This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Vital Essentials Beef Mini Nibs Grain-Free Freeze-Dried Dog Food

Vital Essentials Beef Mini Nibs Grain-Free Freeze-Dried Dog Food
Company info
Company HQ
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Parent company
Carnivore Meat Company
Product info
Age Range: Adult
Food Form Freeze-Dried Dog Food
Cost per day: $0.92
Primary proteins
  • Beef
  • Beef Lung
  • Beef Liver
  • Beef Stomach

Ingredients

Beef, Beef Lung, Beef Liver, Beef Stomach, Beef Heart, Beef Fat, Beef Kidney, Beef Blood, Herring Oil, Mixed Tocopherols, D-Alpha Tocopherol.

Breed sizes

size-1 Toy
size-2 Small
size-3 Medium
size-4 Large
size-5 Giant

Overall Score

Loading
70%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 90%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 100%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 25%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 63%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 91%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 0%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 51%

Fat: 23%

Fiber: 2.2%

Moisture: 7%

Ash: 0%

Carb: 16.8%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 54.84%

Fat: 24.73%

Fiber: 2.37%

Ash: 8%

Carb: 18.06%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 41.24%

Fat: 45.17%

Carb: 13.59%

Our Review

Pros
  • Low carbohydrate content
  • Freeze-dried food retains the nutritional value of raw meat
  • Doesn’t contain fillers, by-products, or artificial additives
  • Rich in species-appropriate animal protein
  • Most customers have good experiences with this food
Cons
  • Low in moisture
  • Contains a small amount of plant-based proteins
  • Freeze dried dog food requires rehydration, which is time-consuming
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years
  • Some dogs may be allergic to fish

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Vital Essentials since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Vital Essentials - Pet Foods (07/08/2015) -+
Date: 07/08/2015
Company Name: Carnivore Meat Company, LLC
Product Description: Pet Foods
Recall Reason: Listeria monocytogenes
Vital Essentials - Frozen Chicken Patties Entree for Dogs (01/15/2016) -+
Date: 01/15/2016
Company Name: Carnivore Meat Company, LLC
Product Description: Frozen Chicken Patties Entree for Dogs
Recall Reason: Potential for salmonella
Vital Essentials - Freeze-dried beef nibblets for dogs (02/23/2018) -+
Date: 02/23/2018
Company Name: Carnivore Meat Company, LLC
Product Description: Freeze-dried beef nibblets for dogs
Recall Reason: Potential to be contaminated with Salmonella
Vital Essentials - Freeze-dried beef nibblets for dogs (02/26/2018) -+
Date: 02/26/2018
Company Name: Carnivore Meat Company
Product Description: Freeze-dried beef nibblets for dogs
Recall Reason: Potential to be contaminated with Salmonella
Vital Essentials - Dog/pet food Freeze-Dried Beef Toppers and Frozen Beef Chub (04/15/2018) -+
Date: 04/15/2018
Company Name: Carnivore Meat Company, LLC
Product Description: Dog/pet food Freeze-Dried Beef Toppers and Frozen Beef Chub
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Vital Essentials® - Dog/pet food Freeze-Dried Beef Toppers and Frozen Beef Chub (04/17/2018) -+
Date: 04/17/2018
Company Name: Carnivore Meat Company
Product Description: Dog/pet food Freeze-Dried Beef Toppers and Frozen Beef Chub
Recall Reason: Salmonella

Ingredient Review

Our review of Vital Essentials Beef Mini Nibs Grain-Free Freeze-Dried Dog Food begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Beef. Beef is meat from any cattle breed. In pet food, beef can be fresh, freeze-dried, dehydrated, ground, or finely processed into beef meal.

The second ingredient is Beef Lung. Beef lung is lung tissue from cattle of any breed. In pet food, beef lung can be a good source of protein, iron, vitamin C, and other nutrients.

The third ingredient is Beef Liver. Beef liver is organ meat from any cattle breed. The beef liver in pet food is a source of protein, iron, and many other essential nutrients.

The fourth ingredient is Beef Stomach. Beef stomach is a digestive organ from any breed of cattle. In pet food, beef stomach can serve as a source of protein, vitamins, and minerals including vitamin B12, zinc, selenium, phosphorus, calcium, and magnesium.

The fifth ingredient is Beef Heart. Beef heart is muscle tissue from the heart of any cattle species. In pet food, beef heart serves as an excellent source of protein, iron, zinc, B vitamins, and many trace minerals to support your companion’s overall well-being.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Vital Essentials Beef Mini Nibs Grain-Free Freeze-Dried Dog Food, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per lb

Product Price

$33.49

Market Price avg.

$22.8

% From the Avg

+47%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$1.54

Market Price avg.

$1.80

% From the Avg

-14%

Price per day

Product Price

$0.92

Market Price avg.

$1.08

% From the Avg

-15%

Vital Essentials Beef Mini Nibs Grain-Free Freeze-Dried Dog Food is priced below the average market price for freeze-dried dog food.

Nutritional Analysis

Your adult dog needs a balance of macro and micronutrients to thrive. A food formulated for adult maintenance or all life stages is made to meet these needs. While there can be a lot of variation in actual calorie density, adult dog foods are generally intended to provide for basic calorie needs of the average active dog. In addition to satisfying their energy needs, these foods provide the protein, fat, carbohydrates, fiber, and other nutrients your adult dog needs to survive. Again, not all adult foods are the same, so you may have to search around for the right fit for your dog.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Vital Essentials Beef Mini Nibs Grain-Free Freeze-Dried Dog Food to the other 156 freeze-dried dog food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

54.84%

All Products avg.

45.03%

% From the Avg

+22%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

24.73%

All Products avg.

27.3%

% From the Avg

-9%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

2.37%

All Products avg.

4.24%

% From the Avg

-44%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

18.06%

All Products avg.

23.05%

% From the Avg

-22%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s high in protein with moderate fat and low carbohydrate content relative to other freeze-dried dog foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review