This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Wellness CORE Natural Grain Free Turkey & Chicken Liver Pate Canned Kitten Food

Wellness CORE Natural Grain Free Turkey & Chicken Liver Pate Canned Kitten Food
Company info
Company HQ
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Parent company
WellPet LLC
Product info
Age Range: Kitten
Food Form Wet Kitten Food
Cost per day: $0.90
Primary proteins
  • Turkey
  • Chicken Liver
  • Chicken
  • Chicken Meal

Ingredients

Turkey, Chicken Liver, Turkey Broth, Chicken, Chicken Meal, Herring, Natural Flavor, Cranberries, Menhaden Fish Oil (preserved with Mixed Tocopherols), Guar Gum, Tricalcium Phosphate, Ground Flaxseed, Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, Taurine, Cassia Gum, Xanthan Gum, Dried Kelp, Chicory Root Extract, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Alfalfa Meal, Salt, Magnesium Sulfate, Iron Proteinate, Zinc Proteinate, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin E Supplement, Copper Proteinate, Manganese Proteinate, Sodium Selenite, Niacin, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Vitamin A Supplement, Biotin, Potassium Iodide, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Folic Acid, Rosemary Extract.

Overall Score

Loading
74%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 89%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 77%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 33%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 53%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 82%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 50%
? Based on the variety of sizes available. Size Variety 100%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 12%

Fat: 7.5%

Fiber: 1%

Moisture: 78%

Ash: 0%

Carb: 1.5%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 54.55%

Fat: 34.09%

Fiber: 4.55%

Ash: 8%

Carb: 6.82%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 37.84%

Fat: 57.43%

Carb: 4.73%

Our Review

Pros
  • High moisture content
  • Supplemented with chelated minerals for optimal nutrient absorption
  • Contains health promoting ground flaxseed for fiber
  • Contains dried kelp as a natural source of essential nutrients
  • Doesn’t contain fillers, by-products, or artificial additives
  • Rich in species-appropriate animal protein
  • A good source of omega-3 fatty acids
  • Has all the nutrients your kitten or mother cat needs
Cons
  • Contains a small amount of plant-based proteins
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years
  • Some cats may be allergic to fish

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all cat food recalls related to Wellness since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Wellness - Canned Cat Food (02/28/2011) -+
Date: 02/28/2011
Company Name: WellPet LLC
Product Description: Canned Cat Food
Recall Reason: Inadequate Levels of Thiamine
Wellness - Dog Food (05/04/2012) -+
Date: 05/04/2012
Company Name: WellPet LLC
Product Description: Dog Food
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Wellness - Dog Food (10/31/2012) -+
Date: 10/31/2012
Company Name: WellPet LLC
Product Description: Dog Food
Recall Reason: Moisture problems
Wellness - Cat Food (02/10/2017) -+
Date: 02/10/2017
Company Name: WellPet, LLC
Product Description: Cat Food
Recall Reason: Potential for foreign material
Wellness - Dog Food (03/18/2017) -+
Date: 03/18/2017
Company Name: WellPet, LLC
Product Description: Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potential for elevated levels of naturally occurring beef thyroid hormone
Wellness - Beef Topper for Dogs (02/08/2018) -+
Date: 02/08/2018
Company Name: WellPet LLC
Product Description: Beef Topper for Dogs
Recall Reason: Elevated Levels of Naturally Occurring Beef Thyroid Hormone

Ingredient Review

Our review of Wellness CORE Natural Grain Free Turkey & Chicken Liver Pate Canned Kitten Food begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Turkey. Turkey is an easily digested meat that’s relatively low in fat. In pet food, turkey might be the primary protein source or it may be part of a blend made with different proteins.

The second ingredient is Chicken Liver. Chicken liver is one of a few organ meats that come from a chicken. In pet food, chicken liver serves as a source of protein, iron, and amino acids.

The third ingredient is Turkey Broth. Turkey broth is the liquid that remains after turkey has been cooked. In pet food, turkey broth adds moisture, flavor, and aroma, along with some nutrients.

The fourth ingredient is Chicken. Chicken is meat from the domesticated bird of the same name. In pet food, chicken is used as a primary protein source.

The fifth ingredient is Chicken Meal. In pet food, chicken meal is often listed as a source of protein. Chicken meal is produced by baking and grinding chicken meat and skin. As a dry form of animal protein, it is most often found in kibble and treats.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Wellness CORE Natural Grain Free Turkey & Chicken Liver Pate Canned Kitten Food, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per oz

Product Price

$0.54

Market Price avg.

$0.46

% From the Avg

+17%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$1.50

Market Price avg.

$1.54

% From the Avg

-3%

Price per day

Product Price

$0.90

Market Price avg.

$0.92

% From the Avg

-2%

Wellness CORE Natural Grain Free Turkey & Chicken Liver Pate Canned Kitten Food is priced within the average market price for wet kitten food.

Nutritional Analysis

Because kittens are rapidly growing and developing, they have higher requirements for calories, protein, and other nutrients. Kitten foods have a higher caloric density to provide for the energy needs for growth. It’s recommended that kittens consume a kitten diet until they reach 1 year of age.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Wellness CORE Natural Grain Free Turkey & Chicken Liver Pate Canned Kitten Food to the other 63 wet kitten food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

54.55%

All Products avg.

50.77%

% From the Avg

+7%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

34.09%

All Products avg.

24.53%

% From the Avg

+39%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

4.55%

All Products avg.

6.79%

% From the Avg

-33%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

6.82%

All Products avg.

10.56%

% From the Avg

-35%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s moderate in protein with high fat and low carbohydrate content relative to other wet kitten foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review