This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Wellness Bowl Boosters Freshly Puppy Frozen Fresh Turkey & Rice Dog Food

Wellness Bowl Boosters Freshly Puppy Frozen Fresh Turkey & Rice Dog Food
Company info
Company HQ
Tewksbury, Massachusetts us-flag
Parent company
WellPet LLC
Product info
Age Range: Adult
Food Form Fresh Frozen Dog Food
Cost per day: $1.29
Primary proteins
  • Deboned Turkey

Ingredients

Deboned Turkey, Sweet Potatoes, Rice, Spinach, Cranberries, Calcium Carbonate, Salmon Oil, Dicalcium Phosphate, Potassium Chloride, Salt, Choline Chloride, Vitamin E Supplement, Taurine, Zinc Proteinate, Zinc Sulfate, Ferrous Sulfate, Iron Proteinate, Niacin, Copper Sulfate, Copper Proteinate, Vitamin A Supplement, Sodium Selenite, Thiamine Mononitrate, Manganese Sulfate, Manganese Proteinate, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin, Biotin, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Calcium Iodate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Folic Acid, Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C).

Breed sizes

size-1 Toy
size-2 Small
size-3 Medium
size-4 Large
size-5 Giant

Compare Prices To Find The Lowest Price

Overall Score

Loading
63%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 64%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 75%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 35%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 45%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 58%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 80%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 10.5%

Fat: 3.5%

Fiber: 1%

Moisture: 75%

Ash: 0%

Carb: 10%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 42%

Fat: 14%

Fiber: 4%

Ash: 8%

Carb: 40%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 36.21%

Fat: 29.31%

Carb: 34.48%

Our Review

Pros
  • High moisture content
  • Supplemented with chelated minerals for optimal nutrient absorption
  • Doesn’t contain fillers, by-products, or artificial additives
  • A good source of omega-3 fatty acids
Cons
  • Contains plant-based proteins
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years
  • Some dogs may be allergic to fish

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Wellness since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Wellness - Canned Cat Food (02/28/2011) -+
Date:02/28/2011
Company Name:WellPet LLC
Product Description:Canned Cat Food
Recall Reason:Inadequate Levels of Thiamine
Wellness - Dog Food (05/04/2012) -+
Date:05/04/2012
Company Name:WellPet LLC
Product Description:Dog Food
Recall Reason:Salmonella
Wellness - Dog Food (10/31/2012) -+
Date:10/31/2012
Company Name:WellPet LLC
Product Description:Dog Food
Recall Reason:Moisture problems
Wellness - Cat Food (02/10/2017) -+
Date:02/10/2017
Company Name:WellPet, LLC
Product Description:Cat Food
Recall Reason:Potential for foreign material
Wellness - Dog Food (03/18/2017) -+
Date:03/18/2017
Company Name:WellPet, LLC
Product Description:Dog Food
Recall Reason:Potential for elevated levels of naturally occurring beef thyroid hormone
Wellness - Beef Topper for Dogs (02/08/2018) -+
Date:02/08/2018
Company Name:WellPet LLC
Product Description:Beef Topper for Dogs
Recall Reason:Elevated Levels of Naturally Occurring Beef Thyroid Hormone

Ingredient Review

Our review of Wellness Bowl Boosters Freshly Puppy Frozen Fresh Turkey & Rice Dog Food begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Deboned Turkey. Deboned turkey is a general term for turkey meat that has had the bones removed. The deboned turkey in pet food is a valuable protein source as well as a source of other essential nutrients to benefit your companion’s overall wellbeing.

The second ingredient is Sweet Potatoes. Sweet potatoes are added to pet food as an easy-to-digest source of grain-free and gluten-free carbohydrates. They contain high levels of fiber, along with a number of important vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants.

The third ingredient is Rice. Rice is a gluten-free cereal grain. In pet food, rice is a source of easily digestible carbohydrates.

The fourth ingredient is Spinach. Spinach is a nutrient-dense leafy green. In pet food, spinach provides added nutrients including vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants.

The fifth ingredient is Cranberries. In pet food, cranberries double as a source of healthy fiber and important antioxidants. Cranberries are high in vitamins A and C, plus they’re a good source of potassium.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Wellness Bowl Boosters Freshly Puppy Frozen Fresh Turkey & Rice Dog Food, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per lb

Product Price

$9.71

Market Price avg.

$10.61

% From the Avg

-8%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$2.15

Market Price avg.

$1.72

% From the Avg

+25%

Price per day

Product Price

$1.29

Market Price avg.

$1.03

% From the Avg

+25%

Wellness Bowl Boosters Freshly Puppy Frozen Fresh Turkey & Rice Dog Food is priced within the average market price for wet frozen dog food.

Nutritional Analysis

Your adult dog needs a balance of macro and micronutrients to thrive. A food formulated for adult maintenance or all life stages is made to meet these needs. While there can be a lot of variation in actual calorie density, adult dog foods are generally intended to provide for basic calorie needs of the average active dog. In addition to satisfying their energy needs, these foods provide the protein, fat, carbohydrates, fiber, and other nutrients your adult dog needs to survive. Again, not all adult foods are the same, so you may have to search around for the right fit for your dog.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Wellness Bowl Boosters Freshly Puppy Frozen Fresh Turkey & Rice Dog Food to the other 1 wet frozen dog food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

42%

All Products avg.

42%

% From the Avg

0%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

14%

All Products avg.

14%

% From the Avg

0%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

4%

All Products avg.

4%

% From the Avg

0%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

40%

All Products avg.

40%

% From the Avg

0%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s moderate in protein with moderate fat and moderate carbohydrate content relative to other wet frozen dog foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review