This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Wellness Ninety-Five Percent Chicken Grain-Free Canned Dog Food Topper

Wellness Ninety-Five Percent Chicken Grain-Free Canned Dog Food Topper
Company info
Company HQ
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Parent company
WellPet LLC
Product info
Age Range: Adult
Food Form Wet Dog Food
Cost per day: $0.45
Primary proteins
  • Chicken

Ingredients

Chicken, Water Sufficient For Processing, Natural Flavor, Cassia Gum, Carrageenan.

Breed sizes

size-1 Toy
size-2 Small
size-3 Medium
size-4 Large
size-5 Giant

Compare Prices To Find The Lowest Price

Overall Score

Loading
67%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 71%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 63%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 33%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 77%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 89%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 50%
? Based on the variety of sizes available. Size Variety 83%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 10%

Fat: 8%

Fiber: 1%

Moisture: 78%

Ash: 0%

Carb: 3%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 45.45%

Fat: 36.36%

Fiber: 4.55%

Ash: 8%

Carb: 13.64%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 30.84%

Fat: 59.91%

Carb: 9.25%

Our Review

Pros
  • Low carbohydrate content
  • High moisture content
  • Doesn’t contain fillers, by-products, or artificial additives
  • Affordable
  • Contains a limited number of ingredients
Cons
  • Contains plant-based proteins
  • Contains carrageenan – a potentially inflammatory additive
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Wellness since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Wellness - Canned Cat Food (02/28/2011) -+
Date: 02/28/2011
Company Name: WellPet LLC
Product Description: Canned Cat Food
Recall Reason: Inadequate Levels of Thiamine
Wellness - Dog Food (05/04/2012) -+
Date: 05/04/2012
Company Name: WellPet LLC
Product Description: Dog Food
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Wellness - Dog Food (10/31/2012) -+
Date: 10/31/2012
Company Name: WellPet LLC
Product Description: Dog Food
Recall Reason: Moisture problems
Wellness - Cat Food (02/10/2017) -+
Date: 02/10/2017
Company Name: WellPet, LLC
Product Description: Cat Food
Recall Reason: Potential for foreign material
Wellness - Dog Food (03/18/2017) -+
Date: 03/18/2017
Company Name: WellPet, LLC
Product Description: Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potential for elevated levels of naturally occurring beef thyroid hormone
Wellness - Beef Topper for Dogs (02/08/2018) -+
Date: 02/08/2018
Company Name: WellPet LLC
Product Description: Beef Topper for Dogs
Recall Reason: Elevated Levels of Naturally Occurring Beef Thyroid Hormone

Ingredient Review

Our review of Wellness Ninety-Five Percent Chicken Grain-Free Canned Dog Food Topper begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Chicken. Chicken is meat from the domesticated bird of the same name. In pet food, chicken is used as a primary protein source.

The second ingredient is Water Sufficient. In pet food, the term water sufficient typically refers to the amount of water that is needed to process the rest of the ingredients.

The third ingredient is Natural Flavor. In pet food, natural flavor can come from animal products, plant sources, or even minerals. Natural flavor is added to pet food to increase palatability, helping your companion enjoy their meals more.

The fourth ingredient is Cassia Gum. Cassia gum is a natural gelling agent sourced from the senna plant. In pet food, cassia gum serves as a stabilizer that also improves the food’s texture and appearance.

The fifth ingredient is Carrageenan. Carrageenan is a natural extract that is derived from seaweed. In pet food, carrageenan is used as a stabilizer, thickening agent, emulsifier, and texturizer.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Wellness Ninety-Five Percent Chicken Grain-Free Canned Dog Food Topper, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per oz

Product Price

$0.29

Market Price avg.

$0.35

% From the Avg

-17%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$0.74

Market Price avg.

$1.25

% From the Avg

-41%

Price per day

Product Price

$0.45

Market Price avg.

$0.75

% From the Avg

-40%

Wellness Ninety-Five Percent Chicken Grain-Free Canned Dog Food Topper is priced well below the average market price for wet dog food.

Nutritional Analysis

Your adult dog needs a balance of macro and micronutrients to thrive. A food formulated for adult maintenance or all life stages is made to meet these needs. While there can be a lot of variation in actual calorie density, adult dog foods are generally intended to provide for basic calorie needs of the average active dog. In addition to satisfying their energy needs, these foods provide the protein, fat, carbohydrates, fiber, and other nutrients your adult dog needs to survive. Again, not all adult foods are the same, so you may have to search around for the right fit for your dog.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Wellness Ninety-Five Percent Chicken Grain-Free Canned Dog Food Topper to the other 1212 wet dog food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

45.45%

All Products avg.

42.93%

% From the Avg

+6%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

36.36%

All Products avg.

22.91%

% From the Avg

+59%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

4.55%

All Products avg.

7.12%

% From the Avg

-36%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

13.64%

All Products avg.

26.28%

% From the Avg

-48%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s moderate in protein with high fat and low carbohydrate content relative to other wet dog foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review