This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Purina Pro Plan Dog Food Review

Company HQ

LocationSt. Louis, Missouri us-flag

Parent company

Nestlé Purina PetCare Company

Sourcing and Manufacturing

LocationUnited States us-flag

Type of food

Wet Dog Food, Dry Puppy Food, Dry Dog Food, Wet Puppy Food, Dry Senior Dog Food, Wet Senior Dog Food

Ratings

65%
? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 56%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 59%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 74%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 75%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 83%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 45%
Pros
  • High protein content
  • Foods are nutritionally complete and balanced according to AAFCO standards
  • Affordable
  • Purina Pro Plan makes a diverse range of foods for various ages, sizes, and lifestyles
  • All recipes are free of artificial colors, flavors, and preservatives
Cons
  • Some recipes contain plant-based protein
  • The brand has been previously recalled
  • Some recipes list unnamed meat by-products

Brand Overview

Purina Pro Plan is based on advanced nutritional knowledge. The brand offers food for dogs and cats, as well as formulations for puppies and kittens, large breeds dogs, small breed dogs, and pets with sensitivities. Purina Pro Plan pet food is available in wet and dry options, and in a variety of flavors.

How Much Does Purina Pro Plan Dog Food Cost

We’ve compared Purina Pro Plan dog food price to the other 197 dog food brands in our database.

Purina Pro Plan Wet Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per oz$0.34$0.41-17%
Price per 100 kcal$1.17$1.55-24%
Price per day$0.70$0.93-25%

Purina Pro Plan Wet Dog Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Purina Pro Plan Dry Puppy Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per lb$2.82$3.85-27%
Price per 100 kcal$0.15$0.23-34%
Price per day$0.09$0.14-36%

Purina Pro Plan Dry Puppy Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Purina Pro Plan Dry Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per lb$2.95$3.69-20%
Price per 100 kcal$0.17$0.38-56%
Price per day$0.10$0.23-57%

Purina Pro Plan Dry Dog Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Purina Pro Plan Wet Puppy Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per oz$0.25$0.31-19%
Price per 100 kcal$0.67$1.00-33%
Price per day$0.40$0.60-33%

Purina Pro Plan Wet Puppy Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Purina Pro Plan Dry Senior Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per lb$3.26$3.81-14%
Price per 100 kcal$0.19$0.32-42%
Price per day$0.11$0.19-42%

Purina Pro Plan Dry Senior Dog Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Purina Pro Plan Wet Senior Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per oz$0.29$0.32-9%
Price per 100 kcal$1.02$1.24-18%
Price per day$0.61$0.75-19%

Purina Pro Plan Wet Senior Dog Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Purina Pro Plan Nutrient Profile Comparison

We’ve compared Purina Pro Plan dog food recipes nutrient profile to the other 197 dog food brands in our database.

Wet Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 43.64% 42.89% +2%
DM Fat 20.60% 22.28% -8%
DM Fiber 7.14% 7.40% -4%
DM Carb 28.62% 26.34% +9%

Dry Puppy Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 31.91% 32.35% -1%
DM Fat 19.14% 17.94% +7%
DM Fiber 4.07% 4.66% -13%
DM Carb 44.89% 44.25% +1%

Dry Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 31.43% 30.01% +5%
DM Fat 18.35% 15.84% +16%
DM Fiber 3.98% 5.49% -28%
DM Carb 46.25% 47.75% -3%

Wet Puppy Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 41.67% 42.84% -3%
DM Fat 29.17% 27.27% +7%
DM Fiber 6.25% 7.01% -11%
DM Carb 22.92% 22.55% +2%

Dry Senior Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 32.67% 28.44% +15%
DM Fat 15.91% 13.38% +19%
DM Fiber 3.98% 5.48% -27%
DM Carb 47.44% 51.94% -9%

Wet Senior Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 46.68% 34.07% +37%
DM Fat 19.95% 19.57% +2%
DM Fiber 6.79% 9.47% -28%
DM Carb 26.58% 36.52% -27%

All of Purina Pro Plan dog food recipes meets AAFCO's minimum requirements.

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Purina Pro Plan Dog Food Review since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Purina Pro Plan - Wet dog food (03/09/2016) -+
Date:03/09/2016
Company Name:Nestle Purina PetCare Company
Product Description:Wet dog food
Recall Reason:Inadequate vitamins and minerals
Purina Pro Plan - Purina Pro Plan Complete Essentials Tuna Entree, Net Wt. 3 oz, UPC 38100-11197 (07/14/2021) -+
Date:07/14/2021
Company Name:Nestle Purina PetCare Company
Product Description:Purina Pro Plan Complete Essentials Tuna Entree, Net Wt. 3 oz, UPC 38100-11197
Recall Reason:Canned cat food may contain foreign black rubber material

Explore All Reviews of Purina Pro Plan Dog Food Recipes

FAQ

faq-item-image Who owns Purina Pro Plan dog food?

Purina Pro Plan is owned by Nestlé Purina PetCare Company.

faq-item-image Where is Purina Pro Plan dog food made?

Purina Pro Plan is manufactured in the United States us-flag.

faq-item-image Is Purina Pro Plan AAFCO approved?

Yes, all of Purina Pro Plan recipes are AAFCO approved.

faq-item-image Has Purina Pro Plan dog food been recalled?

Purina Pro Plan has been recalled 2 times in the years 2016, and 2021.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

3 thoughts on “Purina Pro Plan Dog Food Review

  • Heather Funera

    Seeing if any recall on pro plan weight management large breeds, and pro plan weight management for shredded chicken and rice

  • Sarah Klimkewicz

    Omgggg not sure of the exact formula but the dog food with the Frenchie on the front is terribly misleading! My Frenchie is in awful shape after eating it for only a few days. He had a blood test that claimed he wasn’t allergic to food but this food has him needing to go to the vets office!!!! Don’t let the Frenchie on the front of the bag fool you!!!!

  • danok9

    It’s garbage trying to find the pros it becomes a con. How many ways can you say corn gluten or maize. We spend money getting people to blog and using affiliates, and then marketing for this really poor dog food. It says veterinarian recommended, which means nothing how many good veterinarians with a background in veterinary nutrition actually recommended? What are their names? Where do they practice? Will they answer questions? Did they profit all oops that last one is a trick. Purina is such a big company. They have influence over so much including veterinary care. Merrick actually wrote the book that a lot of veterinarians used to learn nutrition, and if you paid attention, Merrick is one of the biggest dog food manufacturers that said Purina is pretty big too. I’m pretty sure they use the same call disingenuous, marketing. Anybody that says this is good dog food should compare it higher quality dog food in the same price category, oh my God my search engine just exploded. The pro plan will never let you go Pro. You won’t even be a highly ranked amateur.

Leave a Review