This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Wellness Minced Turkey & Salmon Entree Grain-Free Canned Cat Food

Wellness Minced Turkey & Salmon Entree Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Company info
Company HQ
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Parent company
WellPet LLC
Product info
Age Range: Adult
Food Form Wet Cat Food
Cost per day: $1.19
Primary proteins
  • Turkey
  • Salmon
  • Dried Egg Whites
  • Dried Egg Product

Ingredients

Turkey, Turkey Broth, Water Sufficient For Processing, Salmon, Dried Egg Whites, Dried Ground Peas, Tomatoes, Carrots, Natural Flavor, Dried Egg Product, Guar Gum, Sodium Phosphate, Ground Flaxseed, Salt, Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, Cranberries, Minerals (Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Zinc Amino Acid Chelate, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Sodium Selenite, Potassium Iodide), Vitamins (Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin E Supplement, Niacin, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Vitamin A Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Folic Acid), Taurine.

Overall Score

Loading
68%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 69%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 72%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 33%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 55%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 77%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 50%
? Based on the variety of sizes available. Size Variety 100%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 8%

Fat: 4%

Fiber: 1%

Moisture: 82%

Ash: 2.8%

Carb: 2.2%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 44.44%

Fat: 22.22%

Fiber: 5.56%

Ash: 15.56%

Carb: 12.22%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 40.17%

Fat: 48.78%

Carb: 11.05%

Our Review

Pros
  • Low carbohydrate content
  • High moisture content
  • Supplemented with chelated minerals for optimal nutrient absorption
  • Contains health promoting ground flaxseed for fiber
  • Doesn’t contain fillers, by-products, or artificial additives
  • Rich in species-appropriate animal protein
  • Affordable
Cons
  • Contains a small amount of plant-based proteins
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years
  • Some cats may be allergic to fish

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all cat food recalls related to Wellness since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Wellness - Canned Cat Food (02/28/2011) -+
Date: 02/28/2011
Company Name: WellPet LLC
Product Description: Canned Cat Food
Recall Reason: Inadequate Levels of Thiamine
Wellness - Dog Food (05/04/2012) -+
Date: 05/04/2012
Company Name: WellPet LLC
Product Description: Dog Food
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Wellness - Dog Food (10/31/2012) -+
Date: 10/31/2012
Company Name: WellPet LLC
Product Description: Dog Food
Recall Reason: Moisture problems
Wellness - Cat Food (02/10/2017) -+
Date: 02/10/2017
Company Name: WellPet, LLC
Product Description: Cat Food
Recall Reason: Potential for foreign material
Wellness - Dog Food (03/18/2017) -+
Date: 03/18/2017
Company Name: WellPet, LLC
Product Description: Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potential for elevated levels of naturally occurring beef thyroid hormone
Wellness - Beef Topper for Dogs (02/08/2018) -+
Date: 02/08/2018
Company Name: WellPet LLC
Product Description: Beef Topper for Dogs
Recall Reason: Elevated Levels of Naturally Occurring Beef Thyroid Hormone

Ingredient Review

Our review of Wellness Minced Turkey & Salmon Entree Grain-Free Canned Cat Food begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Turkey. Turkey is an easily digested meat that’s relatively low in fat. In pet food, turkey might be the primary protein source or it may be part of a blend made with different proteins.

The second ingredient is Turkey Broth. Turkey broth is the liquid that remains after turkey has been cooked. In pet food, turkey broth adds moisture, flavor, and aroma, along with some nutrients.

The third ingredient is Water Sufficient. In pet food, the term water sufficient typically refers to the amount of water that is needed to process the rest of the ingredients.

The fourth ingredient is Salmon. Salmon is meat from any fish in the salmon family, and in pet food, salmon might also refer to other parts of the fish including skin and organs. Salmon is an excellent source of protein, and it is a good source of Omega-3 fatty acids.

The fifth ingredient is Dried Egg Whites. Dried egg whites are the dehydrated “white” or clear portion of an egg. In pet food, dried egg whites are used as a source of high-quality lean protein.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Wellness Minced Turkey & Salmon Entree Grain-Free Canned Cat Food, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per oz

Product Price

$0.51

Market Price avg.

$0.53

% From the Avg

-4%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$1.99

Market Price avg.

$2.15

% From the Avg

-7%

Price per day

Product Price

$1.19

Market Price avg.

$1.29

% From the Avg

-8%

Wellness Minced Turkey & Salmon Entree Grain-Free Canned Cat Food is priced within the average market price for wet cat food.

Nutritional Analysis

Adult cat foods can have a lot of variability in calorie density but generally meet requirements for the average active cat. With formulations addressing a wide variety of needs, including weight loss or gain, indoor or outdoor living, or hairball problems, individual recipes may vary greatly in calorie, fiber, and nutritional content.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Wellness Minced Turkey & Salmon Entree Grain-Free Canned Cat Food to the other 1538 wet cat food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

44.44%

All Products avg.

52.97%

% From the Avg

-16%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

22.22%

All Products avg.

17.71%

% From the Avg

+25%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

5.56%

All Products avg.

6.38%

% From the Avg

-13%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

12.22%

All Products avg.

14%

% From the Avg

-13%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s low in protein with high fat and low carbohydrate content relative to other wet cat foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review