This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Wellness Simple Limited Ingredient Diet Grain-Free Salmon & Potato Formula Dry Dog Food

Wellness Simple Limited Ingredient Diet Grain-Free Salmon & Potato Formula Dry Dog Food
Company info
Company HQ
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Parent company
WellPet LLC
Product info
Age Range: Adult
Food Form Dry Dog Food
Cost per day: $0.12
Primary proteins
  • Salmon
  • Salmon Meal

Ingredients

Salmon, Salmon Meal, Potatoes, Peas, Dried Ground Potatoes, Tomato Pomace, Ground Flaxseed, Canola Oil (preserved with Mixed Tocopherols), Dicalcium Phosphate, Natural Fish Flavor, Chicory Root Extract, Vitamin E Supplement, Choline Chloride, Taurine, Mixed Tocopherols added to preserve freshness, Zinc Proteinate, Zinc Sulfate, Calcium Carbonate, Niacin, Ferrous Sulfate, Iron Proteinate, Beta-Carotene, Vitamin A Supplement, Copper Sulfate, Thiamine Mononitrate, Copper Proteinate, Manganese Proteinate, Manganese Sulfate, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Sodium Selenite, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Biotin, Calcium Iodate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Folic Acid, Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C), Dried Lactobacillus plantarum Fermentation Product, Dried Enterococcus faecium Fermentation Product, Dried Lactobacillus casei Fermentation Product, Dried Lactobacillus acidophilus Fermentation Product, Rosemary Extract, Green Tea Extract, Spearmint Extract.This is a naturally preserved product.

Breed sizes

size-1 Toy
size-2 Small
size-3 Medium
size-4 Large
size-5 Giant

Overall Score

Loading
57%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 36%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 64%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 33%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 60%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 84%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 40%
? Based on the variety of sizes available. Size Variety 92%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 25%

Fat: 12%

Fiber: 5%

Moisture: 11%

Ash: 0%

Carb: 47%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 28.09%

Fat: 13.48%

Fiber: 5.62%

Ash: 8%

Carb: 52.81%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 24.72%

Fat: 28.81%

Carb: 46.47%

Our Review

Pros
  • Supplemented with chelated minerals for optimal nutrient absorption
  • Contains health promoting ground flaxseed for fiber
  • Doesn’t contain fillers, by-products, or artificial additives
  • Affordable
Cons
  • Low protein content
  • High in carbohydrates
  • Low in moisture
  • Contains plant-based proteins
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years
  • Some dogs may be allergic to fish

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Wellness since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Wellness - Canned Cat Food (02/28/2011) -+
Date: 02/28/2011
Company Name: WellPet LLC
Product Description: Canned Cat Food
Recall Reason: Inadequate Levels of Thiamine
Wellness - Dog Food (05/04/2012) -+
Date: 05/04/2012
Company Name: WellPet LLC
Product Description: Dog Food
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Wellness - Dog Food (10/31/2012) -+
Date: 10/31/2012
Company Name: WellPet LLC
Product Description: Dog Food
Recall Reason: Moisture problems
Wellness - Cat Food (02/10/2017) -+
Date: 02/10/2017
Company Name: WellPet, LLC
Product Description: Cat Food
Recall Reason: Potential for foreign material
Wellness - Dog Food (03/18/2017) -+
Date: 03/18/2017
Company Name: WellPet, LLC
Product Description: Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potential for elevated levels of naturally occurring beef thyroid hormone
Wellness - Beef Topper for Dogs (02/08/2018) -+
Date: 02/08/2018
Company Name: WellPet LLC
Product Description: Beef Topper for Dogs
Recall Reason: Elevated Levels of Naturally Occurring Beef Thyroid Hormone

Ingredient Review

Our review of Wellness Simple Limited Ingredient Diet Grain-Free Salmon & Potato Formula Dry Dog Food begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Salmon. Salmon is meat from any fish in the salmon family, and in pet food, salmon might also refer to other parts of the fish including skin and organs. Salmon is an excellent source of protein, and it is a good source of Omega-3 fatty acids.

The second ingredient is Salmon Meal. Salmon meal is ground flesh from any fish in the salmon family, and in pet food, salmon meal might also include other parts of the fish including skin and organs. Salmon meal can be a good source of protein and Omega-3 fatty acids.

The third ingredient is Potatoes. Potatoes are versatile starchy root vegetables that provide carbohydrates, vitamins, minerals, and some fiber. In pet food, potatoes can add texture and flavor while replacing other starches. Many grain-free and gluten-free pet foods contain potatoes.

The fourth ingredient is Peas. Pea is a general term to describe whole, split, or milled peas, which are a grain-free, gluten-free source of protein, fiber, and carbohydrates. In pet food, pea products serve as an energy source as well as a supplementary source of vitamins and minerals.

The fifth ingredient is Dried Ground Potatoes. Dried ground potatoes are potato tubers that have been ground before being dehydrated. In pet food, dried ground potatoes serve as a source of carbohydrates for energy, along with small amounts of vitamins and minerals. Dried ground potatoes can also enhance the texture of your companion’s food.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Wellness Simple Limited Ingredient Diet Grain-Free Salmon & Potato Formula Dry Dog Food, we found that most of the protein is derived from fish based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per lb

Product Price

$3.11

Market Price avg.

$3.59

% From the Avg

-13%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$0.20

Market Price avg.

$0.23

% From the Avg

-13%

Price per day

Product Price

$0.12

Market Price avg.

$0.14

% From the Avg

-16%

Wellness Simple Limited Ingredient Diet Grain-Free Salmon & Potato Formula Dry Dog Food is priced below the average market price for dry dog food.

Nutritional Analysis

Your adult dog needs a balance of macro and micronutrients to thrive. A food formulated for adult maintenance or all life stages is made to meet these needs. While there can be a lot of variation in actual calorie density, adult dog foods are generally intended to provide for basic calorie needs of the average active dog. In addition to satisfying their energy needs, these foods provide the protein, fat, carbohydrates, fiber, and other nutrients your adult dog needs to survive. Again, not all adult foods are the same, so you may have to search around for the right fit for your dog.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Wellness Simple Limited Ingredient Diet Grain-Free Salmon & Potato Formula Dry Dog Food to the other 1525 dry dog food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

28.09%

All Products avg.

30.04%

% From the Avg

-6%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

13.48%

All Products avg.

16.01%

% From the Avg

-16%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

5.62%

All Products avg.

5.36%

% From the Avg

+5%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

52.81%

All Products avg.

47.71%

% From the Avg

+11%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a fish based food that’s moderate in protein with low fat and high carbohydrate content relative to other dry dog foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review