This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Merrick Lil’ Plates Grain Free Small Breed Wet Dog Food Pint-Sized Puppy Plate

Merrick Lil' Plates Grain Free Small Breed Wet Dog Food Pint-Sized Puppy Plate
Company info
Company HQ
Amarillo, Texas us-flag
Parent company
Nestlé Purina PetCare Company
Product info
Age Range: Puppy
Food Form Wet Puppy Food
Cost per day: $1.44
Primary proteins
  • Deboned Chicken
  • Chicken Liver
  • Deboned Turkey
  • Dried Egg Whites

Ingredients

Deboned Chicken, Chicken Broth, Turkey Broth, Chicken Liver, Deboned Turkey, Dried Egg Whites, Potato Starch, Potatoes, Peas, Apples, Red Peppers, Guar Gum, Sunflower Oil, Salmon Oil (Preserved with Mixed Tocopherols), Tricalcium Phosphate, Sodium Phosphate, Salt, Natural Flavor, Potassium Chloride, Minerals (Zinc Amino Acid Chelate, Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Sodium Selenite, Cobalt Amino Acid Chelate, Potassium Iodide), Ground Flaxseed, Choline Chloride, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Niacin Supplement, D-Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin A Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid), Xanthan Gum, Rosemary Extract.

Breed sizes

size-1 Toy
size-2 Small
size-3 Medium
size-4 Large
size-5 Giant

Overall Score

Loading
65%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 74%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 73%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 32%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 25%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 78%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 50%
? Based on the variety of sizes available. Size Variety 83%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 8.5%

Fat: 3.5%

Fiber: 1.4%

Moisture: 82%

Ash: 0%

Carb: 4.6%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 47.22%

Fat: 19.44%

Fiber: 7.78%

Ash: 8%

Carb: 25.56%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 39.35%

Fat: 39.35%

Carb: 21.3%

Our Review

Pros
  • High in carbohydrates
  • High moisture content
  • Supplemented with chelated minerals for optimal nutrient absorption
  • Contains health promoting ground flaxseed for fiber
  • Doesn’t contain fillers, by-products, or artificial additives
  • Rich in species-appropriate animal protein
  • A good source of omega-3 fatty acids
  • Has all the nutrients your puppy or mother dog needs
Cons
  • Expensive
  • Contains a small amount of plant-based proteins
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years
  • Some dogs may be allergic to fish

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Merrick since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Merrick - Pet treats for dogs (07/02/2010) -+
Date:07/02/2010
Company Name:Merrick Pet Care
Product Description:Pet treats for dogs
Recall Reason:Salmonella
Merrick - Texas Hold'ems Beef Filet Squares for Dogs (08/03/2010) -+
Date:08/03/2010
Company Name:Merrick Pet Care
Product Description:Texas Hold'ems Beef Filet Squares for Dogs
Recall Reason:Potentially contaminated with Salmonella
Merrick - Dog treats - Texas Hold'ems, Beef Filet Squares (08/16/2010) -+
Date:08/16/2010
Company Name:Merrick Pet Care
Product Description:Dog treats - Texas Hold'ems, Beef Filet Squares
Recall Reason:Potentially contaminated with Salmonella
Merrick - JR Texas Taffy Pet Treats (01/28/2011) -+
Date:01/28/2011
Company Name:Merrick Pet Care
Product Description:JR Texas Taffy Pet Treats
Recall Reason:Salmonella
Merrick - Wishbone pet treat (08/08/2011) -+
Date:08/08/2011
Company Name:Merrick Pet Care
Product Description:Wishbone pet treat
Recall Reason:Salmonella
Merrick - Beef dog treat varieties (05/23/2018) -+
Date:05/23/2018
Company Name:Merrick Pet Care
Product Description:Beef dog treat varieties
Recall Reason:Ingredient Level

Ingredient Review

Our review of Merrick Lil' Plates Grain Free Small Breed Wet Dog Food Pint-Sized Puppy Plate begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Deboned Chicken. Deboned chicken is chicken meat with the bones removed. In pet food, deboned chicken is a valuable source of protein.

The second ingredient is Chicken Broth. Chicken broth is made by boiling chicken meat, skin, and bones to obtain nutrients including fat, vitamins, and minerals. In pet food, chicken broth increases moisture and improves flavor.

The third ingredient is Turkey Broth. Turkey broth is the liquid that remains after turkey has been cooked. In pet food, turkey broth adds moisture, flavor, and aroma, along with some nutrients.

The fourth ingredient is Chicken Liver. Chicken liver is one of a few organ meats that come from a chicken. In pet food, chicken liver serves as a source of protein, iron, and amino acids.

The fifth ingredient is Deboned Turkey. Deboned turkey is a general term for turkey meat that has had the bones removed. The deboned turkey in pet food is a valuable protein source as well as a source of other essential nutrients to benefit your companion’s overall wellbeing.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Merrick Lil' Plates Grain Free Small Breed Wet Dog Food Pint-Sized Puppy Plate, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per oz

Product Price

$0.65

Market Price avg.

$0.31

% From the Avg

+110%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$2.41

Market Price avg.

$1.01

% From the Avg

+139%

Price per day

Product Price

$1.44

Market Price avg.

$0.61

% From the Avg

+137%

Merrick Lil' Plates Grain Free Small Breed Wet Dog Food Pint-Sized Puppy Plate is priced well above the average market price for wet puppy food.

Nutritional Analysis

Small puppy breeds don’t experience the rapid bone growth that large breeds do, but they do mature in a shorter time. Like puppy food for dogs of any breed, small puppy breed food typically just supportg the energy needs for growth with a higher caloric density.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Merrick Lil' Plates Grain Free Small Breed Wet Dog Food Pint-Sized Puppy Plate to the other 68 wet puppy food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

47.22%

All Products avg.

42.84%

% From the Avg

+10%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

19.44%

All Products avg.

27.27%

% From the Avg

-29%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

7.78%

All Products avg.

7.01%

% From the Avg

+11%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

25.56%

All Products avg.

22.55%

% From the Avg

+13%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s high in protein with low fat and high carbohydrate content relative to other wet puppy foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review