This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

SPORTMiX Dog Food Review

Company HQ

LocationEvansville, Indiana us-flag

Parent company

Midwestern Pet Foods, Inc.

Sourcing and Manufacturing

LocationUnited States us-flag

Type of food

Dry Dog Food, Dry Puppy Food

Ratings

53%
? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 34%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 64%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 9%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 92%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 78%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 40%
Pros
  • Foods are nutritionally complete and balanced according to AAFCO standards
  • Affordable
  • All recipes are free of artificial colors, flavors, and preservatives
Cons
  • Some recipes contain plant-based protein
  • Lower than average protein content
  • The brand has been previously recalled

Brand Overview

SPORTMiX has a history that dates back to 1926. The product line includes dog food and cat food, in a variety of flavors, and designed to meet the needs of all life stages. SPORTMiX also offers dog treats.

How Much Does SPORTMiX Dog Food Cost

We’ve compared SPORTMiX dog food price to the other 197 dog food brands in our database.

SPORTMiX Dry Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per lb$1.29$3.69-65%
Price per 100 kcal$0.08$0.38-79%
Price per day$0.05$0.23-78%

SPORTMiX Dry Dog Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

SPORTMiX Dry Puppy Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per lb$1.51$3.85-61%
Price per 100 kcal$0.09$0.23-62%
Price per day$0.05$0.14-64%

SPORTMiX Dry Puppy Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

SPORTMiX Nutrient Profile Comparison

We’ve compared SPORTMiX dog food recipes nutrient profile to the other 197 dog food brands in our database.

Dry Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 26.93% 30.01% -10%
DM Fat 17.59% 15.84% +11%
DM Fiber 5.03% 5.49% -8%
DM Carb 50.45% 47.75% +6%

Dry Puppy Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 31.11% 32.35% -4%
DM Fat 22.22% 17.94% +24%
DM Fiber 4.44% 4.66% -5%
DM Carb 42.22% 44.25% -5%

All of SPORTMiX dog food recipes meets AAFCO's minimum requirements.

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to SPORTMiX Dog Food Review since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Sportmix - Dog and Cat Food (12/30/2020) -+
Date:12/30/2020
Company Name:Midwestern Pet Foods, Inc.
Product Description:Dog and Cat Food
Recall Reason:Elevated levels of aflatoxin
Sportmix - Dog and Cat Pet Food (01/11/2021) -+
Date:01/11/2021
Company Name:Midwestern Pet Foods, Inc.
Product Description:Dog and Cat Pet Food
Recall Reason:Aflatoxin Levels Exceed Acceptable Levels
Sportmix - Dog and Cat Food (03/26/2021) -+
Date:03/26/2021
Company Name:Midwestern Pet Foods, Inc.
Product Description:Dog and Cat Food
Recall Reason:Potential Salmonella Contamination

Lawsuit History

This specifically highlights the contamination issue in two pet food formulas: Sportmix Premium High Energy and Sportmix Premium Energy Plus. These formulas were named in the class-action lawsuit as being among the products that were found to contain elevated levels of aflatoxin. The lawsuit claims that these particular pet food formulas posed a risk to the health of pets due to the presence of this harmful substance, which prompted concerns among pet owners and resulted in recalls of these products. The manufacturers are facing allegations of negligence and deceptive marketing practices for selling these potentially unsafe pet food formulas.

Source

Explore All Reviews of SPORTMiX Dog Food Recipes

FAQ

faq-item-image Who owns SPORTMiX dog food?

SPORTMiX is owned by Midwestern Pet Foods, Inc..

faq-item-image Where is SPORTMiX dog food made?

SPORTMiX is manufactured in the United States us-flag.

faq-item-image Is SPORTMiX AAFCO approved?

Yes, all of SPORTMiX recipes are AAFCO approved.

faq-item-image Has SPORTMiX dog food been recalled?

SPORTMiX has been recalled 3 times in the years 2020, and 2021.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

2 thoughts on “SPORTMiX Dog Food Review

  • SRH

    My dog doesn’t like this food at all ! Had to mix with wet food to get her to eat it! Will not buy again nor would I recommend this product

  • Daniel May

    Your comment is awaiting moderation.

    My dog would not touch this stuff. Would never have bought if i’d read ingredient list.

Leave a Review