This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Health Extension Dog Food Review

Company HQ

LocationDeer Park, New York us-flag

Parent company

Health Extension Pet Care

Sourcing and Manufacturing

LocationThailand th-flag, United States us-flag

Type of food

Wet Dog Food, Dry Dog Food, Wet Puppy Food

Ratings

69%
? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 52%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 71%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 100%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 69%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 74%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 46%
Pros
  • High protein content
  • To our knowledge, Health Extension has never had a product recall
  • All recipes are free of artificial colors, flavors, and preservatives
Cons
  • Some recipes contain plant-based protein
  • Price is above market average

Brand Overview

Health Extension is a family-owned company that has been providing pet products since 1963. The brand offers an extensive line of wet and dry foods for cats and dogs of every age and size. The Health Extension line includes a number of grain-free options for dogs and cats alike, along with treats, supplements, and grooming products.

How Much Does Health Extension Dog Food Cost

We’ve compared Health Extension dog food price to the other 197 dog food brands in our database.

Health Extension Wet Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per oz$0.28$0.41-32%
Price per 100 kcal$0.88$1.55-43%
Price per day$0.53$0.93-43%

Health Extension Wet Dog Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Health Extension Dry Dog Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per lb$4.82$3.69+31%
Price per 100 kcal$0.33$0.38-14%
Price per day$0.20$0.23-13%

Health Extension Dry Dog Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Health Extension Wet Puppy Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per oz$0.22$0.31-29%
Price per 100 kcal$0.65$1.00-35%
Price per day$0.39$0.60-35%

Health Extension Wet Puppy Food is priced below the average market price for dog food.

Health Extension Nutrient Profile Comparison

We’ve compared Health Extension dog food recipes nutrient profile to the other 197 dog food brands in our database.

Wet Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 42.36% 42.89% -1%
DM Fat 30.19% 22.28% +36%
DM Fiber 6.63% 7.40% -10%
DM Carb 20.82% 26.34% -21%

Dry Dog Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 27.56% 30.01% -8%
DM Fat 15.71% 15.84% -1%
DM Fiber 5.04% 5.49% -8%
DM Carb 51.70% 47.75% +8%

Wet Puppy Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 50.00% 42.84% +17%
DM Fat 40.91% 27.27% +50%
DM Fiber 4.55% 7.01% -35%
DM Carb 4.55% 22.55% -80%

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Health Extension Dog Food Review since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Since 2011 Health Extension has never been recalled.

Explore All Reviews of Health Extension Dog Food Recipes

FAQ

faq-item-image Who owns Health Extension dog food?

Health Extension is owned by Health Extension Pet Care.

faq-item-image Where is Health Extension dog food made?

Health Extension is manufactured in the Thailand th-flag, United States us-flag.

faq-item-image Is Health Extension AAFCO approved?

Yes, all of Health Extension recipes are AAFCO approved.

faq-item-image Has Health Extension dog food been recalled?

No Health Extension has never been recalled.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

2 thoughts on “Health Extension Dog Food Review

  • Renee P Glenn

    I am seriously questioning the review on this product. Review says “product not recommended because of high carb contents.” But it has NO carbs. it’s salmon and water. So unless 25% of the recipe is guar gum, I can’t fathom where Pet Sherpa is determining that the “product analysis” came up with 20% carbs. What’s up Pet Sherpa?

    • Doron Wolffberg

      Hi Renee,

      The carb content estimate is based on the dry basis calculation of the nutritional values listed on the product label. The reason why this product has an estimated carb content of 25% is due to the % of fat content listed since Salmon is a pretty fatty protein source.

      Hope this helps and let us know if you have any additional questions

Leave a Review