This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Horizon Dog Food Review

Company HQ

LocationSaskatchewan , Canada ca-flag

Parent company

Horizon Pet Nutrition

Sourcing and Manufacturing

LocationCanada ca-flag

Type of food

Dry Dog Food, Dry Puppy Food, Dry Senior Dog Food

Ratings

67%
? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 42%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 74%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 100%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 75%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 70%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 40%
Pros
  • High protein content
  • To our knowledge, Horizon has never had a product recall
  • Foods are nutritionally complete and balanced according to AAFCO standards
  • Affordable
  • Horizon makes a diverse range of foods for various ages, sizes, and lifestyles
  • All recipes are free of artificial colors, flavors, and preservatives
Cons
  • Some recipes contain plant-based protein

Brand Overview

Horizon is a family owned company that was established in 2006, with the goal of offering high-quality pet foods. The company offers several different lines including Pulsar, Taiga, Amicus, and Complete. There are a variety of flavors available for dogs and cats with grain free options and choices for pets of every age.

How Much Does Horizon Dog Food Cost

We’ve compared Horizon dog food price to the other 197 dog food brands in our database.

Horizon Dry Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per lb$3.45$3.69-7%
Price per 100 kcal$0.21$0.38-45%
Price per day$0.13$0.23-43%

Horizon Dry Dog Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Horizon Dry Puppy Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per lb$2.95$3.85-23%
Price per 100 kcal$0.17$0.23-25%
Price per day$0.10$0.14-29%

Horizon Dry Puppy Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Horizon Dry Senior Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per lb$2.40$3.81-37%
Price per 100 kcal$0.15$0.32-52%
Price per day$0.09$0.19-53%

Horizon Dry Senior Dog Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Horizon Nutrient Profile Comparison

We’ve compared Horizon dog food recipes nutrient profile to the other 197 dog food brands in our database.

Dry Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 30.49% 30.01% +2%
DM Fat 16.03% 15.84% +1%
DM Fiber 5.57% 5.49% +1%
DM Carb 39.44% 47.75% -17%

Dry Puppy Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 35.34% 32.35% +9%
DM Fat 17.67% 17.94% -2%
DM Fiber 3.93% 4.66% -16%
DM Carb 33.96% 44.25% -23%

Dry Senior Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 26.67% 28.44% -6%
DM Fat 11.11% 13.38% -17%
DM Fiber 4.44% 5.48% -19%
DM Carb 49.89% 51.94% -4%

All of Horizon dog food recipes meets AAFCO's minimum requirements.

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Horizon Dog Food Review since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Since 2011 Horizon has never been recalled.

Explore All Reviews of Horizon Dog Food Recipes

FAQ

faq-item-image Who owns Horizon dog food?

Horizon is owned by Horizon Pet Nutrition.

faq-item-image Where is Horizon dog food made?

Horizon is manufactured in Canada ca-flag.

faq-item-image Is Horizon AAFCO approved?

Yes, all of Horizon recipes are AAFCO approved.

faq-item-image Has Horizon dog food been recalled?

No Horizon has never been recalled.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

1 thought on “Horizon Dog Food Review

  • Lovette D Donaldson

    Where in the states can I buy this brand. I’m located in Arizona. My wonderful son And Edward, was blessed with a 25lb bag of Pulsar Grain Free, for our Ghya, she a 3 yr German Shepherd mix Pit Bull. she’s nolonger been licking her right pal lately, how ever she has a small itch, it my be a bug bite from the dog park.
    But I’m very pleased she’s not agitated on that right Paul any longer and she Loves fish.

Leave a Review