This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Nutro Dog Food Review

Company HQ

LocationFranklin, Tennessee us-flag

Parent company

Nutro Company, Inc

Sourcing and Manufacturing

LocationUnited States us-flag

Type of food

Dry Dog Food, Wet Dog Food, Dry Puppy Food, Wet Puppy Food, Dry Senior Dog Food, Slow-Cooked Dog Food

Ratings

58%
? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 47%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 68%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 42%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 65%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 82%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 45%
Pros
  • Affordable
  • Nutro makes a diverse range of foods for various ages, sizes, and lifestyles
  • All recipes are free of artificial colors, flavors, and preservatives
Cons
  • Some recipes contain plant-based protein
  • Lower than average protein content
  • The brand has been previously recalled

Brand Overview

Nutro has been producing pet food since 1926. The company offers a few different product lines including Nutro, Nutro Max and Nutro Ultra, with options for dogs, cats, puppies, and kittens. All Nutro pet foods focus on clean, real, non-GMO ingredieants that are easy to recognize. Grain-free options are available.

How Much Does Nutro Dog Food Cost

We’ve compared Nutro dog food price to the other 197 dog food brands in our database.

Nutro Dry Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per lb$3.47$3.69-6%
Price per 100 kcal$0.21$0.34-37%
Price per day$0.13$0.20-35%

Nutro Dry Dog Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Nutro Wet Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per oz$0.59$0.41+44%
Price per 100 kcal$1.84$1.52+21%
Price per day$1.10$0.91+21%

Nutro Wet Dog Food is priced above the average market price for dog food.

Nutro Dry Puppy Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per lb$2.93$3.85-24%
Price per 100 kcal$0.18$0.23-24%
Price per day$0.11$0.14-21%

Nutro Dry Puppy Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Nutro Wet Puppy Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per oz$0.52$0.31+68%
Price per 100 kcal$2.04$1.00+104%
Price per day$1.22$0.60+103%

Nutro Wet Puppy Food is priced above the average market price for dog food.

Nutro Dry Senior Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per lb$3.03$3.81-20%
Price per 100 kcal$0.19$0.32-41%
Price per day$0.11$0.19-42%

Nutro Dry Senior Dog Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Nutro Slow-Cooked Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per oz$0.26$0.260%
Price per 100 kcal$0.72$0.720%
Price per day$0.43$0.430%

Nutro Slow-Cooked Dog Food is priced within the average market price for dog food.

Nutro Nutrient Profile Comparison

We’ve compared Nutro dog food recipes nutrient profile to the other 197 dog food brands in our database.

Dry Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 24.85% 29.99% -17%
DM Fat 14.74% 15.86% -7%
DM Fiber 5.08% 5.48% -7%
DM Carb 55.33% 47.76% +16%

Wet Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 45.24% 42.98% +5%
DM Fat 22.69% 22.27% +2%
DM Fiber 6.51% 7.39% -12%
DM Carb 25.56% 26.27% -3%

Dry Puppy Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 29.72% 32.35% -8%
DM Fat 16.11% 17.94% -10%
DM Fiber 3.61% 4.66% -23%
DM Carb 50.56% 44.25% +14%

Wet Puppy Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 44.44% 42.84% +4%
DM Fat 20.83% 27.27% -24%
DM Fiber 6.95% 7.01% -1%
DM Carb 27.78% 22.55% +23%

Dry Senior Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 26.91% 28.44% -5%
DM Fat 13.21% 13.38% -1%
DM Fiber 4.44% 5.48% -19%
DM Carb 55.43% 51.94% +7%

Slow-Cooked Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 38.64% 38.64% 0%
DM Fat 29.55% 29.55% 0%
DM Fiber 4.55% 4.55% 0%
DM Carb 27.27% 27.27% 0%

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Nutro Dog Food Review since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Nutro - Dry Cat food (05/21/2009) -+
Date:05/21/2009
Company Name:Mars Petcare US
Product Description:Dry Cat food
Recall Reason:Incorrect levels of zinc and potassium
Nutro - Nutro dry dog food (10/01/2009) -+
Date:10/01/2009
Company Name:Mars Petcare US
Product Description:Nutro dry dog food
Recall Reason:Plastic found in production line
Nutro - Dog treats (12/13/2015) -+
Date:12/13/2015
Company Name:Mars Petcare US
Product Description:Dog treats
Recall Reason:Potential for mold

Explore All Reviews of Nutro Dog Food Recipes

Overall Score
72%
Nutro Hearty Stew Meaty Lamb Nutro Hearty Stew Meaty Lamb
Cost per day $0.45
Overall Score
72%
Nutro Hearty Stew Turkey Nutro Hearty Stew Turkey
Cost per day $0.48
Overall Score
69%
Nutro Hearty Stew Tender Chicken Nutro Hearty Stew Tender Chicken
Cost per day $0.63
Overall Score
65%
Nutro Grain-Free Roasted Turkey Nutro Grain-Free Roasted Turkey
Cost per day $0.93
Overall Score
65%
Nutro Grain-Free Beef Nutro Grain-Free Beef
Cost per day $1.14
Overall Score
64%
Nutro Puppy Tender Beef Nutro Puppy Tender Beef
Cost per day $1.00
Overall Score
63%
Nutro Grain-Free Tender Chicken Nutro Grain-Free Tender Chicken
Cost per day $1.21
Overall Score
62%
Nutro Premium Loaf Turkey Nutro Premium Loaf Turkey
Cost per day $0.39
Overall Score
62%
Nutro Premium Loaf Savory Lamb Nutro Premium Loaf Savory Lamb
Cost per day $0.50
Overall Score
62%
Nutro Ultra Adult Dry Dog Food Nutro Ultra Adult Dry Dog Food
Cost per day $0.13
Overall Score
62%
Nutro Ultra Senior Dry Dog Food Nutro Ultra Senior Dry Dog Food
Cost per day $0.13
Overall Score
62%
Nutro Ultra Puppy Dry Dog Food Nutro Ultra Puppy Dry Dog Food
Cost per day $0.12

FAQ

faq-item-image Who owns Nutro dog food?

Nutro is owned by Nutro Company, Inc.

faq-item-image Where is Nutro dog food made?

Nutro is manufactured in the United States us-flag.

faq-item-image Is Nutro AAFCO approved?

Yes, all of Nutro recipes are AAFCO approved.

faq-item-image Has Nutro dog food been recalled?

Nutro has been recalled 3 times in the years 2009, and 2015.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review