This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Diamond Naturals Chicken & Rice Formula All Life Stages Dry Dog Food

Diamond Naturals Chicken & Rice Formula All Life Stages Dry Dog Food
Company info
Company HQ
Meta, Missouri
Parent company
Schell & Kampeter, Inc.
Product info
Age Range: Adult
Food Form Dry Dog Food
Cost per day: $0.04
Primary proteins
  • Chicken
  • Chicken Meal
  • Egg Product

Ingredients

Chicken, Chicken Meal, Whole Grain Brown Rice, Cracked Pearled Barley, Chicken Fat (Preserved With Mixed Tocopherols), Grain Sorghum, Dried Yeast, Dried Beet Pulp, Egg Product, Natural Flavor, Flaxseed, Salmon Oil (Source Of Dha), Potassium Chloride, Salt, Dl-Methionine, Choline Chloride, Dried Chicory Root, Kale, Chia Seed, Pumpkin, Blueberries, Oranges, Quinoa, Dried Kelp, Coconut, Spinach, Carrots, Papaya, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Dried Lactobacillus Plantarum Fermentation Product, Dried Bacillus Subtilis Fermentation Product, Dried Lactobacillus Acidophilus Fermentation Product, Dried Enterococcus Faecium Fermentation Product, Dried Bifidobacterium Animalis Fermentation Product, Vitamin E Supplement, Beta Carotene, Iron Proteinate, Zinc Proteinate, Copper Proteinate, Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Sulfate, Copper Sulfate, Potassium Iodide, Thiamine Mononitrate, Manganese Proteinate, Manganous Oxide, Ascorbic Acid, Vitamin A Supplement, Biotin, Niacin, Calcium Pantothenate, Manganese Sulfate, Sodium Selenite, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin, Vitamin D Supplement, Folic Acid. Contains A Source Of Live (Viable), Naturally Occurring Microorganisms.

Breed sizes

size-1 Toy
size-2 Small
size-3 Medium
size-4 Large
size-5 Giant

Overall Score

Loading
62%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 38%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 73%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 25%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 90%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 85%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 40%
? Based on the variety of sizes available. Size Variety 100%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 26%

Fat: 16%

Fiber: 2.5%

Moisture: 10%

Ash: 0%

Carb: 45.5%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 28.89%

Fat: 17.78%

Fiber: 2.78%

Ash: 8%

Carb: 50.56%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 23.56%

Fat: 35.21%

Carb: 41.23%

Our Review

Pros
  • Supplemented with chelated minerals for optimal nutrient absorption
  • Made with fiber-rich flaxseed
  • Contains dried kelp as a natural source of essential nutrients
  • Doesn’t contain fillers, by-products, or artificial additives
  • Rich in species-appropriate animal protein
  • Affordable
  • A good source of omega-3 fatty acids
Cons
  • Low protein content
  • High in carbohydrates
  • Low in moisture
  • Contains a small amount of plant-based proteins
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years
  • Some dogs may be allergic to fish

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Diamond since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Diamond - Dry dog foods (04/06/2012) -+
Date: 04/06/2012
Company Name: Diamond Pet Foods
Product Description: Dry dog foods
Recall Reason: Potential for salmonella
Diamond - Pet Food (05/05/2012) -+
Date: 05/05/2012
Company Name: Diamond Pet Foods
Product Description: Pet Food
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Diamond - Diamond Naturals Small Breed Adult Dog Lamb & Rice Formula dry dog food. (05/21/2012) -+
Date: 05/21/2012
Company Name: Diamond Pet Foods
Product Description: Diamond Naturals Small Breed Adult Dog Lamb & Rice Formula dry dog food.
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Diamond - Dry Cat Food (03/10/2013) -+
Date: 03/10/2013
Company Name: Diamond Pet Foods
Product Description: Dry Cat Food
Recall Reason: Low level of thiamine (Vitamin B1)

Ingredient Review

Our review of Diamond Naturals Chicken & Rice Formula All Life Stages Dry Dog Food begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Chicken. Chicken is meat from the domesticated bird of the same name. In pet food, chicken is used as a primary protein source.

The second ingredient is Chicken Meal. In pet food, chicken meal is often listed as a source of protein. Chicken meal is produced by baking and grinding chicken meat and skin. As a dry form of animal protein, it is most often found in kibble and treats.

The third ingredient is Whole Grain Brown Rice. Whole grain brown rice is rice that ha simply had its protective hull removed, but that has not been polished to remove the fibrous outer layer. The whole grain brown rice in pet food can be a source of carbohydrates and fiber. Brown rice also contains omega-6 fatty acids, vitamins, and minerals.

The fourth ingredient is Cracked Pearled Barley. Cracked pearled barley is the cereal grain barley, with its outer hull removed and the inner portion cracked open. In pet food, cracked pearled barley serves as a source of carbohydrates. It is lower in nutrients than whole barley or barley groats.

The fifth ingredient is Chicken Fat. Chicken fat is a good source of omega-6 fatty acids including linoleic acid. In pet food, chicken fat also adds flavor, improves consistency, and serves as a source of the animal fat pets need for overall wellbeing.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Diamond Naturals Chicken & Rice Formula All Life Stages Dry Dog Food, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per lb

Product Price

$1.07

Market Price avg.

$3.25

% From the Avg

-67%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$0.06

Market Price avg.

$0.21

% From the Avg

-69%

Price per day

Product Price

$0.04

Market Price avg.

$0.12

% From the Avg

-68%

Diamond Naturals Chicken & Rice Formula All Life Stages Dry Dog Food is priced well below the average market price for dry dog food.

Nutritional Analysis

Your adult dog needs a balance of macro and micronutrients to thrive. A food formulated for adult maintenance or all life stages is made to meet these needs. While there can be a lot of variation in actual calorie density, adult dog foods are generally intended to provide for basic calorie needs of the average active dog. In addition to satisfying their energy needs, these foods provide the protein, fat, carbohydrates, fiber, and other nutrients your adult dog needs to survive. Again, not all adult foods are the same, so you may have to search around for the right fit for your dog.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Diamond Naturals Chicken & Rice Formula All Life Stages Dry Dog Food to the other 1525 dry dog food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

28.89%

All Products avg.

30.04%

% From the Avg

-4%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

17.78%

All Products avg.

16.01%

% From the Avg

+11%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

2.78%

All Products avg.

5.36%

% From the Avg

-48%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

50.56%

All Products avg.

47.71%

% From the Avg

+6%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s moderate in protein with high fat and moderate carbohydrate content relative to other dry dog foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review