This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Blue Buffalo Wilderness High Protein Natural Grain-Free Chicken Adult Dry Cat Food

Blue Buffalo Wilderness High Protein Natural Grain-Free Chicken Adult Dry Cat Food
Company info
Company HQ
Wilton, Connecticut us-flag
Parent company
Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product info
Age Range: Adult
Food Form Dry Cat Food
Cost per day: $0.18
Primary proteins
  • Deboned Chicken
  • Chicken Meal
  • Pea Protein
  • Menhaden Fish Meal

Ingredients

Deboned Chicken, Chicken Meal, Pea Protein, Tapioca Starch, Peas, Menhaden Fish Meal (source of Omega 3 Fatty Acids), Chicken Fat (preserved with Mixed Tocopherols), Dried Egg Product, Pea Fiber, Natural Flavor, Flaxseed (source of Omega 6 Fatty Acids), Calcium Chloride, Potassium sulfate, DL-Methionine, Choline Chloride, Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Potatoes, Dried Chicory Root, Alfalfa Nutrient Concentrate, Calcium Carbonate, Taurine, Salt, Potassium Chloride, Sweet Potatoes, Carrots, preserved with Mixed Tocopherols, Vegetable Juice for color, Ferrous Sulfate, Niacin (Vitamin B3), Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Zinc Amino Acid Chelate, Zinc Sulfate, Vitamin E Supplement, Blueberries, Cranberries, Barley Grass, Parsley, Turmeric, Dried Kelp, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Copper Sulfate, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Copper Amino Acid Chelate, L-Carnitine, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), L-Lysine, Biotin (Vitamin B7), Vitamin A Supplement, Manganese Sulfate, Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Calcium Pantothenate (Vitamin B5), Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Vitamin D3 Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Folic Acid (Vitamin B9), Dried Yeast, Dried Enterococcus faecium fermentation product, Dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, Dried Aspergillus niger fermentation extract, Dried Trichoderma longibrachiatum fermentation extract, Dried Bacillus subtilis fermentation extract, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite, Oil of Rosemary.

Overall Score

Loading
59%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 68%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 70%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 44%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 66%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 50%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 40%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 40%

Fat: 18%

Fiber: 4%

Moisture: 9%

Ash: 0%

Carb: 29%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 43.96%

Fat: 19.78%

Fiber: 4.4%

Ash: 8%

Carb: 31.87%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 35.49%

Fat: 38.78%

Carb: 25.73%

Our Review

Pros
  • Rich in protein
  • Low carbohydrate content
  • Supplemented with chelated minerals for optimal nutrient absorption
  • Made with fiber-rich flaxseed
  • Contains dried kelp as a natural source of essential nutrients
  • Doesn’t contain fillers, by-products, or artificial additives
  • A good source of omega-3 fatty acids
Cons
  • Low in moisture
  • Contains plant-based proteins
  • Contains artificial food dyes
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years
  • Some cats may be allergic to fish

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all cat food recalls related to Blue Buffalo since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Blue Buffalo - Dog food (10/08/2010) -+
Date:10/08/2010
Company Name:Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product Description:Dog food
Recall Reason:Excess Vitamin D
Blue Buffalo - Cat Treats (11/07/2015) -+
Date:11/07/2015
Company Name:Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product Description:Cat Treats
Recall Reason:May contain propylene glycol
Blue Buffalo - Cub Size - Wild Chews (11/25/2015) -+
Date:11/25/2015
Company Name:Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product Description:Cub Size - Wild Chews
Recall Reason:Salmonella
Blue Buffalo - Dog Food (05/31/2016) -+
Date:05/31/2016
Company Name:Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product Description:Dog Food
Recall Reason:Possible mold
Blue Buffalo - Dog Food (02/13/2017) -+
Date:02/13/2017
Company Name:Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product Description:Dog Food
Recall Reason:Potential for metal contamination
Blue Buffalo - Dog Food (02/28/2017) -+
Date:02/28/2017
Company Name:Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product Description:Dog Food
Recall Reason:Packaging quality
Blue Buffalo - Dog food (03/17/2017) -+
Date:03/17/2017
Company Name:Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product Description:Dog food
Recall Reason:Contains beef thyroid hormone
Blue Buffalo - Dog food (02/08/2018) -+
Date:02/08/2018
Company Name:Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product Description:Dog food
Recall Reason:elevated levels of naturally- occurring beef thyroid hormones

Ingredient Review

Our review of Blue Buffalo Wilderness High Protein Natural Grain-Free Chicken Adult Dry Cat Food begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Deboned Chicken. Deboned chicken is chicken meat with the bones removed. In pet food, deboned chicken is a valuable source of protein.

The second ingredient is Chicken Meal. In pet food, chicken meal is often listed as a source of protein. Chicken meal is produced by baking and grinding chicken meat and skin. As a dry form of animal protein, it is most often found in kibble and treats.

The third ingredient is Pea Protein. Pea protein is a good source of amino acids, vitamins, and minerals. While the pea protein in pet food isn’t normally a primary protein source, it is easy to digest and it’s also a good source of fiber.

The fourth ingredient is Tapioca Starch. Tapioca starch comes from the cassava root. It is often used as a filler or binder, as well as a source of easily digested carbohydrates. Tapioca starch is typically added to grain-free and gluten-free pet foods.

The fifth ingredient is Peas. Pea is a general term to describe whole, split, or milled peas, which are a grain-free, gluten-free source of protein, fiber, and carbohydrates. In pet food, pea products serve as an energy source as well as a supplementary source of vitamins and minerals.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Blue Buffalo Wilderness High Protein Natural Grain-Free Chicken Adult Dry Cat Food, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per lb

Product Price

$5.25

Market Price avg.

$4.82

% From the Avg

+9%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$0.30

Market Price avg.

$0.39

% From the Avg

-22%

Price per day

Product Price

$0.18

Market Price avg.

$0.23

% From the Avg

-21%

Blue Buffalo Wilderness High Protein Natural Grain-Free Chicken Adult Dry Cat Food is priced below the average market price for dry cat food.

Nutritional Analysis

Adult cat foods can have a lot of variability in calorie density but generally meet requirements for the average active cat. With formulations addressing a wide variety of needs, including weight loss or gain, indoor or outdoor living, or hairball problems, individual recipes may vary greatly in calorie, fiber, and nutritional content.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Blue Buffalo Wilderness High Protein Natural Grain-Free Chicken Adult Dry Cat Food to the other 631 dry cat food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

43.96%

All Products avg.

38.78%

% From the Avg

+13%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

19.78%

All Products avg.

16.69%

% From the Avg

+19%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

4.4%

All Products avg.

5.22%

% From the Avg

-16%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

31.87%

All Products avg.

37.99%

% From the Avg

-16%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s high in protein with high fat and low carbohydrate content relative to other dry cat foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review