This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Iams ProActive Health Senior With Slow Cooked Chicken & Rice Canned Dog Food

Iams ProActive Health Senior With Slow Cooked Chicken & Rice Canned Dog Food
Company info
Company HQ
McLean, Virginia us-flag
Parent company
Mars Petcare US
Product info
Age Range: Senior
Food Form Wet Senior Dog Food
Cost per day: $0.62
Primary proteins
  • Meat By-Products
  • Chicken
  • Chicken By-Products

Ingredients

Sufficient Water for Processing, Meat By-Products, Chicken, Chicken By-Products, Brewers Rice, Wheat Flour, Wheat Gluten, Flax Seed, Sodium Tripolyphosphate, Calcium Carbonate, Carob Bean Gum, Minerals (Potassium Chloride, Magnesium Proteinate, Zinc Sulfate, Copper Proteinate, Manganese Sulfate, Copper Sulfate, Potassium Iodide), Carrageenan, Xanthan Gum, Salt, Natural Flavors, Dried Yam, Vitamins (Choline Chloride, Vitamin E Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate {Vitamin B1}, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Vitamin A Supplement, Vitamin D3 Supplement), DL-Methionine, Glycine, Fish Oil, Yellow 6, Yellow 5, Sage, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6).

Breed sizes

size-1 Toy
size-2 Small
size-3 Medium
size-4 Large
size-5 Giant

Compare Prices To Find The Lowest Price

Overall Score

Loading
58%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 68%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 53%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 25%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 65%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 84%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 50%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 7%

Fat: 3%

Fiber: 1%

Moisture: 84%

Ash: 0%

Carb: 5%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 43.75%

Fat: 18.75%

Fiber: 6.25%

Ash: 8%

Carb: 31.25%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 36.3%

Fat: 37.78%

Carb: 25.93%

Our Review

Pros
  • Low carbohydrate content
  • High moisture content
  • Supplemented with chelated minerals for optimal nutrient absorption
  • Rich in species-appropriate animal protein
  • A good source of omega-3 fatty acids
Cons
  • Contains a small amount of plant-based proteins
  • Contains carrageenan – a potentially inflammatory additive
  • Contains vaguely-named Meat products
  • Contains Chicken by products
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years
  • Some dogs may be allergic to fish

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Iams since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Iams - Canned cat food (06/09/2010) -+
Date:06/09/2010
Company Name:The Procter & Gamble Company
Product Description:Canned cat food
Recall Reason:Low thiamine levels
Iams - Cat food (07/25/2010) -+
Date:07/25/2010
Company Name:The Procter & Gamble Company
Product Description:Cat food
Recall Reason:Salmonella
Iams - Dry cat food (08/31/2010) -+
Date:08/31/2010
Company Name:The Procter & Gamble Company
Product Description:Dry cat food
Recall Reason:Salmonella
Iams - Dry dog food (12/06/2011) -+
Date:12/06/2011
Company Name:The Procter & Gamble Company
Product Description:Dry dog food
Recall Reason:Aflatoxin
Iams - Dog treats (03/22/2013) -+
Date:03/22/2013
Company Name:The Procter & Gamble Company
Product Description:Dog treats
Recall Reason:Potential for mold
Iams - Dog and Cat foods - Dry (08/14/2013) -+
Date:08/14/2013
Company Name:The Procter & Gamble Company
Product Description:Dog and Cat foods - Dry
Recall Reason:Potential for salmonella

Ingredient Review

Our review of Iams ProActive Health Senior With Slow Cooked Chicken & Rice Canned Dog Food begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Sufficient Water. In pet food, sufficient water is a term that is used to describe the amount of water needed for processing.

The second ingredient is Meat By-Products. The meat by-products in pet food may be organs such as liver, kidneys, lungs, heart, and more, as well as meat left over from butchering. While meat by-products include offal that isn’t meant for human consumption, it may not contain hooves, horns, teeth, or animal hides.

The third ingredient is Chicken. Chicken is meat from the domesticated bird of the same name. In pet food, chicken is used as a primary protein source.

The fourth ingredient is Chicken By-Products. The chicken by-products in pet food are defined as dry, ground, parts of the chicken carcass that have been rendered clean. Most pet food companies use chicken by-products such as liver, kidney, heart, and gizzard, which are sources of protein and other nutrients. Some do include chicken by-products like feathers, bones, and beaks, all ground up and unidentifiable.

The fifth ingredient is Brewers Rice. Brewers rice is a byproduct of the beer industry. The brewers rice in pet food has been dried and ground for use as a carbohydrate source, often in gluten-free recipes.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Iams ProActive Health Senior With Slow Cooked Chicken & Rice Canned Dog Food, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per oz

Product Price

$0.21

Market Price avg.

$0.32

% From the Avg

-34%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$1.03

Market Price avg.

$1.25

% From the Avg

-18%

Price per day

Product Price

$0.62

Market Price avg.

$0.75

% From the Avg

-18%

Iams ProActive Health Senior With Slow Cooked Chicken & Rice Canned Dog Food is priced below the average market price for wet senior dog food.

Nutritional Analysis

As opposed to formulas intended for growth (puppy) and maintenance (adult), there are no special label requirements or legal definitions for “senior” diets. Senior diets are actually only required to meet the same nutritional needs as for adult diets. This means that there can be a lot of variation and interpretation by different food companies on what makes up a senior diet. Senior diets can have varying amounts of protein, fat, carbs, phosphorus, sodium, and fiber.

The assumptions that all senior pets need low protein, low fat and carbs, low phosphorus and sodium, and high fiber across the board are incorrect. The need for higher or lower levels of these nutrients varies greatly from dog to dog. That’s why it’s very important for senior pets for their pet parents to work with their veterinarian to decide what type of diet is most appropriate. For many young senior pets, the adult diets they’ve been on may be just fine to continue.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Iams ProActive Health Senior With Slow Cooked Chicken & Rice Canned Dog Food to the other 37 wet senior dog food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

43.75%

All Products avg.

34.07%

% From the Avg

+28%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

18.75%

All Products avg.

19.57%

% From the Avg

-4%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

6.25%

All Products avg.

9.47%

% From the Avg

-34%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

31.25%

All Products avg.

36.52%

% From the Avg

-14%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s high in protein with moderate fat and low carbohydrate content relative to other wet senior dog foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review