This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Hill’s Science Diet Small Paws Puppy Chicken & Barley Entree Canned Dog Food

Hill's Science Diet Small Paws Puppy Chicken & Barley Entree Canned Dog Food
Company info
Company HQ
Topeka, Kansas
Parent company
Hill’s Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product info
Age Range: Puppy
Food Form Wet Puppy Food
Cost per day: $0.62
Primary proteins
  • Chicken
  • Soybean Meal
  • Pork Liver

Ingredients

Water, Chicken, Whole Grain Corn, Cracked Pearled Barley, Soybean Meal, Pork Liver, Dicalcium Phosphate, Fish Oil, Iodized Salt, Potassium Chloride, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Ascorbic Acid (source of Vitamin C), Thiamine Mononitrate, Niacin Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Biotin, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid), Choline Chloride, minerals (Zinc Oxide, Ferrous Sulfate, Manganese Sulfate, Copper Sulfate, Calcium Iodate), Taurine, Beta-Carotene.

Breed sizes

size-1 Toy
size-2 Small
size-3 Medium
size-4 Large
size-5 Giant

Compare Prices To Find The Lowest Price

Overall Score

Loading
56%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 47%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 71%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 26%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 48%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 81%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 50%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 7.4%

Fat: 4%

Fiber: 1.5%

Moisture: 78%

Ash: 0%

Carb: 9.1%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 33.64%

Fat: 18.18%

Fiber: 6.82%

Ash: 8%

Carb: 41.36%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 28.23%

Fat: 37.06%

Carb: 34.71%

Our Review

Pros
  • High moisture content
  • A good source of omega-3 fatty acids
  • Free of plant-based thickeners
  • Has all the nutrients your puppy or mother dog needs
Cons
  • Contains plant-based proteins
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years
  • Some dogs may be allergic to fish

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Hill's Science Diet since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Hill's Science Diet - Dry dog food (06/02/2014) -+
Date: 06/02/2014
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Dry dog food
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Hill's Science Diet - Canned dog Food (11/28/2015) -+
Date: 11/28/2015
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Canned dog Food
Recall Reason: Labeling problems
Hill's Science Diet - Canned Dog Food (01/31/2019) -+
Date: 01/31/2019
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Canned Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potentially Elevated Levels of Vitamin D
Hill's Prescription Diet - Canned Dog Food (01/31/2019) -+
Date: 01/31/2019
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Canned Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potentially Elevated Levels of Vitamin D
Hill's Science Diet - Canned Dog Food (05/21/2019) -+
Date: 05/21/2019
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Canned Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potentially Elevated Levels of Vitamin D
Hill's Prescription Diet - Canned Dog Food (05/21/2019) -+
Date: 05/21/2019
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Canned Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potentially Elevated Levels of Vitamin D

Ingredient Review

Our review of Hill's Science Diet Small Paws Puppy Chicken & Barley Entree Canned Dog Food begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Water. Water is added to pet food as a blending agent, or as a thinning agent. It is typically found in wet or moist foods rather than in dry kibble.

The second ingredient is Chicken. Chicken is meat from the domesticated bird of the same name. In pet food, chicken is used as a primary protein source.

The third ingredient is Whole Grain Corn. Whole grain corn is the entire corn seed, usually ground for easier consumption. In pet food, whole grain corn acts as a source of inexpensive protein, fiber, and some nutrients.

The fourth ingredient is Cracked Pearled Barley. Cracked pearled barley is the cereal grain barley, with its outer hull removed and the inner portion cracked open. In pet food, cracked pearled barley serves as a source of carbohydrates. It is lower in nutrients than whole barley or barley groats.

The fifth ingredient is Soybean Meal. Soybean meal is the pulverized, ground remnants of soybeans after soy oil has been extracted. In pet food, soybean meal serves as an inexpensive source of plant-based protein, along with some carbohydrates.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Hill's Science Diet Small Paws Puppy Chicken & Barley Entree Canned Dog Food, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per oz

Product Price

$0.38

Market Price avg.

$0.31

% From the Avg

+23%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$1.03

Market Price avg.

$0.98

% From the Avg

+5%

Price per day

Product Price

$0.62

Market Price avg.

$0.59

% From the Avg

+4%

Hill's Science Diet Small Paws Puppy Chicken & Barley Entree Canned Dog Food is priced within the average market price for wet puppy food.

Nutritional Analysis

Small puppy breeds don’t experience the rapid bone growth that large breeds do, but they do mature in a shorter time. Like puppy food for dogs of any breed, small puppy breed food typically just supportg the energy needs for growth with a higher caloric density.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Hill's Science Diet Small Paws Puppy Chicken & Barley Entree Canned Dog Food to the other 68 wet puppy food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

33.64%

All Products avg.

42.84%

% From the Avg

-21%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

18.18%

All Products avg.

27.27%

% From the Avg

-33%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

6.82%

All Products avg.

7.01%

% From the Avg

-3%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

41.36%

All Products avg.

22.55%

% From the Avg

+83%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s low in protein with low fat and high carbohydrate content relative to other wet puppy foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review