active dog. In addition to satisfying their energy needs, these foods provide the protein, fat, carbohydrates, fiber, and other nutrients your adult dog needs to survive. Again, not all adult foods are the same, so you may have to search around for the right fit for your dog.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Natural Balance Delectable Delights Fish 'N Chicks Grain-Free Wet Dog Food to the other 1212 wet dog food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

64.71%

All Products avg.

42.93%

% From the Avg

+51%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

11.76%

All Products avg.

22.91%

% From the Avg

-49%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

5.88%

All Products avg.

7.12%

% From the Avg

-17%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

17.65%

All Products avg.

26.28%

% From the Avg

-33%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s high in protein with low fat and low carbohydrate content relative to other wet dog foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review