This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Solid Gold Dog Food Review

Company HQ

LocationChesterfield, Missouri us-flag

Parent company

Solid Gold Health Products for Pets, Inc.

Sourcing and Manufacturing

LocationUnited States us-flag, Thailand th-flag

Type of food

Dry Dog Food, Wet Dog Food, Dry Senior Dog Food, Dry Puppy Food, Wet Puppy Food

Ratings

63%
? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 46%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 68%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 71%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 67%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 81%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 43%
Pros
  • High protein content
  • Foods are nutritionally complete and balanced according to AAFCO standards
  • Solid Gold makes a diverse range of foods for various ages, sizes, and lifestyles
  • All recipes are free of artificial colors, flavors, and preservatives
Cons
  • Some recipes contain plant-based protein
  • The brand has been previously recalled
  • Price is above market average

Brand Overview

Solid Gold was founded in 1974. The company offers a complete line of holistic foods for dogs and cats. Solid Gold pet food comes in a variety of flavors, in both wet and dry formulas. The company also offers nutritional supplements for dogs and cats.

How Much Does Solid Gold Dog Food Cost

We’ve compared Solid Gold dog food price to the other 197 dog food brands in our database.

Solid Gold Dry Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per lb$3.91$3.69+6%
Price per 100 kcal$0.25$0.38-36%
Price per day$0.15$0.23-35%

Solid Gold Dry Dog Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Solid Gold Wet Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per oz$0.35$0.41-15%
Price per 100 kcal$1.17$1.55-25%
Price per day$0.70$0.93-25%

Solid Gold Wet Dog Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Solid Gold Dry Senior Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per lb$3.87$3.81+2%
Price per 100 kcal$0.26$0.32-18%
Price per day$0.16$0.19-16%

Solid Gold Dry Senior Dog Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Solid Gold Dry Puppy Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per lb$3.89$3.85+1%
Price per 100 kcal$0.23$0.23+1%
Price per day$0.14$0.140%

Solid Gold Dry Puppy Food is priced within the average market price for dog food.

Solid Gold Wet Puppy Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per oz$0.30$0.31-3%
Price per 100 kcal$1.20$1.00+20%
Price per day$0.72$0.60+20%

Solid Gold Wet Puppy Food is priced above the average market price for dog food.

Solid Gold Nutrient Profile Comparison

We’ve compared Solid Gold dog food recipes nutrient profile to the other 197 dog food brands in our database.

Dry Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 29.41% 30.01% -2%
DM Fat 13.84% 15.84% -13%
DM Fiber 5.23% 5.49% -5%
DM Carb 51.52% 47.75% +8%

Wet Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 39.06% 42.89% -9%
DM Fat 24.69% 22.28% +11%
DM Fiber 6.21% 7.40% -16%
DM Carb 30.05% 26.34% +14%

Dry Senior Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 64.29% 28.44% +126%
DM Fat 21.43% 13.38% +60%
DM Fiber 14.29% 5.48% +161%
DM Carb 0.00% 51.94% -100%

Dry Puppy Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 31.11% 32.35% -4%
DM Fat 17.04% 17.94% -5%
DM Fiber 4.81% 4.66% +3%
DM Carb 47.04% 44.25% +6%

Wet Puppy Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 50.00% 42.84% +17%
DM Fat 18.06% 27.27% -34%
DM Fiber 5.56% 7.01% -21%
DM Carb 26.39% 22.55% +17%

All of Solid Gold dog food recipes meets AAFCO's minimum requirements.

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Solid Gold Dog Food Review since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Solid Gold - Dog Food (05/08/2012) -+
Date:05/08/2012
Company Name:Solid Gold Health Products for Pets, Inc.
Product Description:Dog Food
Recall Reason:Potential for salmonella

Explore All Reviews of Solid Gold Dog Food Recipes

Overall Score
69%
Solid Gold Love At First Bark Beef Solid Gold Love At First Bark Beef
Cost per day $0.74
Overall Score
65%
Solid Gold Hund-n-Flocken Lamb Solid Gold Hund-n-Flocken Lamb
Cost per day $0.41
Overall Score
65%
Solid Gold Mighty Mini Lamb Solid Gold Mighty Mini Lamb
Cost per day $1.32
Overall Score
64%
Solid Gold Mighty Mini Chicken Solid Gold Mighty Mini Chicken
Cost per day $0.98
Overall Score
63%
Solid Gold Hund-n-Flocken Lamb Solid Gold Hund-n-Flocken Lamb
Cost per day $0.12
Overall Score
62%
Solid Gold Fit & Fabulous Chicken Solid Gold Fit & Fabulous Chicken
Cost per day $0.67
Overall Score
61%
Solid Gold Sunday Sunrise Lamb Solid Gold Sunday Sunrise Lamb
Cost per day $0.49

FAQ

faq-item-image Who owns Solid Gold dog food?

Solid Gold is owned by Solid Gold Health Products for Pets, Inc..

faq-item-image Where is Solid Gold dog food made?

Solid Gold is manufactured in the United States us-flag, Thailand th-flag.

faq-item-image Is Solid Gold AAFCO approved?

Yes, all of Solid Gold recipes are AAFCO approved.

faq-item-image Has Solid Gold dog food been recalled?

Solid Gold has been recalled 1 times in the years 2012.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review