This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Merrick Real Texas Beef + Sweet Potato Recipe Grain-Free Adult Dry Dog Food

Merrick Real Texas Beef + Sweet Potato Recipe Grain-Free Adult Dry Dog Food
Company info
Company HQ
Amarillo, Texas
Parent company
Nestlé Purina PetCare Company
Product info
Age Range: Adult
Food Form Dry Dog Food
Cost per day: $0.14
Primary proteins
  • Deboned Beef
  • Lamb Meal
  • Salmon Meal
  • Potato Protein

Ingredients

Deboned Beef, Lamb Meal, Salmon Meal, Sweet Potatoes, Potatoes, Peas, Potato Protein, Pork Fat, Natural Flavor, Whitefish Meal, Pea Protein, Sunflower Oil, Beef Liver, Flaxseed, Potassium Chloride, Salt, Apples, Blueberries, Organic Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Choline Chloride, Salmon Oil, Minerals (Iron Amino Acid Complex, Zinc Amino Acid Complex, Zinc Sulfate, Sodium Selenite, Manganese Amino Acid Complex, Copper Amino Acid Complex, Copper Sulfate, Potassium Iodide, Cobalt Proteinate, Cobalt Carbonate), Taurine, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Vitamin A Acetate, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Thiamine Mononitrate, Folic Acid, Niacin, Biotin, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Vitamin D3 Supplement) Mixed Tocopherols for freshness, Citric Acid for freshness, Dried Lactobacillus plantarum Fermentation Product, Dried Lactobacillus casei Fermentation Product, Dried Enterococcus faecium Fermentation Product, Dried Lactobacillus acidophilus Fermentation Product.

Breed sizes

size-1 Toy
size-2 Small
size-3 Medium
size-4 Large
size-5 Giant

Overall Score

Loading
63%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 56%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 70%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 25%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 40%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 85%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 40%
? Based on the variety of sizes available. Size Variety 100%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 34%

Fat: 15%

Fiber: 3.5%

Moisture: 11%

Ash: 0%

Carb: 36.5%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 38.2%

Fat: 16.85%

Fiber: 3.93%

Ash: 8%

Carb: 41.01%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 31.8%

Fat: 34.07%

Carb: 34.13%

Our Review

Pros
  • Supplemented with chelated minerals for optimal nutrient absorption
  • Made with fiber-rich flaxseed
  • Doesn’t contain fillers, by-products, or artificial additives
  • Rich in species-appropriate animal protein
  • A good source of omega-3 fatty acids
Cons
  • Low protein content
  • High in carbohydrates
  • Low in moisture
  • Contains a small amount of plant-based proteins
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years
  • Some dogs may be allergic to fish

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Merrick since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Merrick - Pet treats for dogs (07/02/2010) -+
Date: 07/02/2010
Company Name: Merrick Pet Care
Product Description: Pet treats for dogs
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Merrick - Texas Hold'ems Beef Filet Squares for Dogs (08/03/2010) -+
Date: 08/03/2010
Company Name: Merrick Pet Care
Product Description: Texas Hold'ems Beef Filet Squares for Dogs
Recall Reason: Potentially contaminated with Salmonella
Merrick - Dog treats - Texas Hold'ems, Beef Filet Squares (08/16/2010) -+
Date: 08/16/2010
Company Name: Merrick Pet Care
Product Description: Dog treats - Texas Hold'ems, Beef Filet Squares
Recall Reason: Potentially contaminated with Salmonella
Merrick - JR Texas Taffy Pet Treats (01/28/2011) -+
Date: 01/28/2011
Company Name: Merrick Pet Care
Product Description: JR Texas Taffy Pet Treats
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Merrick - Wishbone pet treat (08/08/2011) -+
Date: 08/08/2011
Company Name: Merrick Pet Care
Product Description: Wishbone pet treat
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Merrick - Beef dog treat varieties (05/23/2018) -+
Date: 05/23/2018
Company Name: Merrick Pet Care
Product Description: Beef dog treat varieties
Recall Reason: Ingredient Level
Castor & Pollux, Merrick - ‎Beef dog treat varieties (03/27/2020) -+
Date: 03/27/2020
Company Name: Merrick Pet Care
Product Description: ‎Beef dog treat varieties
Recall Reason: Ingredient Level

Ingredient Review

Our review of Merrick Real Texas Beef + Sweet Potato Recipe Grain-Free Adult Dry Dog Food begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Deboned Beef. Organic blueberries are grown without chemical fertilizers, herbicides, or pesticides. In pet food, organic blueberries serve as a source of vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants to support your companion’s immune system and overall well-being. Organic blueberries also contain fiber and a small amount of easily digestible carbohydrates.

The second ingredient is Lamb Meal. Lamb meal is the rendered, ground, and dried meat from a young sheep. In pet food, lamb meal can be an important source of protein fat, vitamins, and minerals.

The third ingredient is Salmon Meal. Salmon meal is ground flesh from any fish in the salmon family, and in pet food, salmon meal might also include other parts of the fish including skin and organs. Salmon meal can be a good source of protein and Omega-3 fatty acids.

The fourth ingredient is Sweet Potatoes. Sweet potatoes are added to pet food as an easy-to-digest source of grain-free and gluten-free carbohydrates. They contain high levels of fiber, along with a number of important vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants.

The fifth ingredient is Potatoes. Potatoes are versatile starchy root vegetables that provide carbohydrates, vitamins, minerals, and some fiber. In pet food, potatoes can add texture and flavor while replacing other starches. Many grain-free and gluten-free pet foods contain potatoes.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Merrick Real Texas Beef + Sweet Potato Recipe Grain-Free Adult Dry Dog Food, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per lb

Product Price

$3.9

Market Price avg.

$3.25

% From the Avg

+20%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$0.24

Market Price avg.

$0.21

% From the Avg

+16%

Price per day

Product Price

$0.14

Market Price avg.

$0.12

% From the Avg

+20%

Merrick Real Texas Beef + Sweet Potato Recipe Grain-Free Adult Dry Dog Food is priced above the average market price for dry dog food.

Nutritional Analysis

Your adult dog needs a balance of macro and micronutrients to thrive. A food formulated for adult maintenance or all life stages is made to meet these needs. While there can be a lot of variation in actual calorie density, adult dog foods are generally intended to provide for basic calorie needs of the average active dog. In addition to satisfying their energy needs, these foods provide the protein, fat, carbohydrates, fiber, and other nutrients your adult dog needs to survive. Again, not all adult foods are the same, so you may have to search around for the right fit for your dog.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Merrick Real Texas Beef + Sweet Potato Recipe Grain-Free Adult Dry Dog Food to the other 1525 dry dog food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

38.2%

All Products avg.

30.04%

% From the Avg

+27%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

16.85%

All Products avg.

16.01%

% From the Avg

+5%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

3.93%

All Products avg.

5.36%

% From the Avg

-27%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

41.01%

All Products avg.

47.71%

% From the Avg

-14%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s high in protein with moderate fat and low carbohydrate content relative to other dry dog foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review