This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Blue Buffalo Wilderness Kitten Chicken Grain-Free Canned Cat Food

Blue Buffalo Wilderness Kitten Chicken Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Company info
Company HQ
Wilton, Connecticut
Parent company
Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product info
Age Range: Kitten
Food Form Wet Kitten Food
Cost per day: $0.72
Primary proteins
  • Chicken
  • Chicken Liver
  • Dried Egg Product

Ingredients

Chicken, Chicken Broth, Chicken Liver, Dried Egg Product, Salmon Oil (Source Of Dha-Docosahexaenoic Acid), Flaxseed, Potatoes, Guar Gum, Natural Flavor, Potassium Chloride, Taurine, Carrageenan, Cassia Gum, Magnesium Sulfate, Choline Chloride, Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Zinc Amino Acid Chelate, Vitamin E Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Sodium Selenite, Niacin Supplement (Vitamin B3), Calcium Pantothenate (Vitamin B5), Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Riboflavin Supplement (Vitamin B2), Vitamin A Supplement, Biotin (Vitamin B7), Potassium Iodide, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Folic Acid (Vitamin B9), Preserved With Mixed Tocopherols.

Compare Prices To Find The Lowest Price

Overall Score

Loading
67%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 75%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 73%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 36%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 75%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 82%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 50%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 10.5%

Fat: 9%

Fiber: 1.5%

Moisture: 78%

Ash: 0%

Carb: 1%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 47.73%

Fat: 40.91%

Fiber: 6.82%

Ash: 8%

Carb: 4.55%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 31.48%

Fat: 65.52%

Carb: 3%

Our Review

Pros
  • High moisture content
  • Supplemented with chelated minerals for optimal nutrient absorption
  • Made with fiber-rich flaxseed
  • Doesn’t contain fillers, by-products, or artificial additives
  • Rich in species-appropriate animal protein
  • A good source of omega-3 fatty acids
  • Has all the nutrients your kitten or mother cat needs
Cons
  • Expensive
  • Contains a small amount of plant-based proteins
  • Contains carrageenan – a potentially inflammatory additive
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years
  • Some cats may be allergic to fish

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all cat food recalls related to Blue Buffalo since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Blue Buffalo - Dog food (10/08/2010) -+
Date: 10/08/2010
Company Name: Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product Description: Dog food
Recall Reason: Excess Vitamin D
Blue Buffalo - Cat Treats (11/07/2015) -+
Date: 11/07/2015
Company Name: Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product Description: Cat Treats
Recall Reason: May contain propylene glycol
Blue Buffalo - Cub Size - Wild Chews (11/25/2015) -+
Date: 11/25/2015
Company Name: Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product Description: Cub Size - Wild Chews
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Blue Buffalo - Dog Food (05/31/2016) -+
Date: 05/31/2016
Company Name: Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product Description: Dog Food
Recall Reason: Possible mold
Blue Buffalo - Dog Food (02/13/2017) -+
Date: 02/13/2017
Company Name: Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product Description: Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potential for metal contamination
Blue Buffalo - Dog Food (02/28/2017) -+
Date: 02/28/2017
Company Name: Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product Description: Dog Food
Recall Reason: Packaging quality
Blue Buffalo - Dog food (03/17/2017) -+
Date: 03/17/2017
Company Name: Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product Description: Dog food
Recall Reason: Contains beef thyroid hormone
Blue Buffalo - Dog food (02/08/2018) -+
Date: 02/08/2018
Company Name: Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product Description: Dog food
Recall Reason: elevated levels of naturally- occurring beef thyroid hormones

Ingredient Review

Our review of Blue Buffalo Wilderness Kitten Chicken Grain-Free Canned Cat Food begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Chicken. Chicken is meat from the domesticated bird of the same name. In pet food, chicken is used as a primary protein source.

The second ingredient is Chicken Broth. Chicken broth is made by boiling chicken meat, skin, and bones to obtain nutrients including fat, vitamins, and minerals. In pet food, chicken broth increases moisture and improves flavor.

The third ingredient is Chicken Liver. Chicken liver is one of a few organ meats that come from a chicken. In pet food, chicken liver serves as a source of protein, iron, and amino acids.

The fourth ingredient is Dried Egg Product. Dried egg product can refer to dried or dehydrated egg white, yolk, or shells, or a combination of all three. The dried egg product found in pet food is a good source of healthy, easily digested protein.

The fifth ingredient is Salmon Oil. Salmon oil can be a good source of Omega-3 fatty acids. In pet food, salmon oil may help support your companion’s joint health while contributing to healthy skin and a soft, shiny coat.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Blue Buffalo Wilderness Kitten Chicken Grain-Free Canned Cat Food, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per oz

Product Price

$0.47

Market Price avg.

$0.5

% From the Avg

-6%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$1.20

Market Price avg.

$1.66

% From the Avg

-28%

Price per day

Product Price

$0.72

Market Price avg.

$1.00

% From the Avg

-28%

Blue Buffalo Wilderness Kitten Chicken Grain-Free Canned Cat Food is priced below the average market price for wet kitten food.

Nutritional Analysis

Because kittens are rapidly growing and developing, they have higher requirements for calories, protein, and other nutrients. Kitten foods have a higher caloric density to provide for the energy needs for growth. It’s recommended that kittens consume a kitten diet until they reach 1 year of age.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Blue Buffalo Wilderness Kitten Chicken Grain-Free Canned Cat Food to the other 63 wet kitten food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

47.73%

All Products avg.

50.77%

% From the Avg

-6%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

40.91%

All Products avg.

24.53%

% From the Avg

+67%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

6.82%

All Products avg.

6.79%

% From the Avg

+0%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

4.55%

All Products avg.

10.56%

% From the Avg

-57%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s moderate in protein with high fat and low carbohydrate content relative to other wet kitten foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review