This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain-Free Chicken Divan Morsels in Gravy Canned Cat Food

Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain-Free Chicken Divan Morsels in Gravy Canned Cat Food
Company info
Company HQ
Amarillo, Texas
Parent company
Nestlé Purina PetCare Company
Product info
Age Range: Adult
Food Form Wet Cat Food
Cost per day: $0.77
Primary proteins
  • Deboned Chicken
  • Chicken Liver
  • Dried Egg Product
  • Potato Protein

Ingredients

Deboned Chicken, Chicken Broth, Chicken Liver, Peas, Dried Egg Product, Potato Protein, Natural Flavor, Dried Potato, Cranberries, Ground Flaxseed, Calcium Carbonate, Salt, Potassium Chloride, Carrageenan, Guar Gum, Dried Broccoli, Dried Cheese, Powdered Cellulose, Dried Whey Protein Concentrate, Sodium Phosphate, Salmon Oil, Minerals (Zinc Amino Acid Complex, Iron Amino Acid Complex, Manganese Amino Acid Complex, Copper Amino Acid Complex, Potassium Iodide, Cobalt Glucoheptonate, Sodium Selenite), Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement, D-Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin A Supplement, Niacin, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Folic Acid, Biotin, Thiamine Mononitrate), Taurine, Choline Chloride, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Thyme, Sage, Rosemary.

Overall Score

Loading
69%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 75%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 69%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 29%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 77%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 73%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 50%
? Based on the variety of sizes available. Size Variety 100%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 9%

Fat: 4%

Fiber: 1%

Moisture: 81%

Ash: 2.1%

Carb: 2.9%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 47.37%

Fat: 21.05%

Fiber: 5.26%

Ash: 11.05%

Carb: 15.26%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 41.64%

Fat: 44.94%

Carb: 13.42%

Our Review

Pros
  • Low carbohydrate content
  • High moisture content
  • Contains health promoting ground flaxseed for fiber
  • Doesn’t contain fillers, by-products, or artificial additives
  • Rich in species-appropriate animal protein
  • Affordable
  • A good source of omega-3 fatty acids
Cons
  • Contains a small amount of plant-based proteins
  • Doesn’t receive consistently positive customer reviews
  • Contains carrageenan – a potentially inflammatory additive
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years
  • Some cats may be allergic to fish

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all cat food recalls related to Merrick since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Merrick - Pet treats for dogs (07/02/2010) -+
Date: 07/02/2010
Company Name: Merrick Pet Care
Product Description: Pet treats for dogs
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Merrick - Texas Hold'ems Beef Filet Squares for Dogs (08/03/2010) -+
Date: 08/03/2010
Company Name: Merrick Pet Care
Product Description: Texas Hold'ems Beef Filet Squares for Dogs
Recall Reason: Potentially contaminated with Salmonella
Merrick - Dog treats - Texas Hold'ems, Beef Filet Squares (08/16/2010) -+
Date: 08/16/2010
Company Name: Merrick Pet Care
Product Description: Dog treats - Texas Hold'ems, Beef Filet Squares
Recall Reason: Potentially contaminated with Salmonella
Merrick - JR Texas Taffy Pet Treats (01/28/2011) -+
Date: 01/28/2011
Company Name: Merrick Pet Care
Product Description: JR Texas Taffy Pet Treats
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Merrick - Wishbone pet treat (08/08/2011) -+
Date: 08/08/2011
Company Name: Merrick Pet Care
Product Description: Wishbone pet treat
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Merrick - Beef dog treat varieties (05/23/2018) -+
Date: 05/23/2018
Company Name: Merrick Pet Care
Product Description: Beef dog treat varieties
Recall Reason: Ingredient Level

Ingredient Review

Our review of Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain-Free Chicken Divan Morsels in Gravy Canned Cat Food begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Deboned Chicken. Deboned chicken is chicken meat with the bones removed. In pet food, deboned chicken is a valuable source of protein.

The second ingredient is Chicken Broth. Chicken broth is made by boiling chicken meat, skin, and bones to obtain nutrients including fat, vitamins, and minerals. In pet food, chicken broth increases moisture and improves flavor.

The third ingredient is Chicken Liver. Chicken liver is one of a few organ meats that come from a chicken. In pet food, chicken liver serves as a source of protein, iron, and amino acids.

The fourth ingredient is Peas. Pea is a general term to describe whole, split, or milled peas, which are a grain-free, gluten-free source of protein, fiber, and carbohydrates. In pet food, pea products serve as an energy source as well as a supplementary source of vitamins and minerals.

The fifth ingredient is Dried Egg Product. Dried egg product can refer to dried or dehydrated egg white, yolk, or shells, or a combination of all three. The dried egg product found in pet food is a good source of healthy, easily digested protein.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain-Free Chicken Divan Morsels in Gravy Canned Cat Food, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per oz

Product Price

$0.32

Market Price avg.

$0.53

% From the Avg

-40%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$1.28

Market Price avg.

$2.15

% From the Avg

-40%

Price per day

Product Price

$0.77

Market Price avg.

$1.29

% From the Avg

-41%

Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain-Free Chicken Divan Morsels in Gravy Canned Cat Food is priced well below the average market price for wet cat food.

Nutritional Analysis

Adult cat foods can have a lot of variability in calorie density but generally meet requirements for the average active cat. With formulations addressing a wide variety of needs, including weight loss or gain, indoor or outdoor living, or hairball problems, individual recipes may vary greatly in calorie, fiber, and nutritional content.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain-Free Chicken Divan Morsels in Gravy Canned Cat Food to the other 1538 wet cat food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

47.37%

All Products avg.

52.97%

% From the Avg

-11%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

21.05%

All Products avg.

17.71%

% From the Avg

+19%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

5.26%

All Products avg.

6.38%

% From the Avg

-18%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

15.26%

All Products avg.

14%

% From the Avg

+9%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s low in protein with high fat and moderate carbohydrate content relative to other wet cat foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review