This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Wellness Dog Food Review

Company HQ

LocationTewksbury, Massachusetts us-flag

Parent company

WellPet LLC

Sourcing and Manufacturing

LocationUnited States us-flag

Type of food

Dry Dog Food, Wet Dog Food, Dry Senior Dog Food, Dry Puppy Food, Wet Puppy Food, Wet Senior Dog Food, Dehydrated Dog Food, Wet Frozen Dog Food

Ratings

58%
? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 57%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 68%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 35%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 63%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 79%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 46%
Pros
  • High protein content
  • Affordable
  • Wellness makes a diverse range of foods for various ages, sizes, and lifestyles
  • All recipes are free of artificial colors, flavors, and preservatives
Cons
  • Some recipes contain plant-based protein
  • The brand has been previously recalled

Brand Overview

Wellness pet foods were first introduced in the 1990s. Since then, the company’s line has expanded to include a vast variety of dry and wet foods for cats and dogs. Wellness offers grain-free options as well as grain-inclusive recipes.

How Much Does Wellness Dog Food Cost

We’ve compared Wellness dog food price to the other 197 dog food brands in our database.

Wellness Dry Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per lb$3.87$3.69+5%
Price per 100 kcal$0.23$0.34-30%
Price per day$0.14$0.20-30%

Wellness Dry Dog Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Wellness Wet Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per oz$0.42$0.41+2%
Price per 100 kcal$1.47$1.52-3%
Price per day$0.88$0.91-3%

Wellness Wet Dog Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Wellness Dry Senior Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per lb$3.89$3.81+2%
Price per 100 kcal$0.25$0.32-23%
Price per day$0.15$0.19-21%

Wellness Dry Senior Dog Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Wellness Dry Puppy Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per lb$3.89$3.85+1%
Price per 100 kcal$0.23$0.23-3%
Price per day$0.14$0.140%

Wellness Dry Puppy Food is priced within the average market price for dog food.

Wellness Wet Puppy Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per oz$0.27$0.31-13%
Price per 100 kcal$0.74$1.00-26%
Price per day$0.44$0.60-27%

Wellness Wet Puppy Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Wellness Wet Senior Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per oz$0.29$0.32-9%
Price per 100 kcal$1.13$1.24-9%
Price per day$0.68$0.75-9%

Wellness Wet Senior Dog Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Wellness Dehydrated Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per lb$14.25$15.07-5%
Price per 100 kcal$0.84$0.82+3%
Price per day$0.50$0.49+2%

Wellness Dehydrated Dog Food is priced above the average market price for dog food.

Wellness Wet Frozen Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per lb$9.71$10.61-8%
Price per 100 kcal$2.24$1.72+30%
Price per day$1.34$1.03+30%

Wellness Wet Frozen Dog Food is priced above the average market price for dog food.

Wellness Nutrient Profile Comparison

We’ve compared Wellness dog food recipes nutrient profile to the other 197 dog food brands in our database.

Dry Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 34.28% 29.99% +14%
DM Fat 15.11% 15.86% -5%
DM Fiber 5.87% 5.48% +7%
DM Carb 44.74% 47.76% -6%

Wet Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 42.73% 42.98% -1%
DM Fat 22.94% 22.27% +3%
DM Fiber 5.30% 7.39% -28%
DM Carb 29.04% 26.27% +11%

Dry Senior Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 29.26% 28.44% +3%
DM Fat 12.59% 13.38% -6%
DM Fiber 5.28% 5.48% -4%
DM Carb 52.87% 51.94% +2%

Dry Puppy Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 37.67% 32.35% +16%
DM Fat 18.72% 17.94% +4%
DM Fiber 5.25% 4.66% +13%
DM Carb 38.36% 44.25% -13%

Wet Puppy Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 45.46% 42.84% +6%
DM Fat 28.41% 27.27% +4%
DM Fiber 4.55% 7.01% -35%
DM Carb 21.59% 22.55% -4%

Wet Senior Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 31.82% 34.07% -7%
DM Fat 13.64% 19.57% -30%
DM Fiber 13.64% 9.47% +44%
DM Carb 40.91% 36.52% +12%

Dehydrated Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 38.75% 31.80% +22%
DM Fat 26.25% 18.46% +42%
DM Fiber 3.75% 5.44% -31%
DM Carb 31.25% 42.08% -26%

Wet Frozen Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 40.50% 41.52% -2%
DM Fat 15.00% 23.50% -36%
DM Fiber 4.00% 5.59% -28%
DM Carb 40.50% 28.41% +43%

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Wellness Dog Food Review since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Wellness - Canned Cat Food (02/28/2011) -+
Date:02/28/2011
Company Name:WellPet LLC
Product Description:Canned Cat Food
Recall Reason:Inadequate Levels of Thiamine
Wellness - Dog Food (05/04/2012) -+
Date:05/04/2012
Company Name:WellPet LLC
Product Description:Dog Food
Recall Reason:Salmonella
Wellness - Dog Food (10/31/2012) -+
Date:10/31/2012
Company Name:WellPet LLC
Product Description:Dog Food
Recall Reason:Moisture problems
Wellness - Cat Food (02/10/2017) -+
Date:02/10/2017
Company Name:WellPet, LLC
Product Description:Cat Food
Recall Reason:Potential for foreign material
Wellness - Dog Food (03/18/2017) -+
Date:03/18/2017
Company Name:WellPet, LLC
Product Description:Dog Food
Recall Reason:Potential for elevated levels of naturally occurring beef thyroid hormone
Wellness - Beef Topper for Dogs (02/08/2018) -+
Date:02/08/2018
Company Name:WellPet LLC
Product Description:Beef Topper for Dogs
Recall Reason:Elevated Levels of Naturally Occurring Beef Thyroid Hormone

Lawsuit History

July 2017 - A proposed class action lawsuit filed against WellPet LLC and its parent company – Berwind Corporation – alleges that some of the defendants’ Wellness dog food products contain dangerous amounts of arsenic and lead.

The defendants supposedly market their products as having “Uncompromising Nutrition” and “Unrivaled Quality Standards,” which, the suit argues, would lead consumers to believe that the pet food is free of toxins.

The plaintiffs argue, however, that the food they fed their dogs contained over 1,000 ppb (parts per billion) of arsenic and over 200 ppb of lead, as reported in independent lab tests.

The plaintiffs claim they never would have spent a premium price on the defendants’ allegedly mislabeled dog food had they known the truth about the products’ ingredients. They argue that the defendants’ “long-standing” marketing campaign unlawfully deceives consumers into thinking Wellness products are “healthy and safe,” when in reality, they may lead to sickness or death in consumers’ pets.

Explore All Reviews of Wellness Dog Food Recipes

Overall Score
75%
Wellness CORE Grain-Free Beef Wellness CORE Grain-Free Beef
Cost per day $0.58
Overall Score
73%
Wellness CORE Grain-Free Turkey Wellness CORE Grain-Free Turkey
Cost per day $0.57
Overall Score
65%
Wellness CORE Grain-Free Whitefish Wellness CORE Grain-Free Whitefish
Cost per day $0.59
Overall Score
64%
Wellness CORE Ocean Whitefish Wellness CORE Ocean Whitefish
Cost per day $0.15

FAQ

faq-item-image Who owns Wellness dog food?

Wellness is owned by WellPet LLC.

faq-item-image Where is Wellness dog food made?

Wellness is manufactured in the United States us-flag.

faq-item-image Is Wellness AAFCO approved?

Yes, all of Wellness recipes are AAFCO approved.

faq-item-image Has Wellness dog food been recalled?

Wellness has been recalled 6 times in the years 2011, 2012, 2017, and 2018.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

1 thought on “Wellness Dog Food Review

  • Tammy Douglass

    This was extremely informative. It has definitely helped me make a better decision. I feel based on your review Wellness White Fish meets the needs of my dog which is poultry sensitive. It is difficult to find dog food without poultry. I have decided to add 1/4 of his diet with The Farmer’s Dog beef recipe fresh foods this fresh food is grain free which will help to lower the high carb content of this food. Your feedback would be most appreciated for this decision,
    Thank you
    Tammy Douglass

Leave a Review