This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Blue Buffalo Freedom Adult Chicken Recipe Grain-Free Dry Dog Food

Blue Buffalo Freedom Adult Chicken Recipe Grain-Free Dry Dog Food
Company info
Company HQ
Wilton, Connecticut
Parent company
Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product info
Age Range: Adult
Food Form Dry Dog Food
Cost per day: $0.14
Primary proteins
  • Deboned Chicken
  • Chicken Meal
  • Pea Protein
  • Turkey Meal

Ingredients

Deboned Chicken, Chicken Meal, Potatoes, Peas, Tapioca Starch, Pea Starch, Chicken Fat (Preserved With Mixed Tocopherols), Dried Tomato Pomace, Pea Protein, Flaxseed (Source Of Omega 3 And 6 Fatty Acids), Turkey Meal, Natural Flavor, Dicalcium Phosphate, Salt, Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, Dried Chicory Root, DL-Methionine, Pea Fiber, Alfalfa Nutrient Concentrate, Calcium Carbonate, Preserved With Mixed Tocopherols, Sweet Potatoes, Carrots, Garlic, Zinc Amino Acid Chelate, Zinc Sulfate, Vegetable Juice For Color, Ferrous Sulfate, Vitamin E Supplement, Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Glucosamine Hydrochloride, Blueberries, Cranberries, Barley Grass, Parsley, Turmeric, Dried Kelp, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Niacin (Vitamin B3), Calcium Pantothenate (Vitamin B5), L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source Of Vitamin C), L-Lysine, Copper Sulfate, Biotin (Vitamin B7), L-Carnitine, Vitamin A Supplement, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Manganese Sulfate, Taurine, Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Vitamin D3 Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Calcium Iodate, Dried Yeast, Dried Enterococcus Faecium Fermentation Product, Dried Lactobacillus Acidophilus Fermentation Product, Dried Aspergillus Niger Fermentation Extract, Dried Trichoderma Longibrachiatum Fermentation Extract, Dried Bacillus Subtilis Fermentation Extract, Folic Acid (Vitamin B9), Sodium Selenite, Oil Of Rosemary.

Breed sizes

size-1 Toy
size-2 Small
size-3 Medium
size-4 Large
size-5 Giant

Overall Score

Loading
59%

Ratings

? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 33%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 66%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 36%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 47%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 92%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 40%
? Based on the variety of sizes available. Size Variety 100%

Estimated Nutrient Content

To understand the nutrient content of pet food, we visualize its macronutrient composition in three ways. In the charts below, you’ll see a guaranteed analysis on an as-fed basis, a dry matter analysis, and a breakdown of the food’s macronutrients on a calorie-weighted basis.

Remember that all of these values are estimates based on the guaranteed analysis published by the company, and the food’s actual nutrient values may be slightly different.

Guaranteed Analysis

Loading

Protein: 24%

Fat: 14%

Fiber: 6%

Moisture: 10%

Ash: 0%

Carb: 46%

Dry Matter Analysis

Loading

Protein: 26.67%

Fat: 15.56%

Fiber: 6.67%

Ash: 8%

Carb: 51.11%

Calorie Weighted Basis

Loading

Protein: 23.08%

Fat: 32.69%

Carb: 44.23%

Our Review

Pros
  • Supplemented with chelated minerals for optimal nutrient absorption
  • Contains dried kelp as a natural source of essential nutrients
  • Doesn’t contain fillers, by-products, or artificial additives
  • A good source of omega-3 fatty acids
  • Most customers have good experiences with this food
Cons
  • Low protein content
  • High in carbohydrates
  • Low in moisture
  • Contains plant-based proteins
  • Contains artificial food dyes
  • The brand has had multiple recalls over recent years

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all dog food recalls related to Blue Buffalo since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Blue Buffalo - Dog food (10/08/2010) -+
Date: 10/08/2010
Company Name: Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product Description: Dog food
Recall Reason: Excess Vitamin D
Blue Buffalo - Cat Treats (11/07/2015) -+
Date: 11/07/2015
Company Name: Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product Description: Cat Treats
Recall Reason: May contain propylene glycol
Blue Buffalo - Cub Size - Wild Chews (11/25/2015) -+
Date: 11/25/2015
Company Name: Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product Description: Cub Size - Wild Chews
Recall Reason: Salmonella
Blue Buffalo - Dog Food (05/31/2016) -+
Date: 05/31/2016
Company Name: Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product Description: Dog Food
Recall Reason: Possible mold
Blue Buffalo - Dog Food (02/13/2017) -+
Date: 02/13/2017
Company Name: Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product Description: Dog Food
Recall Reason: Potential for metal contamination
Blue Buffalo - Dog Food (02/28/2017) -+
Date: 02/28/2017
Company Name: Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product Description: Dog Food
Recall Reason: Packaging quality
Blue Buffalo - Dog food (03/17/2017) -+
Date: 03/17/2017
Company Name: Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product Description: Dog food
Recall Reason: Contains beef thyroid hormone
Blue Buffalo - Dog food (02/08/2018) -+
Date: 02/08/2018
Company Name: Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd.
Product Description: Dog food
Recall Reason: elevated levels of naturally- occurring beef thyroid hormones

Ingredient Review

Our review of Blue Buffalo Freedom Adult Chicken Recipe Grain-Free Dry Dog Food begins with a detailed look at the food’s ingredients.

The first ingredient is Deboned Chicken. Deboned chicken is chicken meat with the bones removed. In pet food, deboned chicken is a valuable source of protein.

The second ingredient is Chicken Meal. In pet food, chicken meal is often listed as a source of protein. Chicken meal is produced by baking and grinding chicken meat and skin. As a dry form of animal protein, it is most often found in kibble and treats.

The third ingredient is Potatoes. Potatoes are versatile starchy root vegetables that provide carbohydrates, vitamins, minerals, and some fiber. In pet food, potatoes can add texture and flavor while replacing other starches. Many grain-free and gluten-free pet foods contain potatoes.

The fourth ingredient is Peas. Pea is a general term to describe whole, split, or milled peas, which are a grain-free, gluten-free source of protein, fiber, and carbohydrates. In pet food, pea products serve as an energy source as well as a supplementary source of vitamins and minerals.

The fifth ingredient is Tapioca Starch. Tapioca starch comes from the cassava root. It is often used as a filler or binder, as well as a source of easily digested carbohydrates. Tapioca starch is typically added to grain-free and gluten-free pet foods.

When we analyzed the ingredients in Blue Buffalo Freedom Adult Chicken Recipe Grain-Free Dry Dog Food, we found that most of the protein is derived from meat based sources.

Price Analysis

Price per lb

Product Price

$3.52

Market Price avg.

$3.61

% From the Avg

-2%

Price per 100 kcal

Product Price

$0.24

Market Price avg.

$0.23

% From the Avg

+4%

Price per day

Product Price

$0.14

Market Price avg.

$0.14

% From the Avg

+1%

Blue Buffalo Freedom Adult Chicken Recipe Grain-Free Dry Dog Food is priced within the average market price for dry dog food.

Nutritional Analysis

Your adult dog needs a balance of macro and micronutrients to thrive. A food formulated for adult maintenance or all life stages is made to meet these needs. While there can be a lot of variation in actual calorie density, adult dog foods are generally intended to provide for basic calorie needs of the average active dog. In addition to satisfying their energy needs, these foods provide the protein, fat, carbohydrates, fiber, and other nutrients your adult dog needs to survive. Again, not all adult foods are the same, so you may have to search around for the right fit for your dog.

With that in mind, we’ve compared Blue Buffalo Freedom Adult Chicken Recipe Grain-Free Dry Dog Food to the other 1525 dry dog food recipes in our database:

DM Protein

DM Protein

Product info

26.67%

All Products avg.

30.04%

% From the Avg

-11%

DM Fat

DM Fat

Product info

15.56%

All Products avg.

16.01%

% From the Avg

-3%

DM Fiber

DM Fiber

Product info

6.67%

All Products avg.

5.36%

% From the Avg

+24%

DM Carb

DM Carb

Product info

51.11%

All Products avg.

47.71%

% From the Avg

+7%

Analysis Overview

Overall, this is a meat based food that’s low in protein with moderate fat and moderate carbohydrate content relative to other dry dog foods.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

Leave a Review