This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Natural Balance Original Ultra Large Breed Grain-Free Chicken Formula Dry Dog Food

Natural Balance Original Ultra Large Breed Grain-Free Chicken Formula Dry Dog Food
Company info
Company HQ
San Francisco, California
Parent company
J.M. Smucker Company
Product info
Age Range: Adult
Food Form Dry Dog Food
Cost per day: $0.07
Primary proteins
  • Chicken
  • Chicken Meal
  • Dried Egg

Ingredients

Chicken, Peas, Chicken Meal, Lentils, Chicken Fat (Preserved with Mixed Tocopherols), Sweet Potatoes, Flaxseed, Pea Starch, Natural Flavor, Dried Egg, Menhaden Fish Oil (Preserved with Mixed Tocopherols), Dried Tomato Pomace, Salt, Potassium Chloride, Dicalcium Phosphate, Taurine, Dl-methionine, Dried Apple, Dried Cranberries, Dried Spinach, Dried Pumpkin, Dried Carrots, Minerals (Zinc Proteinate, Zinc Sulfate, Ferrous Sulfate, Iron Proteinate, Copper Sulfate, Copper Proteinate, Manganese Sulfate, Manganese Proteinate, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Choline Chloride, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Niacin Supplement, D-calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin A Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Folic Acid, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Lactic Acid, Citric Acid (Used As A Preservative), L-carnitine, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Rosemary Extract

Breed sizes

size-1 Toy
size-2 Small
size-3 Medium
size-4 Large
size-5 Giant

Overall Score

Loading
60%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 40%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 73%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 29%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 79%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 63%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 40%
? Based on the variety of sizes available. Size Variety 100%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 27%

Fat: 15%

Fiber: 5%

Moisture: 10%

Ash: 0%

Carb: 43%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 30%

Fat: 16.67%

Fiber: 5.56%

Ash: 8%

Carb: 47.78%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 25.37%

Fat: 34.23%

Carb: 40.4%

Our Review

Pros
  • Supplemented with chelated minerals for optimal nutrient absorption
  • Made with fiber-rich flaxseed
  • Doesn’t contain fillers, by-products, or artificial additives
  • Rich in species-appropriate animal protein
  • Affordable
  • A good source of omega-3 fatty acids
Cons
  • Low protein content
  • High in carbohydrates
  • Low in moisture
  • Contains a small amount of plant-based proteins
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years
  • Some dogs may be allergic to fish

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Natural Balance since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Natural Balance - Sweet Potato & Chicken Dry Dog Food (06/18/2010) -+
Date: 06/18/2010
Company Name: Natural Balance Pet Foods
Product Description: Sweet Potato & Chicken Dry Dog Food
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Natural Balance - Dog Food (05/04/2012) -+
Date: 05/04/2012
Company Name: Natural Balance Pet Foods
Product Description: Dog Food
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Natural Balance - Ultra Premium Chicken & Liver Paté Formula (07/03/2020) -+
Date: 07/03/2020
Company Name: Natural Balance Pet Foods
Product Description: Ultra Premium Chicken & Liver Paté Formula
Recall Reason: Due to elevated levels of choline chloride
Natural Balance - L.I.D. Green Pea & Chicken Dry Cat Formula (05/20/2021) -+
Date: 05/20/2021
Company Name: Natural Balance Pet Foods
Product Description: L.I.D. Green Pea & Chicken Dry Cat Formula
Recall Reason: Potential Salmonella Contamination

Ingredient Review

Our review of Natural Balance Original Ultra Large Breed Grain-Free Chicken Formula Dry Dog Food begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Chicken. Chicken is meat from the domesticated bird of the same name. In pet food, chicken is used as a primary protein source.

The second ingredient is Peas. Pea is a general term to describe whole, split, or milled peas, which are a grain-free, gluten-free source of protein, fiber, and carbohydrates. In pet food, pea products serve as an energy source as well as a supplementary source of vitamins and minerals.

The third ingredient is Chicken Meal. In pet food, chicken meal is often listed as a source of protein. Chicken meal is produced by baking and grinding chicken meat and skin. As a dry form of animal protein, it is most often found in kibble and treats.

The fourth ingredient is Lentils. Lentils are legumes. In pet food, lentils are a source of protein, fiber, and nutrients including a number of essential vitamins and minerals.

The fifth ingredient is Chicken Fat. Chicken fat is a good source of omega-6 fatty acids including linoleic acid. In pet food, chicken fat also adds flavor, improves consistency, and serves as a source of the animal fat pets need for overall wellbeing.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Natural Balance Original Ultra Large Breed Grain-Free Chicken Formula Dry Dog Food, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per lb

Product Price

$1.97

Market Price avg.

$3.25

% From the Avg

-39%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$0.12

Market Price avg.

$0.21

% From the Avg

-42%

Price per day

Product Price

$0.07

Market Price avg.

$0.12

% From the Avg

-39%

Natural Balance Original Ultra Large Breed Grain-Free Chicken Formula Dry Dog Food is priced well below the average market price for dry dog food.

Nutritional Analysis

Large breed dogs can certainly have a couple of nutritional needs unique to them. Orthopedic disease is chief among them. These can include hip and elbow dysplasia and earlier onset of arthritis. For this reason, somelarge dog breed foods may contain joint health ingredients like glucosamine and omega fatty acids. The risk of bloat is also much higher for large breed dogs, and this risk can be reduced with large kibble size and foods with a lower fat content.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Natural Balance Original Ultra Large Breed Grain-Free Chicken Formula Dry Dog Food to the other 1525 dry dog food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

30%

All Products avg.

30.04%

% From the Avg

-0%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

16.67%

All Products avg.

16.01%

% From the Avg

+4%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

5.56%

All Products avg.

5.36%

% From the Avg

+4%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

47.78%

All Products avg.

47.71%

% From the Avg

+0%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s moderate in protein with moderate fat and moderate carbohydrate content relative to other dry dog foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review