This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Hill’s Science Diet Adult 6+ Large Breed Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe Dry Dog Food

Hill's Science Diet Adult 6+ Large Breed Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe Dry Dog Food
Company info
Company HQ
Topeka, Kansas
Parent company
Hill’s Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product info
Age Range: Senior
Food Form Dry Senior Dog Food
Cost per day: $0.14
Primary proteins
  • Chicken
  • Chicken Meal

Ingredients

Chicken, Brown Rice, Whole Grain Oats, Brewers Rice, Chicken Meal, Chicken Fat, Yellow Peas, Cracked Pearled Barley, Dried Beet Pulp, Chicken Liver Flavor, Flaxseed, Lactic Acid, Potassium Chloride, Iodized Salt, Choline Chloride, Calcium Carbonate, DL-Methionine, Green Peas, Apples, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement), Cranberries, Carrots, minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine, Broccoli, Mixed Tocopherols for freshness, Natural Flavors, Beta-Carotene.

Breed sizes

size-1 Toy
size-2 Small
size-3 Medium
size-4 Large
size-5 Giant

Overall Score

Loading
51%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 25%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 65%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 26%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 65%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 63%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 40%
? Based on the variety of sizes available. Size Variety 83%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 17%

Fat: 10%

Fiber: 4%

Moisture: 10%

Ash: 0%

Carb: 59%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 18.89%

Fat: 11.11%

Fiber: 4.44%

Ash: 8%

Carb: 65.56%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 16.95%

Fat: 24.22%

Carb: 58.83%

Our Review

Pros
  • Made with fiber-rich flaxseed
  • Doesn’t contain fillers, by-products, or artificial additives
  • Rich in species-appropriate animal protein
  • Affordable
Cons
  • Low in moisture
  • Contains a small amount of plant-based proteins
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Hill's Science Diet since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Hill's Science Diet - Dry dog food (06/02/2014) -+
Date: 06/02/2014
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Dry dog food
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Hill's Science Diet - Canned dog Food (11/28/2015) -+
Date: 11/28/2015
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Canned dog Food
Recall Reason: Labeling problems
Hill's Science Diet - Canned Dog Food (01/31/2019) -+
Date: 01/31/2019
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Canned Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potentially Elevated Levels of Vitamin D
Hill's Prescription Diet - Canned Dog Food (01/31/2019) -+
Date: 01/31/2019
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Canned Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potentially Elevated Levels of Vitamin D
Hill's Science Diet - Canned Dog Food (05/21/2019) -+
Date: 05/21/2019
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Canned Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potentially Elevated Levels of Vitamin D
Hill's Prescription Diet - Canned Dog Food (05/21/2019) -+
Date: 05/21/2019
Company Name: Hill's Pet Nutrition, Inc.
Product Description: Canned Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potentially Elevated Levels of Vitamin D

Ingredient Review

Our review of Hill's Science Diet Adult 6+ Large Breed Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe Dry Dog Food begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Chicken. Chicken is meat from the domesticated bird of the same name. In pet food, chicken is used as a primary protein source.

The second ingredient is Brown Rice. Brown rice is a name for whole-grain rice with its outer hull removed. The brown rice in pet food can be a source of carbohydrates and fiber. Brown rice also contains omega-6 fatty acids, vitamins, and minerals

The third ingredient is Whole Grain Oats. Whole grain oats have had their tough outer hulls removed before further processing into a coarse high-fiber substance, complete with nutritious bran. The whole grain oats in pet food are a source of carbohydrates, protein, vitamins, minerals to support your companion’s overall well-being.

The fourth ingredient is Brewers Rice. Brewers rice is a byproduct of the beer industry. The brewers rice in pet food has been dried and ground for use as a carbohydrate source, often in gluten-free recipes.

The fifth ingredient is Chicken Meal. In pet food, chicken meal is often listed as a source of protein. Chicken meal is produced by baking and grinding chicken meat and skin. As a dry form of animal protein, it is most often found in kibble and treats.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Hill's Science Diet Adult 6+ Large Breed Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe Dry Dog Food, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per lb

Product Price

$2.67

Market Price avg.

$3.63

% From the Avg

-26%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$0.23

Market Price avg.

$0.30

% From the Avg

-22%

Price per day

Product Price

$0.14

Market Price avg.

$0.18

% From the Avg

-23%

Hill's Science Diet Adult 6+ Large Breed Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe Dry Dog Food is priced below the average market price for dry senior dog food.

Nutritional Analysis

Like middle-aged large dogs, senior large breed dogs are prone to conditions like arthritis and hip dysplasia.Large breed senior dogs share many of the same health concerns as adults, but they may be further along, i.e. conditions like arthritis and hip dysplasia may be worse. For this reason, foods made for large breed seniors often contain joint health ingredients like glucosamine and omega fatty acids. They may also have characteristics seen in large breed foods for dogs of all ages, like larger kibble size and less fat to help reduce bloat.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Hill's Science Diet Adult 6+ Large Breed Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe Dry Dog Food to the other 109 dry senior dog food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

18.89%

All Products avg.

28.29%

% From the Avg

-33%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

11.11%

All Products avg.

13.36%

% From the Avg

-17%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

4.44%

All Products avg.

5.48%

% From the Avg

-19%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

65.56%

All Products avg.

52.1%

% From the Avg

+26%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s low in protein with low fat and high carbohydrate content relative to other dry senior dog foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review