This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Iams Adult MiniChunks Small Kibble High Protein Dry Dog Food

Iams Adult MiniChunks Small Kibble High Protein Dry Dog Food
Company info
Company HQ
McLean, Virginia us-flag
Parent company
Mars Petcare US
Product info
Age Range: Adult
Food Form Dry Dog Food
Cost per day: $0.07
Primary proteins
  • Chicken
  • Chicken By-Product Meal
  • Dried Egg Product

Ingredients

Chicken, Ground Whole Grain Corn, Ground Whole Grain Sorghum, Chicken By-Product Meal, Dried Plain Beet Pulp, Natural Flavor, Flaxseed, Dried Egg Product, Chicken Fat (Preserved with Mixed Tocopherols), Caramel Color, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Ascorbic Acid, Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Thiamine Mononitrate (source of Vitamin B1), Vitamin B12 Supplement, Vitamin A Supplement, Niacin, Riboflavin Supplement (source of Vitamin B2), Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (source of Vitamin B6), Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid), Minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Sodium Selenite, Manganese Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Potassium Iodide), Potassium Chloride, Carrot, Choline Chloride, Fructooligosaccharides, Calcium Carbonate, Mixed Tocopherols (Preservative), Rosemary Extract.

Breed sizes

size-1 Toy
size-2 Small
size-3 Medium
size-4 Large
size-5 Giant

Overall Score

Loading
60%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 36%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 63%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 25%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 87%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 92%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 40%
? Based on the variety of sizes available. Size Variety 100%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 25%

Fat: 14%

Fiber: 4%

Moisture: 10%

Ash: 0%

Carb: 47%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 27.78%

Fat: 15.56%

Fiber: 4.44%

Ash: 8%

Carb: 52.22%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 23.58%

Fat: 32.08%

Carb: 44.34%

Our Review

Pros
  • Made with fiber-rich flaxseed
  • Affordable
  • Most customers have good experiences with this food
Cons
  • Low protein content
  • High in carbohydrates
  • Low in moisture
  • Contains plant-based proteins
  • Contains artificial food dyes
  • Contains Chicken by products
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Iams since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Iams - Canned cat food (06/09/2010) -+
Date:06/09/2010
Company Name:The Procter & Gamble Company
Product Description:Canned cat food
Recall Reason:Low thiamine levels
Iams - Cat food (07/25/2010) -+
Date:07/25/2010
Company Name:The Procter & Gamble Company
Product Description:Cat food
Recall Reason:Salmonella
Iams - Dry cat food (08/31/2010) -+
Date:08/31/2010
Company Name:The Procter & Gamble Company
Product Description:Dry cat food
Recall Reason:Salmonella
Iams - Dry dog food (12/06/2011) -+
Date:12/06/2011
Company Name:The Procter & Gamble Company
Product Description:Dry dog food
Recall Reason:Aflatoxin
Iams - Dog treats (03/22/2013) -+
Date:03/22/2013
Company Name:The Procter & Gamble Company
Product Description:Dog treats
Recall Reason:Potential for mold
Iams - Dog and Cat foods - Dry (08/14/2013) -+
Date:08/14/2013
Company Name:The Procter & Gamble Company
Product Description:Dog and Cat foods - Dry
Recall Reason:Potential for salmonella

Ingredient Review

Our review of Iams Adult MiniChunks Small Kibble High Protein Dry Dog Food begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Chicken. Chicken is meat from the domesticated bird of the same name. In pet food, chicken is used as a primary protein source.

The second ingredient is Ground Whole Grain Corn. Ground whole grain corn is made with cooked and/or dried kernels from any corn species. In pet food, ground whole grain corn can be a filler as well as source of inexpensive protein, carbohydrates, and fiber.

The third ingredient is Ground Whole Grain Sorghum. Ground whole grain sorghum is made with gluten-free grain from the sorghum plant. It has been processed into smaller particles for better absorption and a smoother texture. In pet food, ground whole grain sorghum can serve as a source of dietary fiber, antioxidants, iron, zinc, and vitamins B1 and B2.

The fourth ingredient is Chicken By-Product Meal. In pet food, chicken by-product meal is often listed as a source of protein. Chicken by-product meal is produced by baking and grinding chicken parts that might not be used for human consumption including necks, feet, entrails, and undeveloped eggs.

The fifth ingredient is Dried Plain Beet Pulp. Dried plain beet pulp is a byproduct of the beet sugar manufacturing process. The dried plain beet pulp in pet food is used as a supplemental source of soluble and insoluble fiber to support healthy digestion.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Iams Adult MiniChunks Small Kibble High Protein Dry Dog Food, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per lb

Product Price

$1.85

Market Price avg.

$3.69

% From the Avg

-50%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$0.11

Market Price avg.

$0.34

% From the Avg

-67%

Price per day

Product Price

$0.07

Market Price avg.

$0.20

% From the Avg

-67%

Iams Adult MiniChunks Small Kibble High Protein Dry Dog Food is priced well below the average market price for dry dog food.

Nutritional Analysis

Because smaller dogs have higher metabolisms compared to their medium, large, and giant cousins, foods made for small breeds may have higher calorie density. Small dog breed foods also often have smaller kibble size for their smaller mouths.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Iams Adult MiniChunks Small Kibble High Protein Dry Dog Food to the other 1813 dry dog food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

27.78%

All Products avg.

30.12%

% From the Avg

-8%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

15.56%

All Products avg.

15.9%

% From the Avg

-2%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

4.44%

All Products avg.

5.45%

% From the Avg

-19%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

52.22%

All Products avg.

47.65%

% From the Avg

+10%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s moderate in protein with moderate fat and moderate carbohydrate content relative to other dry dog foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review