This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Hill’s Science Diet Adult Light Liver & Chicken Entree Canned Cat Food

Hill's Science Diet Adult Light Liver & Chicken Entree Canned Cat Food
Company info
Company HQ
Topeka, Kansas
Parent company
Hill’s Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product info
Age Range: Adult
Food Form Wet Cat Food
Cost per day: $1.02
Primary proteins
  • Pork Liver
  • Pork By-Products
  • Chicken
  • Corn Gluten Meal

Ingredients

Water, Pork Liver, Pork By-Products, Chicken, Rice, Wheat Flour, Powdered Cellulose, Corn Starch, Corn Gluten Meal, Chicken Liver Flavor, Dicalcium Phosphate, Flaxseed, Fish Oil, Locust Bean Gum, Guar Gum, Calcium Carbonate, Potassium Chloride, Brewers Dried Yeast, Natural Flavor, Choline Chloride, Iodized Salt, Caramel color, Carrageenan, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Ascorbic Acid (source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid), Taurine, DL-Methionine, Calcium Sulfate, L-Lysine, minerals (Zinc Oxide, Ferrous Sulfate, Manganese Sulfate, Copper Sulfate, Calcium Iodate), Beta-Carotene.

Overall Score

Loading
53%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 25%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 55%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 26%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 61%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 76%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 50%
? Based on the variety of sizes available. Size Variety 100%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 7.5%

Fat: 2.3%

Fiber: 5%

Moisture: 50.6%

Ash: 0%

Carb: 34.6%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 15.18%

Fat: 4.66%

Fiber: 10.12%

Ash: 8%

Carb: 70.04%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 15.73%

Fat: 11.71%

Carb: 72.56%

Our Review

Pros
  • Made with fiber-rich flaxseed
  • Rich in species-appropriate animal protein
  • A good source of omega-3 fatty acids
Cons
  • Low protein content
  • High in carbohydrates
  • Contains a small amount of plant-based proteins
  • Contains artificial food dyes
  • Contains carrageenan – a potentially inflammatory additive
  • For supplemental feeding only: this food is not nutritionally complete and balanced according to AAFCO guidelines
  • Contains Pork by products
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years
  • Some cats may be allergic to fish

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all cat food recalls related to Hill's Science Diet since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Hill's Science Diet - Dry dog food (06/02/2014) -+
Date: 06/02/2014
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Dry dog food
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Hill's Science Diet - Canned dog Food (11/28/2015) -+
Date: 11/28/2015
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Canned dog Food
Recall Reason: Labeling problems
Hill's Science Diet - Canned Dog Food (01/31/2019) -+
Date: 01/31/2019
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Canned Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potentially Elevated Levels of Vitamin D
Hill's Prescription Diet - Canned Dog Food (01/31/2019) -+
Date: 01/31/2019
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Canned Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potentially Elevated Levels of Vitamin D
Hill's Science Diet - Canned Dog Food (05/21/2019) -+
Date: 05/21/2019
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Canned Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potentially Elevated Levels of Vitamin D
Hill's Prescription Diet - Canned Dog Food (05/21/2019) -+
Date: 05/21/2019
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Canned Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potentially Elevated Levels of Vitamin D

Ingredient Review

Our review of Hill's Science Diet Adult Light Liver & Chicken Entree Canned Cat Food begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Water. Water is added to pet food as a blending agent, or as a thinning agent. It is typically found in wet or moist foods rather than in dry kibble.

The second ingredient is Pork Liver. Pork liver is organ meat from swine. The pork liver in pet food is a source of protein, iron, and many other nutrients.

The third ingredient is Pork By-Products. Pork by-products are the remnants of a swine that has been processed. The term usually refers to parts that aren’t used for human consumption, i.e. kidneys, livers, lungs, intestines, and other tissues. In pet food, pork by-products can be a source of protein and other nutrients.

The fourth ingredient is Chicken. Chicken is meat from the domesticated bird of the same name. In pet food, chicken is used as a primary protein source.

The fifth ingredient is Rice. Rice is a gluten-free cereal grain. In pet food, rice is a source of easily digestible carbohydrates.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Hill's Science Diet Adult Light Liver & Chicken Entree Canned Cat Food, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per oz

Product Price

$0.45

Market Price avg.

$0.49

% From the Avg

-8%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$1.70

Market Price avg.

$2.02

% From the Avg

-16%

Price per day

Product Price

$1.02

Market Price avg.

$1.21

% From the Avg

-16%

Hill's Science Diet Adult Light Liver & Chicken Entree Canned Cat Food is priced below the average market price for wet cat food.

Nutritional Analysis

Adult cat foods can have a lot of variability in calorie density but generally meet requirements for the average active cat. With formulations addressing a wide variety of needs, including weight loss or gain, indoor or outdoor living, or hairball problems, individual recipes may vary greatly in calorie, fiber, and nutritional content.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Hill's Science Diet Adult Light Liver & Chicken Entree Canned Cat Food to the other 1538 wet cat food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

15.18%

All Products avg.

52.98%

% From the Avg

-71%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

4.66%

All Products avg.

17.72%

% From the Avg

-74%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

10.12%

All Products avg.

6.38%

% From the Avg

+59%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

70.04%

All Products avg.

13.98%

% From the Avg

+401%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s low in protein with low fat and high carbohydrate content relative to other wet cat foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review