This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Hill’s Science Diet Adult 7+ Tender Chicken Dinner Canned Cat Food

Hill's Science Diet Adult 7+ Tender Chicken Dinner Canned Cat Food
Company info
Company HQ
Topeka, Kansas
Parent company
Hill’s Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product info
Age Range: Senior
Food Form Wet Senior Cat Food
Cost per day: $0.76
Primary proteins
  • Chicken
  • Pork Liver
  • Egg Whites

Ingredients

Water, Chicken, Pork Liver, Wheat Flour, Wheat Gluten, Dextrose, Modified Rice Starch, Oat Fiber, Egg Whites, Chicken Liver Flavor, Soybean Oil, Potassium Chloride, Calcium Carbonate, Dicalcium Phosphate, Guar Gum, Choline Chloride, Fish Oil, Salt, L-Lysine, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), Ascorbic Acid (source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid), Taurine, Iodized Salt, minerals (Calcium Chloride, Zinc Oxide, Ferrous Sulfate, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate), L-Carnitine, Caramel color, Beta-Carotene.

Overall Score

Loading
60%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 61%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 67%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 26%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 71%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 79%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 50%
? Based on the variety of sizes available. Size Variety 64%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 7.3%

Fat: 2.3%

Fiber: 1.5%

Moisture: 82%

Ash: 0%

Carb: 6.9%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 40.56%

Fat: 12.78%

Fiber: 8.33%

Ash: 8%

Carb: 38.33%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 36.9%

Fat: 28.23%

Carb: 34.87%

Our Review

Pros
  • High moisture content
  • Affordable
  • A good source of omega-3 fatty acids
Cons
  • Contains plant-based proteins
  • Contains artificial food dyes
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years
  • Some cats may be allergic to fish

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all cat food recalls related to Hill's Science Diet since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Hill's Science Diet - Dry dog food (06/02/2014) -+
Date: 06/02/2014
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Dry dog food
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Hill's Science Diet - Canned dog Food (11/28/2015) -+
Date: 11/28/2015
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Canned dog Food
Recall Reason: Labeling problems
Hill's Science Diet - Canned Dog Food (01/31/2019) -+
Date: 01/31/2019
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Canned Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potentially Elevated Levels of Vitamin D
Hill's Prescription Diet - Canned Dog Food (01/31/2019) -+
Date: 01/31/2019
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Canned Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potentially Elevated Levels of Vitamin D
Hill's Science Diet - Canned Dog Food (05/21/2019) -+
Date: 05/21/2019
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Canned Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potentially Elevated Levels of Vitamin D
Hill's Prescription Diet - Canned Dog Food (05/21/2019) -+
Date: 05/21/2019
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Canned Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potentially Elevated Levels of Vitamin D

Ingredient Review

Our review of Hill's Science Diet Adult 7+ Tender Chicken Dinner Canned Cat Food begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Water. Water is added to pet food as a blending agent, or as a thinning agent. It is typically found in wet or moist foods rather than in dry kibble.

The second ingredient is Chicken. Chicken is meat from the domesticated bird of the same name. In pet food, chicken is used as a primary protein source.

The third ingredient is Pork Liver. Pork liver is organ meat from swine. The pork liver in pet food is a source of protein, iron, and many other nutrients.

The fourth ingredient is Wheat Flour. Wheat flour is finely ground wheat, sometimes enriched with vitamins. In pet food, wheat flour serves as a binding and bulking agent. It is also a source of fiber and carbohydrates.

The fifth ingredient is Wheat Gluten. Wheat gluten is a good source of digestible protein. In pet food, wheat gluten is used as a binding agent and texturizer as well as a protein source.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Hill's Science Diet Adult 7+ Tender Chicken Dinner Canned Cat Food, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per oz

Product Price

$0.38

Market Price avg.

$0.43

% From the Avg

-12%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$1.26

Market Price avg.

$1.60

% From the Avg

-21%

Price per day

Product Price

$0.76

Market Price avg.

$0.96

% From the Avg

-21%

Hill's Science Diet Adult 7+ Tender Chicken Dinner Canned Cat Food is priced below the average market price for wet senior cat food.

Nutritional Analysis

As opposed to formulas intended for growth (kitten) and maintenance (adult), there are no special label requirements or legal definitions for “senior” diets. Senior diets are actually only required to meet the same nutritional needs as for adult diets. This means that there can be a lot of variation and interpretation by different food companies on what makes up a senior diet. Senior diets can have varying amounts of protein, fat, carbs, phosphorus, sodium, and fiber.

The assumptions that all senior pets need low protein, low fat and carbs, low phosphorus and sodium, and high fiber across the board are incorrect. The need for higher or lower levels of these nutrients varies greatly from cat to cat. That’s why it’s very important for senior pets for their pet parents to work with their veterinarian to decide what type of diet is most appropriate. For many young senior pets, the adult diets they’ve been on may be just fine to continue.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Hill's Science Diet Adult 7+ Tender Chicken Dinner Canned Cat Food to the other 43 wet senior cat food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

40.56%

All Products avg.

44.48%

% From the Avg

-9%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

12.78%

All Products avg.

19.4%

% From the Avg

-34%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

8.33%

All Products avg.

9.32%

% From the Avg

-11%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

38.33%

All Products avg.

20.26%

% From the Avg

+89%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s moderate in protein with low fat and high carbohydrate content relative to other wet senior cat foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review