This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Rachael Ray Nutrish Dog Food Review

Company HQ

LocationMeadville, Pennsylvania us-flag

Parent company

Ainsworth Pet Nutrition LLC

Sourcing and Manufacturing

LocationUnited States us-flag

Type of food

Dry Dog Food, Wet Dog Food, Dry Puppy Food

Ratings

62%
? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 43%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 66%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 57%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 79%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 82%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 44%
Pros
  • Affordable
  • All recipes are free of artificial colors, flavors, and preservatives
Cons
  • Some recipes contain plant-based protein
  • Lower than average protein content
  • The brand has been previously recalled

Brand Overview

Rachael Ray Nutrish is a line of super premium pet food. There are dozens of different flavors to choose from, including wet and dry formulas for cats and dogs. Many Rachael Ray Nutrish pet foods are tailored to meet specific needs.

How Much Does Rachael Ray Nutrish Dog Food Cost

We’ve compared Rachael Ray Nutrish dog food price to the other 197 dog food brands in our database.

Rachael Ray Nutrish Dry Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per lb$1.94$3.69-47%
Price per 100 kcal$0.12$0.38-68%
Price per day$0.07$0.23-70%

Rachael Ray Nutrish Dry Dog Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Rachael Ray Nutrish Wet Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per oz$0.30$0.41-27%
Price per 100 kcal$1.09$1.55-30%
Price per day$0.65$0.93-30%

Rachael Ray Nutrish Wet Dog Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Rachael Ray Nutrish Dry Puppy Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per lb$1.78$3.85-54%
Price per 100 kcal$0.11$0.23-54%
Price per day$0.06$0.14-57%

Rachael Ray Nutrish Dry Puppy Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Rachael Ray Nutrish Nutrient Profile Comparison

We’ve compared Rachael Ray Nutrish dog food recipes nutrient profile to the other 197 dog food brands in our database.

Dry Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 28.42% 30.01% -5%
DM Fat 15.09% 15.84% -5%
DM Fiber 4.92% 5.49% -10%
DM Carb 51.57% 47.75% +8%

Wet Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 38.42% 42.89% -10%
DM Fat 21.85% 22.28% -2%
DM Fiber 7.05% 7.40% -5%
DM Carb 32.68% 26.34% +24%

Dry Puppy Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 31.11% 32.35% -4%
DM Fat 17.78% 17.94% -1%
DM Fiber 5.56% 4.66% +19%
DM Carb 45.56% 44.25% +3%

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Rachael Ray Nutrish Dog Food Review since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Rachael Ray Nutrish - Wet food for cats (06/04/2015) -+
Date:06/04/2015
Company Name:Ainsworth Pet Nutrition
Product Description:Wet food for cats
Recall Reason:Potentially elevated levels of Vitamin D

Lawsuit History

August 2018 - In August 2018, a consumer filed a $5 million lawsuit against Ainsworth Pet Nutrition, Rachael Ray’s Nutrish dog food brand, alleging that “natural” claims were false and misleading under state consumer protection laws, based on testing that found residues of the herbicide, glyphosate.

A New York District Judge in the Nutrish case dismissed the claims for failure to indicate the level of glyphosate detected and to say whether it was harmful.

The judge dismissed the complaint a second time upon finding the total glyphosate alleged to be present in the Nutrish samples is between 0.005% to 0.01% of the Food and Drug Administration’s (FDA) allowed tolerance, and ruled that labeling such pet food as “natural” is not materially misleading to a reasonable consumer.

April 2020 - A class action lawsuit alleges Rachael Ray Nutrish-brand Zero Grain dog food is harmful to dogs in that the product is deficient of taurine and contains legume-based protein, a combination linked to a potentially fatal heart condition when used in grain-free foods.

The plaintiff, a Los Angeles resident, claims consumers would not have bought the premium-priced dog food, sometimes paying up to double what competitors charge for similar products, absent the defendants’ “deceptive and misleading” representations. The lawsuit alleges Nutrish Zero Grain dog food lacks taurine, an amino acid the defendants know is necessary to maintain dogs’ health.

The plaintiff alleges Rachael Ray Nutrish and the J.M. Smucker Company have “deceived the public” into buying the following Zero Grain dog foods.

Explore All Reviews of Rachael Ray Nutrish Dog Food Recipes

Overall Score
65%
Rachael Ray Nutrish Real Turkey Rachael Ray Nutrish Real Turkey
Cost per day $0.08
Overall Score
65%
Rachael Ray Nutrish Natural Turkey Rachael Ray Nutrish Natural Turkey
Cost per day $0.08
Overall Score
64%
Rachael Ray Nutrish Real Beef Rachael Ray Nutrish Real Beef
Cost per day $0.06
Overall Score
64%
Rachael Ray Nutrish Natural Beef Rachael Ray Nutrish Natural Beef
Cost per day $0.06

FAQ

faq-item-image Who owns Rachael Ray Nutrish dog food?

Rachael Ray Nutrish is owned by Ainsworth Pet Nutrition LLC.

faq-item-image Where is Rachael Ray Nutrish dog food made?

Rachael Ray Nutrish is manufactured in the United States us-flag.

faq-item-image Is Rachael Ray Nutrish AAFCO approved?

Not all of Rachael Ray Nutrish recipes are AAFCO approved, the following recipes are not AAFCO approved.

faq-item-image Has Rachael Ray Nutrish dog food been recalled?

Rachael Ray Nutrish has been recalled 1 times in the years 2015.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

3 thoughts on “Rachael Ray Nutrish Dog Food Review

  • Linda

    My dog got deathly ill from this food. I won’t recommend this food to any dog.

    • Mallory Crusta

      Hi Linda, thanks for sharing your experience. Have you been to a veterinarian? While we aren’t aware of any issue in which Rachael Ray Nutrish food is affecting other dogs in this way, I would advise mentioning this to your vet and, if you believe that the food is related to your dog’s illness, to report this issue both to the company and FDA.
      Report the problem to Rachael Ray Nutrish/J.M. Smucker: https://www.nutrish.com/contact-us
      Create a pet food complaint: https://www.fda.gov/animal-veterinary/report-problem/how-report-pet-food-complaint
      Hope your dog is feeling better.

  • April S Ostrom

    WARNING! Diet Change without notification on Rachel Rays Limited Six. They have now added peas due to cost effectiveness. My dog is highly allergic to peas and has been miserable for months. We have taken her to the vet, for allergy shots, skin scrapes, blood work………. today we found out that PEAS are the 4th ingredient.

Leave a Review