This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Hill’s Science Diet Adult Sensitive Stomach & Skin Grain-Free Salmon & Yellow Pea Recipe Dry Cat Food

Hill's Science Diet Adult Sensitive Stomach & Skin Grain-Free Salmon & Yellow Pea Recipe Dry Cat Food
Company info
Company HQ
Topeka, Kansas
Parent company
Hill’s Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product info
Age Range: Adult
Food Form Dry Cat Food
Cost per day: $0.15
Primary proteins
  • Salmon
  • Chicken
  • Potato Protein
  • Chicken Meal

Ingredients

Salmon, Yellow Peas, Potato Starch, Chicken, Chicken Fat, Potato Protein, Chicken Meal, Potatoes, Pea Protein, Chicken Liver Flavor, Dried Beet Pulp, Lactic Acid, Soybean Oil, Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, DL-Methionine, L-Lysine, Fructooligosaccharides (FOS), Iodized Salt, Calcium Sulfate, Taurine, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Mixed Tocopherols for freshness, Green Peas, Natural Flavors, Apples, Cranberries, Carrots, Broccoli, Beta-Carotene.

Overall Score

Loading
60%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 44%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 70%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 26%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 49%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 83%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 40%
? Based on the variety of sizes available. Size Variety 100%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 29%

Fat: 16%

Fiber: 3%

Moisture: 10%

Ash: 0%

Carb: 42%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 32.22%

Fat: 17.78%

Fiber: 3.33%

Ash: 8%

Carb: 46.67%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 26.4%

Fat: 35.37%

Carb: 38.23%

Our Review

Pros
  • None
Cons
  • Low protein content
  • High in carbohydrates
  • Low in moisture
  • Contains plant-based proteins
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years
  • Some cats may be allergic to fish

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all cat food recalls related to Hill's Science Diet since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Hill's Science Diet - Dry dog food (06/02/2014) -+
Date: 06/02/2014
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Dry dog food
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Hill's Science Diet - Canned dog Food (11/28/2015) -+
Date: 11/28/2015
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Canned dog Food
Recall Reason: Labeling problems
Hill's Science Diet - Canned Dog Food (01/31/2019) -+
Date: 01/31/2019
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Canned Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potentially Elevated Levels of Vitamin D
Hill's Prescription Diet - Canned Dog Food (01/31/2019) -+
Date: 01/31/2019
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Canned Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potentially Elevated Levels of Vitamin D
Hill's Science Diet - Canned Dog Food (05/21/2019) -+
Date: 05/21/2019
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Canned Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potentially Elevated Levels of Vitamin D
Hill's Prescription Diet - Canned Dog Food (05/21/2019) -+
Date: 05/21/2019
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Canned Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potentially Elevated Levels of Vitamin D

Ingredient Review

Our review of Hill's Science Diet Adult Sensitive Stomach & Skin Grain-Free Salmon & Yellow Pea Recipe Dry Cat Food begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Salmon. Salmon is meat from any fish in the salmon family, and in pet food, salmon might also refer to other parts of the fish including skin and organs. Salmon is an excellent source of protein, and it is a good source of Omega-3 fatty acids.

The second ingredient is Yellow Peas. Yellow peas are a grain-free, gluten-free source of protein, fiber, and carbohydrates. In pet food, yellow peas serve as an energy source as well as a supplementary source of vitamins and minerals.

The third ingredient is Potato Starch. Potato starch is a grain-free, gluten-free carbohydrate. The potato starch in pet foods also contributes to texture.

The fourth ingredient is Chicken. Chicken is meat from the domesticated bird of the same name. In pet food, chicken is used as a primary protein source.

The fifth ingredient is Chicken Fat. Chicken fat is a good source of omega-6 fatty acids including linoleic acid. In pet food, chicken fat also adds flavor, improves consistency, and serves as a source of the animal fat pets need for overall wellbeing.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Hill's Science Diet Adult Sensitive Stomach & Skin Grain-Free Salmon & Yellow Pea Recipe Dry Cat Food, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per lb

Product Price

$3.92

Market Price avg.

$4.07

% From the Avg

-4%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$0.26

Market Price avg.

$0.25

% From the Avg

+1%

Price per day

Product Price

$0.15

Market Price avg.

$0.15

% From the Avg

+2%

Hill's Science Diet Adult Sensitive Stomach & Skin Grain-Free Salmon & Yellow Pea Recipe Dry Cat Food is priced within the average market price for dry cat food.

Nutritional Analysis

Adult cat foods can have a lot of variability in calorie density but generally meet requirements for the average active cat. With formulations addressing a wide variety of needs, including weight loss or gain, indoor or outdoor living, or hairball problems, individual recipes may vary greatly in calorie, fiber, and nutritional content.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Hill's Science Diet Adult Sensitive Stomach & Skin Grain-Free Salmon & Yellow Pea Recipe Dry Cat Food to the other 534 dry cat food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

32.22%

All Products avg.

38.91%

% From the Avg

-17%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

17.78%

All Products avg.

16.8%

% From the Avg

+6%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

3.33%

All Products avg.

5.11%

% From the Avg

-35%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

46.67%

All Products avg.

37.83%

% From the Avg

+23%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s low in protein with moderate fat and high carbohydrate content relative to other dry cat foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review