This page contains affiliate links. We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post through our independently chosen links, which earn us a commission. Learn more about how we are supported here.

Rachael Ray Nutrish Cat Food Review

Company HQ

LocationMeadville, Pennsylvania us-flag

Parent company

Ainsworth Pet Nutrition LLC

Sourcing and Manufacturing

LocationUnited States us-flag

Type of food

Wet Cat Food, Dry Cat Food

Ratings

62%
? This rating is determined by comparing the food’s nutritional content to AAFCO standards and other foods in our database. Nutrient Value 67%
? Each recipe is evaluated based on a 5-point ingredient rating system that measures ingredients’ nutritional value, safety, and more. Quality of Ingredients 61%
? We scan the FDA’s database and rate each brand by the number of recalls in its history. Brands with fewer recalls receive higher ratings. Recall History 57%
? By comparing the prices of foods in our database, we determine if a food is above or below market average price. Lower-priced foods receive higher ratings. Price 73%
? This metric is based on customer ratings from various retailers. Customer Experience 68%
? Our rating system evaluates each food’s manufacturing method, assigning higher ratings to manufacturing processes that promote higher nutritional value. Manufacturing Method 47%
Pros
  • Affordable
  • All recipes are free of artificial colors, flavors, and preservatives
Cons
  • Some recipes contain plant-based protein
  • Lower than average protein content
  • The brand has been previously recalled

Brand Overview

Rachael Ray Nutrish is a line of super premium pet food. There are dozens of different flavors to choose from, including wet and dry formulas for cats and dogs. Many Rachael Ray Nutrish pet foods are tailored to meet specific needs.

How Much Does Rachael Ray Nutrish Cat Food Cost

We’ve compared Rachael Ray Nutrish cat food price to the other 197 cat food brands in our database.

Rachael Ray Nutrish Wet Cat Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per oz$0.49$0.57-14%
Price per 100 kcal$2.26$2.37-5%
Price per day$1.36$1.42-4%

Rachael Ray Nutrish Wet Cat Food is priced below the average market price for cat food.

Rachael Ray Nutrish Dry Cat Food Price Comparison

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
Price per lb$2.45$4.82-49%
Price per 100 kcal$0.15$0.39-61%
Price per day$0.09$0.23-61%

Rachael Ray Nutrish Dry Cat Food is priced below the average market price for cat food.

Rachael Ray Nutrish Nutrient Profile Comparison

We’ve compared Rachael Ray Nutrish cat food recipes nutrient profile to the other 197 cat food brands in our database.

Wet Cat Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 51.50% 53.16% -3%
DM Fat 19.08% 17.63% +8%
DM Fiber 15.27% 6.56% +133%
DM Carb 14.16% 14.04% +1%

Dry Cat Food

Brand AvgMarket Avg% From the Avg
DM Protein 38.83% 38.65% +0%
DM Fat 14.90% 16.65% -11%
DM Fiber 5.25% 5.22% +1%
DM Carb 41.03% 38.17% +7%

Recall History

The following list (if present) shows all cat food recalls related to Rachael Ray Nutrish Cat Food Review since 2011. If no recalls are listed, no recall events have been reported.

Rachael Ray Nutrish - Wet food for cats (06/04/2015) -+
Date:06/04/2015
Company Name:Ainsworth Pet Nutrition
Product Description:Wet food for cats
Recall Reason:Potentially elevated levels of Vitamin D

Lawsuit History

August 2018 - In August 2018, a consumer filed a $5 million lawsuit against Ainsworth Pet Nutrition, Rachael Ray’s Nutrish dog food brand, alleging that “natural” claims were false and misleading under state consumer protection laws, based on testing that found residues of the herbicide, glyphosate.

A New York District Judge in the Nutrish case dismissed the claims for failure to indicate the level of glyphosate detected and to say whether it was harmful.

The judge dismissed the complaint a second time upon finding the total glyphosate alleged to be present in the Nutrish samples is between 0.005% to 0.01% of the Food and Drug Administration’s (FDA) allowed tolerance, and ruled that labeling such pet food as “natural” is not materially misleading to a reasonable consumer.

April 2020 - A class action lawsuit alleges Rachael Ray Nutrish-brand Zero Grain dog food is harmful to dogs in that the product is deficient of taurine and contains legume-based protein, a combination linked to a potentially fatal heart condition when used in grain-free foods.

The plaintiff, a Los Angeles resident, claims consumers would not have bought the premium-priced dog food, sometimes paying up to double what competitors charge for similar products, absent the defendants’ “deceptive and misleading” representations. The lawsuit alleges Nutrish Zero Grain dog food lacks taurine, an amino acid the defendants know is necessary to maintain dogs’ health.

The plaintiff alleges Rachael Ray Nutrish and the J.M. Smucker Company have “deceived the public” into buying the following Zero Grain dog foods.

Explore All Reviews of Rachael Ray Nutrish Cat Food Recipes

FAQ

faq-item-image Who owns Rachael Ray Nutrish cat food?

Rachael Ray Nutrish is owned by Ainsworth Pet Nutrition LLC.

faq-item-image Where is Rachael Ray Nutrish cat food made?

Rachael Ray Nutrish is manufactured in the United States us-flag.

faq-item-image Is Rachael Ray Nutrish AAFCO approved?

Not all of Rachael Ray Nutrish recipes are AAFCO approved, the following recipes are not AAFCO approved.

faq-item-image Has Rachael Ray Nutrish cat food been recalled?

Rachael Ray Nutrish has been recalled 1 times in the years 2015.

Disclaimer and Disclosure

At Pet Food Sherpa, our primary goal is to provide pet owners like you with accurate, relevant, and unbiased information about pet nutrition. As such, we do not accept gifts or incentives as motivation to include certain products in our reviews.

We do, however, participate in affiliate marketing programs and we partner with select brands to fund our site. We choose the products we review carefully and review them thoroughly before publishing a review or accepting any form of payment.

Proceeds from this program and our partners enable us to continue providing high-quality content to our readers. Read more about how we’re funded here.

5 thoughts on “Rachael Ray Nutrish Cat Food Review

  • Rebecca Brown

    Love this cat food. The only problem I have is that they are hard to open. I have to use scissors to open.Will continue to use it ,but would sure appreciate if if food was easier to open. Thanks

  • Barbara Corneles

    After trying more wet cat then I can count we tried Nutrish. My very picky senior cat loves every flavor of Nutrish. It’s a little more money than we would like to spend but it’s such a relief to see my baby lick her bowl. So happy with this food. Thank you Rachel for making my cat happy and healthy!

  • Michelle Marie

    I have two cats that are picky. I have tried many different foods that they refuse to eat. They love the Rachael Ray Savory Bites Chicken and Veggie. So if you have cats that go on hunger strikes like mine, give this food a try, my two love it. One thing I have noticed is that my cats do not like ANY foods made with fish, just something to keep in mind if your cats are picky eaters. We give this food 5 stars.

  • Diana Buckhalt

    My Ms.Kitty is also very picky and will not eat wet or soft foods, she has eaten Rachel Ray dry food since she weaned from her bottle she’s a very healthy girl and has good strong teeth, very shiny coat, also she’s always been a very healthy cat. She Loves her Rachel Ray ❤ she is my baby

  • Paul Welling

    Our 10 year old female indoor cat seems to love the taste of the savory bites yummy chicken and veggies recipe, but it does seem quite a bit hard to shew. Do you have a product of the same taste and content that is softer (but not a canned product), just easier for her to chew?
    Paul Welling

Leave a Review