This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Merrick Grain Free Wet Dog Food Slow-Cooked BBQ Kansas City Style with Chopped Pork

Merrick Grain Free Wet Dog Food Slow-Cooked BBQ Kansas City Style with Chopped Pork
Company info
Company HQ
Amarillo, Texas us-flag
Parent company
Nestlé Purina PetCare Company
Product info
Age Range: Adult
Food Form Wet Dog Food
Cost per day: $0.76
Primary proteins
  • Deboned Pork
  • Pork Liver
  • Dried Egg Product
  • Whey Protein Concentrate

Ingredients

Deboned Pork, Beef Broth, Vegetable Broth, Pork Liver, Potatoes, Carrots, Dried Egg Product, Potato Starch, Whey Protein Concentrate, Calcium Carbonate, Dried Tomato, Sodium Phosphate, Fruit Juice Color, Natural Smoke Flavor, Sunflower Oil, Salmon Oil, Flaxseed Oil, Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, Salt, Cane Molasses, Apple Cider Vinegar, Guar Gum, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Niacin, d- Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Vitamin A Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Biotin, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Vitamin D3 Supplement), Xanthan Gum, Minerals (Zinc Amino Acid Complex, Sodium Selenite, Manganese Amino Acid Complex, Iron Amino Acid Complex, Copper Amino Acid Complex, Cobalt Glucoheptonate, Potassium Iodide).

Breed sizes

size-1 Toy
size-2 Small
size-3 Medium
size-4 Large
size-5 Giant

Overall Score

Loading
64%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 69%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 64%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 32%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 61%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 77%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 50%
? Based on the variety of sizes available. Size Variety 83%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 8%

Fat: 2%

Fiber: 1%

Moisture: 82%

Ash: 0%

Carb: 7%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 44.44%

Fat: 11.11%

Fiber: 5.56%

Ash: 8%

Carb: 38.89%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 40.29%

Fat: 24.46%

Carb: 35.25%

Our Review

Pros
  • High moisture content
  • Doesn’t contain fillers, by-products, or artificial additives
  • Rich in species-appropriate animal protein
  • A good source of omega-3 fatty acids
Cons
  • High in carbohydrates
  • Contains a small amount of plant-based proteins
  • Contains artificial food dyes
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years
  • Some dogs may be allergic to fish

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Merrick since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Merrick - Pet treats for dogs (07/02/2010) -+
Date:07/02/2010
Company Name:Merrick Pet Care
Product Description:Pet treats for dogs
Recall Reason:Salmonella
Merrick - Texas Hold'ems Beef Filet Squares for Dogs (08/03/2010) -+
Date:08/03/2010
Company Name:Merrick Pet Care
Product Description:Texas Hold'ems Beef Filet Squares for Dogs
Recall Reason:Potentially contaminated with Salmonella
Merrick - Dog treats - Texas Hold'ems, Beef Filet Squares (08/16/2010) -+
Date:08/16/2010
Company Name:Merrick Pet Care
Product Description:Dog treats - Texas Hold'ems, Beef Filet Squares
Recall Reason:Potentially contaminated with Salmonella
Merrick - JR Texas Taffy Pet Treats (01/28/2011) -+
Date:01/28/2011
Company Name:Merrick Pet Care
Product Description:JR Texas Taffy Pet Treats
Recall Reason:Salmonella
Merrick - Wishbone pet treat (08/08/2011) -+
Date:08/08/2011
Company Name:Merrick Pet Care
Product Description:Wishbone pet treat
Recall Reason:Salmonella
Merrick - Beef dog treat varieties (05/23/2018) -+
Date:05/23/2018
Company Name:Merrick Pet Care
Product Description:Beef dog treat varieties
Recall Reason:Ingredient Level

Ingredient Review

Our review of Merrick Grain Free Wet Dog Food Slow-Cooked BBQ Kansas City Style with Chopped Pork begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Deboned Pork. Deboned pork is boneless meat from a domestic pig. In pet food, deboned pork can be an important source of protein and amino acids, along with other essential nutrients such as iron and vitamin B-12.

The second ingredient is Beef Broth. Beef broth is the liquid that remains after beef has been cooked. The beef broth in pet food isn’t a major source of nutrients however it does add flavor and aroma to appeal to your companion.

The third ingredient is Vegetable Broth. Vegetable broth is made by boiling vegetables to obtain nutrients including vitamins, and minerals. In pet food, vegetable broth increases moisture and improves flavor.

The fourth ingredient is Pork Liver. Pork liver is organ meat from swine. The pork liver in pet food is a source of protein, iron, and many other nutrients.

The fifth ingredient is Potatoes. Potatoes are versatile starchy root vegetables that provide carbohydrates, vitamins, minerals, and some fiber. In pet food, potatoes can add texture and flavor while replacing other starches. Many grain-free and gluten-free pet foods contain potatoes.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Merrick Grain Free Wet Dog Food Slow-Cooked BBQ Kansas City Style with Chopped Pork, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per oz

Product Price

$0.29

Market Price avg.

$0.41

% From the Avg

-29%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$1.27

Market Price avg.

$1.52

% From the Avg

-17%

Price per day

Product Price

$0.76

Market Price avg.

$0.91

% From the Avg

-17%

Merrick Grain Free Wet Dog Food Slow-Cooked BBQ Kansas City Style with Chopped Pork is priced below the average market price for wet dog food.

Nutritional Analysis

Your adult dog needs a balance of macro and micronutrients to thrive. A food formulated for adult maintenance or all life stages is made to meet these needs. While there can be a lot of variation in actual calorie density, adult dog foods are generally intended to provide for basic calorie needs of the average active dog. In addition to satisfying their energy needs, these foods provide the protein, fat, carbohydrates, fiber, and other nutrients your adult dog needs to survive. Again, not all adult foods are the same, so you may have to search around for the right fit for your dog.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Merrick Grain Free Wet Dog Food Slow-Cooked BBQ Kansas City Style with Chopped Pork to the other 1439 wet dog food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

44.44%

All Products avg.

43.16%

% From the Avg

+3%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

11.11%

All Products avg.

22.27%

% From the Avg

-50%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

5.56%

All Products avg.

7.47%

% From the Avg

-26%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

38.89%

All Products avg.

25.95%

% From the Avg

+50%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s moderate in protein with low fat and high carbohydrate content relative to other wet dog foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review