This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Merrick Lil’ Plates Grain Free Small Breed Wet Dog Food Itsy Bitsy Beef Stew

Merrick Lil' Plates Grain Free Small Breed Wet Dog Food Itsy Bitsy Beef Stew
Company info
Company HQ
Amarillo, Texas us-flag
Parent company
Nestlé Purina PetCare Company
Product info
Age Range: Adult
Food Form Wet Dog Food
Cost per day: $1.53
Primary proteins
  • Beef
  • Beef Liver
  • Dried Egg Whites

Ingredients

Beef, Beef Broth, Venison Broth, Beef Liver, Dried Egg Whites, Potato Starch, Sweet Potatoes, Carrots, Green Beans, Apples, Peas, Guar Gum, Tricalcium Phosphate, Sunflower Oil, Sodium Phosphate, Salt, Natural Flavor, Calcium Carbonate, Potassium Chloride, Minerals (Zinc Amino Acid Chelate, Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Sodium Selenite, Cobalt Amino Acid Chelate, Potassium Iodide), Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Niacin Supplement, D-Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin A Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid), Choline Chloride, Xanthan Gum.

Breed sizes

size-1 Toy
size-2 Small
size-3 Medium
size-4 Large
size-5 Giant

Overall Score

Loading
66%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 69%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 69%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 32%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 33%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 82%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 50%
? Based on the variety of sizes available. Size Variety 100%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 8%

Fat: 3%

Fiber: 1.4%

Moisture: 82%

Ash: 0%

Carb: 5.6%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 44.44%

Fat: 16.67%

Fiber: 7.78%

Ash: 8%

Carb: 31.11%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 38.3%

Fat: 34.88%

Carb: 26.81%

Our Review

Pros
  • High moisture content
  • Supplemented with chelated minerals for optimal nutrient absorption
  • Doesn’t contain fillers, by-products, or artificial additives
  • Rich in species-appropriate animal protein
Cons
  • High in carbohydrates
  • Contains a small amount of plant-based proteins
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Merrick since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Merrick - Pet treats for dogs (07/02/2010) -+
Date:07/02/2010
Company Name:Merrick Pet Care
Product Description:Pet treats for dogs
Recall Reason:Salmonella
Merrick - Texas Hold'ems Beef Filet Squares for Dogs (08/03/2010) -+
Date:08/03/2010
Company Name:Merrick Pet Care
Product Description:Texas Hold'ems Beef Filet Squares for Dogs
Recall Reason:Potentially contaminated with Salmonella
Merrick - Dog treats - Texas Hold'ems, Beef Filet Squares (08/16/2010) -+
Date:08/16/2010
Company Name:Merrick Pet Care
Product Description:Dog treats - Texas Hold'ems, Beef Filet Squares
Recall Reason:Potentially contaminated with Salmonella
Merrick - JR Texas Taffy Pet Treats (01/28/2011) -+
Date:01/28/2011
Company Name:Merrick Pet Care
Product Description:JR Texas Taffy Pet Treats
Recall Reason:Salmonella
Merrick - Wishbone pet treat (08/08/2011) -+
Date:08/08/2011
Company Name:Merrick Pet Care
Product Description:Wishbone pet treat
Recall Reason:Salmonella
Merrick - Beef dog treat varieties (05/23/2018) -+
Date:05/23/2018
Company Name:Merrick Pet Care
Product Description:Beef dog treat varieties
Recall Reason:Ingredient Level

Ingredient Review

Our review of Merrick Lil' Plates Grain Free Small Breed Wet Dog Food Itsy Bitsy Beef Stew begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Beef. Beef is meat from any cattle breed. In pet food, beef can be fresh, freeze-dried, dehydrated, ground, or finely processed into beef meal.

The second ingredient is Beef Broth. Beef broth is the liquid that remains after beef has been cooked. The beef broth in pet food isn’t a major source of nutrients however it does add flavor and aroma to appeal to your companion.

The third ingredient is Venison Broth. Venison broth is made by boiling meat and bones from an elk, deer, or antelope to obtain protein, iron, vitamin B12, and many other essential nutrients. In pet food, venison broth increases moisture and improves flavor.

The fourth ingredient is Beef Liver. Beef liver is organ meat from any cattle breed. The beef liver in pet food is a source of protein, iron, and many other essential nutrients.

The fifth ingredient is Dried Egg Whites. Dried egg whites are the dehydrated “white” or clear portion of an egg. In pet food, dried egg whites are used as a source of high-quality lean protein.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Merrick Lil' Plates Grain Free Small Breed Wet Dog Food Itsy Bitsy Beef Stew, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per oz

Product Price

$0.65

Market Price avg.

$0.41

% From the Avg

+59%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$2.54

Market Price avg.

$1.52

% From the Avg

+67%

Price per day

Product Price

$1.53

Market Price avg.

$0.91

% From the Avg

+68%

Merrick Lil' Plates Grain Free Small Breed Wet Dog Food Itsy Bitsy Beef Stew is priced above the average market price for wet dog food.

Nutritional Analysis

Because smaller dogs have higher metabolisms compared to their medium, large, and giant cousins, foods made for small breeds may have higher calorie density. Small dog breed foods also often have smaller kibble size for their smaller mouths.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Merrick Lil' Plates Grain Free Small Breed Wet Dog Food Itsy Bitsy Beef Stew to the other 1435 wet dog food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

44.44%

All Products avg.

43.16%

% From the Avg

+3%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

16.67%

All Products avg.

22.28%

% From the Avg

-25%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

7.78%

All Products avg.

7.48%

% From the Avg

+4%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

31.11%

All Products avg.

25.94%

% From the Avg

+20%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s moderate in protein with low fat and high carbohydrate content relative to other wet dog foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review